We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service & Great Food”

Chi Oriental Restaurant
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chi Oriental Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 68 Exeter B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This restaurant is really good, food is outstanding and the staff are friendly and very accomadating. The seating area is clean and open, so the atmosphere is buzzing. My husband and I have been back many time, the takeaway is also very reasonable and yummy!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2012

Large , clean room with cozy atmosphere, tea-making facilities and TV provided. Located upstairs from a stylish Chinese restaurant with beautiful garden. Access to rooms is provided through restaurant entrance, might be busy in the evening. Rooms are quiet, though. Would definitely recommend for a stay in Exeter's surroundings.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Wolfgang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Stayed for one night as we went to a wedding at Powderham Castle just up the road. Our room was a complete bargain; we went for the "small en suite" - it was more than adequate for our needs.

I was really impressed with the freebies we got with the room (toothbrushes, toothpaste, chocolate on pillow etc). The would put many chain hotels to shame.

We loved it and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Quincybella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

This B&B is fab!
We stayed for 5 nights and we cannot fault it.

The hotel staff are friendly and helpful.
The hotel rooms are well kept, cleaned daily, with a tray of tea, coffee and biscuits and also a shelf with books to swap/read.


Me and my husband sampled everything from the breakfast menu and it was all beautifully cooked and presented and locally sourced.

We ate at the restaurant one evening, the food and service there was great and got a discount from our bill for staying in the B&B which was a bonus.

Cannot fault this place, we will definatley stay again and highly recommend to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Philanddave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Absolutely amazing food from starters to dessert! Even the prawn crackers were far better than the norm and the presentation is beautiful!
Only let down was the taxi home. £24 out with Teignbridge taxis but £32 back at eleven o'clock with Dawlish taxis! I won't be using them again and I suggest you don't either! But please do go to Chi it is fantastic!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Toeknee47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Excellent quality eat in and now takeaway too! We use it on a weekly basis, or the owners other takeaway - The Mei Lai in Dawlish.

Restaurant is spotlessly clean and very tastefully done out with fast and friendly service.

There is a large car park to the rear making easy access for groups - but please go quietly if you do use it - we live right on the edge of it!!!

We have also stayed there once when we were viewing the house - clean, tidy and good size rooms with free wifi.

Would 100% recommend Chi without a doubt! The Beef with Spicy Sauce is a particular favourite! ;-)

Jerry and Lizz Baxter

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back to avoid traffic noise in peak holiday months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Babbamonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Stayed just one night bed and breakfast and I must say I was most impressed with the standard of our room and the service, the staff were friendly and very polite. The little touches like the bedside slippers toothbrush and paste and little extras made our stay excellent value for money and the food presentation at breakfast was first class. I would highly recommend this accommodation to other travellers.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarrnstapleBath_boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exeter
3.1 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
545 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
5.3 mi away
Hotel Buckerell Lodge
Hotel Buckerell Lodge
#24 of 31 in Exeter
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
The Silverton Inn
The Silverton Inn
#1 of 2 in Silverton
135 reviews
4.2 mi away
Lyme Bay House
Lyme Bay House
#5 of 12 in Dawlish
261 reviews
8.8 mi away
Culm Vale Country House
Culm Vale Country House
#1 of 1 in Stoke Canon
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chi Oriental Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chi Oriental Restaurant

Address: Fore Street | Kenton, Exeter, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range: £59 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chi Oriental Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chi. Formerly the Devon Arms public house, Devon Arms underwent a major refurbishment in 2006, re-opening in July 2007 as Chi. You will find us tucked away in the picturesque village of Kenton. Situated on the edge of the Powderham Estate, we are just minutes walk away from Powderham Castle, the historic home of the Earl of Devon, built over 600 years ago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Chi Oriental Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chi Oriental Restaurant Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing