We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Hotel does not deserve the negative feed back on here !”
Review of Cedar Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cedar Lodge Hotel
Ranked #58 of 68 Exeter B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 November 2010

I recieved a warm welcome at reception on arrival. My room was on the second floor (dormer room) and the young lady at the desk kindly helped me up withy my bags.
In direct opposition to what I have read here the tv had a 100 channel tuner box with a superb picture and nowhere in the hotel did I see any "sticky" carpets.
The room itself was perfectly clean and the en suite bathroom was pristine with a very roomy shower (I am 6'2" and 17st.)
I had a really restfull sleep both nights in a comfortable bed with absolutely no noise.
Maybe this is there one good room that I don't know but anyone booking a single room should as for room 20.
As is generally reported the breakfast was very good and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeAldershot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2010

Hotel is located down by the river a fair walk from the train station.

TV on its way out - the tube makes the TV green appeared that everyone was wearing a green poppy!. Other negative is a very small ensuite bathrooom - very cramped in the shower.

Positives friendly Polish staff, late check-in, and nice cooked breakfast.

Paid £130 twin room 2 nights B& B

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoneyMonsterontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Only stayed one night, we were in Exeter for a family party. We had a double room with en-suite. The room was a bit dated but clean and warm, nice thick towels and the bedding smelt clean and fresh. The bed was firm but comfortable.

The room was ok for the money, basic no frills accommodation, ideal if like us you just want somewhere to sleep for the night. Breakfast was ok, cereal, fruit juice, tea/coffee, toast, egg, sausage,bacon,tomato beans, hash brown.

Staff were friendly enough and was within walking distance to the city centre.

As mentioned by others the hotel did appear to have a lot of 'guests' living there.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DNP2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

This is a Guest House really, so the term hotel is misleading or at least was to us. It's somehwere to sleep and not all guests are tourists or travellers, some seem to reside (DHS?) and people there for a short while to work locally. It is not worth £65.00 per night and if it was a lower charge and decribed as a guest house, it would get better reviews.

Mainly because It was clean and someone cares about this a lot and it is probably the very good staff they have. All in uniform and attentive but not intrusive. The breakfast's were excellent, good quality bacon and cooked well, presented nicely.

But CCTV in all areas, toilet roll in room in metal container like in a public toilet and klow quality tissue, musty old hotel smell, decor outdated and too dark and final touches just not good enough all indicate this is a doss house really. The area is outside of the main town and within easy walking distance to it, but the area isn't very safe looking.

The Fish and Chip place on corner is absolutely the best tasted in a long while.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarTravel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2010

Simply an old run down out of date business. This place is a complete internet facade. Looks good on the internet only.... in reality, this is an old run down, worn out hotel

The rooms are clean and the staff is nice enough. However, the whole facility needs an upgrade.

I saw this a place on their Web site and once I got here realized they scammed me. The actual hotel is two old apartment buildings aside each other on a residential street away from the city center.

The beds are complete garbage. The old style uncomfortable inexpensive spring mattresses. You feel every spring on the thin mattress pushing into you while you sleep.

Has excellent wireless internet service, Found this location via http://booking.com rated as a two star hotel.

Two star internet connectivity at a one star hotel

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GTK_Belmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2010

1. Location: Not the best area in the City, lone women, or those who are a bit weery wouldnt want to be out alone at night.
2. Paper thin walls: You can here EVERYTHING going on in the other rooms, from Snoring, Bathroom visits, talking, and you can hear the Dump truck in the morning!
3. Dirty/Basic inside the hotel... the room and bathroom was pretty clean, apart from slight mould around the window and bath.
4. 'Certain clientèle'.... First off the hotel would appear to be a place a certain person comes with a client for an evening. The people staying there don't look like the kinda people you'd want to mess with.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldoyster31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2009

We stayed at the Oke Lodge for a week and were more than satisfied. Due to some of the entries here, we had expected the worst. Now we find all these negative comments not just unfair but illogical as well. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms clean, the breakfast and the overall atmosphere okay. No reason at all to complain. If you expect luxury, make reservations at a Hilton. However, the price will be slightly different, I suppose.
Thanks again to the staff.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSchusters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
1 mi away
Raffles Hotel
Raffles Hotel
#5 of 68 in Exeter
191 reviews
3.6 mi away
Culm Vale Country House
Culm Vale Country House
#1 of 1 in Stoke Canon
59 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Silverton Inn
The Silverton Inn
#1 of 2 in Silverton
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
4.2 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
545 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Lodge Hotel

Address: 41-47 Okehampton Road, Exeter EX4 1EH, England (Formerly Oke Lodge Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range: £61 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Cedar Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Lodge Hotel Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing