We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just canoe hire - an excellent bike shop too”

Saddles & Paddles Exeter Ltd
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bike, canoe & kayak hire centre, plus bike sales & repairs, on Exeter quay. Pedal from the city to the seaside or paddle to the pub! Easy, relaxing, outdoor fun for all ages. We're on Exeter's historic quayside - popular for it's fascinating history, interesting architecture and independent shops - an easy 10 min walk from the city centre. Open 9am to 6pm everyday (bike hire 9.30am to 5.30pm, boat hire 10am -5pm)
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Baby buggy parking, Activities for older children
Reviewed 15 August 2014

While Saddles & Paddles is rightly known as a hire shop enabling much messing about on (or alongside) the beautiful river Exe, what's not so widely known is that it's also secretly the coolest bike shop in Exeter.

Not only do they stock some excellent, alternative British bike brands that you wont find anywhere else in the city - including Genesis and Charge - they also offer full servicing and outstanding after-care. I bought a new Genesis bike from them in May this year (via the Cycle To Work Scheme) and have been constantly delighted with the service I've received from owner Heather, mechanic Lee, and the rest of the team any time I've popped in for a service or to ask a stupid question (I have lots of stupid questions).

If you're in Exeter and thinking about buying a new bike you should definitely pay them a visit.

Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather B, Owner at Saddles & Paddles Exeter Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for such an amazing review, your feedback is really appreciated and really helps to spread the word about the bikes we sell. People often assume we are only a hire centre, but we are very proud of the range of bikes we stock and the quality of our repair work.

The stylish and eclectic range of bikes from Genesis and Charge gives us an edge over other bike shops, as well as the high quality but affordable Ridgeback range, which is really popular with commuters and leisure cyclists. And with the 2015 bikes about to come into the shop, our range is about to get even more exciting!

Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"hired bikes"
in 8 reviews
"great fun"
in 11 reviews
"bike shop"
in 3 reviews
"these guys"
in 5 reviews
"bike lock"
in 2 reviews
"good quality equipment"
in 2 reviews
"without any fuss"
in 2 reviews
"very friendly and helpful staff"
in 3 reviews
"cycle ride"
in 2 reviews
"great value for money"
in 3 reviews
"two hours"
in 2 reviews
"the pub"
in 3 reviews
"adults and children"
in 2 reviews
"tandem"
in 9 reviews
"helmets"
in 14 reviews
"canoe"
in 22 reviews
"cycling"
in 13 reviews
Filter

96 - 100 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

While on holiday to Bovisand, Plymouth we decided that we wanted to do something different so we decided we would try Canoeing. We felt that we weren't ready yet to canoe along a river so the Canal at Exeter was a perfect choice, it is about a 40 min drive from Plymouth but it was well worth it.

We called ahead to book a Canadian Canoe which comfortably took myself, husband and our two children aged 12 and 7. We rented the canoe for 3 hours which was plenty of time to paddle to the Two Locks pub have a leisurely lunch and then return. We thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon and would recommend it to anyone.

The staff at the shop were very friendly and helpful and got I the impression that nothing would be too much trouble for them.

Thanks Saddles and Paddles for a great afternoon, hope to see you next year.

Thank TSSD100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather B, Owner at Saddles & Paddles Exeter Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for the great review, our customer service is really important to us so we were thrilled to read your feedback.

Glad you had a great time and really pleased to hear that you're planning to come back next year!

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I phoned to book a canoe and 2 kayaks but then had to cancel because of the weather but then booked again and we arrived at the shop where we were met with very friendly staff and helped onto the boats. We booked for two hours and three children an adult and an OAP made it to the Double Lock Pub for an icecream and drink. We then started back and unfortunately made a wrong turn......! We started to panic because we were running out of time so we phoned the shop for help and they were just lovely.....calmed us down and we made it back.....exhausted but triumphant!!!! Once again the staff were so helpful and kind to a bunch of amateur paddlers.
Highly recommend - the children slept like logs! As did the OAP! Thank you for a great afternoon.

Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather B, Owner at Saddles & Paddles Exeter Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

So pleased you had fun, despite your wrong turn! And it's great to hear that your whole party enjoyed it, paddling along the canal is fun for all ages and abilities.

Thank you for recommending us - it's really useful for us to have positive reviews from first time paddlers.

Hopefully we'll see you again sometime!

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We hired a Canadian canoe to paddle up the canal/river and took our dog and teenage son. We hired this for the whole day (£50) 10am-5pm and paddled to both double locks and turf locks pub which both serve good food. The people at the shop are friendly & helpful and would recommend this activity to any visitors

Thank Mrsshufflebottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather B, Owner at Saddles & Paddles Exeter Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Sounds like you definitely made the most of your day! We are really lucky to have two great pubs along the canal, for our customers to visit by either bike or boat. Glad you had fun - we are proud to be dog friendly ...as well as teenager friendly!
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, please come and visit us again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014

A bicycle or a canoe or both! We cycled up to the Turf Locks but have also hired kayaks before... excellent service and lovely friendly staff...

Thank Ernesto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather B, Owner at Saddles & Paddles Exeter Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Glad you like our Saddle / Paddle options! It's great to have both easy paddling and traffic-free cycling straight on our doorstep. So pleased you had fun - thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saddles & Paddles Exeter Ltd also viewed

 

Been to Saddles & Paddles Exeter Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing