We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Cottage, ideal location”
other travellers have booked this property
Our cottage on lovely sunny day taken from next doors garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our cottage on lovely sunny day taken from next doors garden
The bright second bedroom The church gates
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
39 reviews
Our cottage on lovely sunny day taken from next doors garden
The bright second bedroom
The church gates
The small second lounge
The lounge with two 2 seater sofas
Well equipped kitchen with seating for 4 people
The children's play area directly opposite the cottage
View of church from the road
The main bedroom with views across to the village green
The lounge showing fireplace
Take the ferry across the river at topsham and walk along tow path to great pub
Exmouth Beach
The Courtyard Garden
A lovely walk through the cornfields in the village
View of the church opposite the cottage
Budleigh Salterton Beach
A view from Lympstone harbour just 10 minutes drive from the cottage
Otterton Mill a great riverside walk takes you here. Still a working mill
A beautiful day on Exmouth Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Exeter, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Betty1547
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Lovely Cottage, ideal location”
Reviewed 5 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Had a great few days at Little Thatch, the cottage was a lovely and cosy, well equipped and in a great location. It was also ideal accommodating dogs. The location was ideal for visiting the area, Topsham is a lovely town to visit as is the beach at Exmouth. Woodbury Common is great for dog walking and the views were stunning. Local pub in the village served great food too. Can't wait to go back again and explore a bit more. Thanks Jane and Rich.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for your kind words. I am so glad that you enjoyed your few days away in Devon. We hope to welcome you back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweetland...
North Caldwell, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quaint, old, adequate”
Reviewed 24 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

If you want to imagine yourself I jolly old England, this is a place to try. In the tiny village of Woodbury, you'll find yourself near a great pub, with what you need for a short stay. It is a very old building with lots of charm that has been modernized as much as possible. It's quirky, though. Had to reboot the router to get service - ok. It was damp and chilly, and the heating system was a challenge to figure out - but once we solved the riddle, it was fine. Not exactly near the beach, but you can drive out to see the really beautiful coast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The nearby pub for dinner meant no driving home.
Liked least: Figuring out how to make things work - which eventually they did.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2017
Thanks you for your review. I am so surprised that you had a problem with the router but it is such a simple job that i'm sure it wasn't too inconvenient . Apologies about the heating , the previous guest had switched it off in the cupboard and it was just a case of flicking a switch. We have now installed the Hive system so we can sort out any heating problems guests may have remotely from our phones.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simon joh...
1 review
“A slice of Devon i remember from my childhood”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in June 2016

A beautiful quaint cottage in Woodbury, Devon. Spent a couple of nights there with my Fiancee on a road trip of the S.W. Wishing we were there for the week ! This cottage and the surrounding area had everything we needed for a perfect holiday. I give the owner 5 stars all day long , the cottage was clean and inviting not just for the two of us but would be also as a perfect holiday family home asit has two bedrooms. The village has a Pub ( awesome food and extremely friendly) , chinese takeaway / fish n chips and a village shop for basic needs and meals if you caught short ! Close to the Devonshire coast , say no more !

Only downside ... very small one .. is that it being an old cottage, the doorway heights are very low ! Im a tall chap but it didn't take me long to get used to this,once i banged my head a few times. Dont let this deter you from renting this cottage !! It was truly a pleasure to stay there and we will be back for sure. Thank you Jane for an unforgettable holiday

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: True old school cottage feel
Liked least: Doorway heights , but got used to stooping , all part of the charm
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
Wow thank you Simon We couldn't have asked for a nicer review. Im so glad you love it just as much as we do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim C
1 review
“Wonderful cottage!”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Lovely cottage! Nice rooms, well equiped kitchen, clean and good location! Towels and linnen were available, which is very nice, especially when travelling with children. We loved our stay at Little Thatch!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments Kim. It was lovely to welcome you and I am so glad your children enjoyed its so much also.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wardlee19...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb! From Lee and Gary”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

From booking in to booking out and notification of receiving damage deposit back, this booking could not have gone any better! The cottage was amazing. We were there with friends from South Africa attending their son's Royal Marine passing out parade (my Godson). It was a great day! This was encompassed by the generally fabulous time we had altogether staying in this wonderful chocolate box cottage! The weather was great so we sat in the lovely garden and toasted our Royal Marine's success. We had a few birthdays and a graduation into Emirates as an airhostess to boot!
Gary loves to cook and Jane (the owner) directed us to the best places to shop for food. The kitchen was very well equipped ... great knives Jane! The cottage contains everything you need for a couple or a party. The word I would use is "quirky" - we loved it! We had numerous reasons to contact Jane before our stay and each time, she was receptive and kind. Her turn round on emails was fast and very helpful. The village of Woodbury is beautiful and the neighbours are kind and friendly. We especially loved the "vegetable grower" as he became known, next door - especially his singing. Public transport is easily accessible and taxis are cheap into Exmouth and Exeter if you don't have a car. Our friends used the bus for site seeing whilst we went off for coastal walks. Well done Jane! It's a great place you have. We will be back indeed. Lee

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was cosey
Liked least: There was only one bathroom - but what do you expect ... it's grade 2 listed!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2016
Wow. What a great review. Thank you so much. I am so glad you love the cottage and area as much as we do. So glad to hear that you had so much to celebrate. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuzyE34
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A gem of a property”
Reviewed 13 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed recently at Little Thatch for a second time. The location is idyllic , opposite a lovely green and beautiful church. We visited the Maltsters Arms for dinner on the first night which was excellent and literally less than 1 minute walk from the cottage. The cottage itself was really well equipped, clean, cosy and the owners had thought of everything to make our stay enjoyable. Beaches around the area were stunning, basically everything on your doorstep. Topsham definitely worth a visit, in fact we spent most of the day there as we were lucky with the weather and sat outside some lovely quaint pubs and coffee shops. Can't wait to book again in the autumn if there's space for us !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony G
1 review
“A really quaint cottage with everything provided and in a most convenient location.”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A lovely cottage in a great location. Really enjoyed it. We had two older children with us (18 and 20) plus two dogs and had plenty of room. It really is a "Tardis" and seems far bigger inside than it looks from the outside. I would stay there again; we really enjoyed it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quaintness of this fantastic thatched cottage.
Liked least: slight mustiness and several moths, but not enough to put us off and perhaps to be expected with this type of property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for your comments. Glad you found the cottage perfect for your needs. We hope to see you again. Best Wishes Jane and Rich
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing