We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My children love it”

ASK Italian - Exeter
Ranked #80 of 524 Restaurants in Exeter
Price range: US$9 - US$17
Cuisines: Pizza, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The ASK Italian restaurant group boasts an excellent Exeter venue, situated in a stunning period building on the green next to Exeter Cathedral. The ASK Italian restaurant has recently gone through an extensive refurbishment. We've created a restaurant with a distinctive new look inspired by modern Italian design. And with the help of our expert friends, including awarding-winning chef Theo Randall, we've created a menu that features a range of simple, classic Italian food and an all Italian wine list.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My children love it”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Went to ASK for my daughters birthday. Never fails to impress me always great service. Food always of good standard and staff are very attentive to the children. Great premises in central location with good views.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    141
    118
    60
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
98 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Lovely courtyard, average food, less than average service”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We had lunch here on a Friday. The courtyard outside is very nice to sit in. We ordered the calamari, two glasses of wine and pizza. The food was average for the price. The service was very slow. We had to look for our waitress several times and even ask for the check. If you don't mind the poor service and are not in a hurry then you may like this place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hapanMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mrs Gollop”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Me and friends found this place on Wednesday night and lucky we did! The service was fantastic we where looked after very well by our waiter. The food was amazing, fresh and hot. The building and location is beautiful.
We will be returning.

Helpful?
Thank peppercornbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Prepare for a long wait”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The idea was good. It was a warm Thursday evening in mid July. We had obtained tickets for an event in Exeter Cathedral beginning at 7:30 and decided to book a meal in Ask Italian which is nicely situated on one side of Cathedral Green. The table was booked via the Ask website for 5:45 which we assumed would give us reasonable time for a relaxing meal before the event started. We arrived on time and everything began well. We ordered olives, bread and wine and these arrived within 10 minutes. We both chose a main pasta dish with no extras. The courtyard which was almost empty when we arrived began to fill up. At twenty to seven we became a little concerned that no food had arrived and reminded the busy waiter and another waiter a little later. Its always frustrating to see people who arrived much later than ourselves receiving their food earlier than us. The food finally came just after seven- a good hour or more after ordering. We rushed through our meal and after making a complaint to the manager walked to the cathedral arriving in time. We have visited Exeter Ask numerous times over the last 20 years or so and generally service has been good. It is important to emphasize that when the food arrived it tasted very good and the menu has many options. Wine is on the expensive side but our Merlot was fine.
Unfortunately the experience cast a shadow on our evening. So two stars on this occasion.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 842John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Management Problems”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

It was a beautiful summer's evening so we went to Ask because it has a lovely outdoor courtyard. We sat down and were ignored for 5 minutes so I went inside and got some menus. We were eventually approached by the manager who asked if we had seated ourselves. We said we had but he said we couldn't eat outside because they didn't have enough staff to take our order outside. What?!! He could have taken it there and then (the table next to us had 6 people on it having a meal!).
He said we would have go inside and wait for a table to become free. We asked if we could order a drink in the meantime. He refused to let us order a drink. After a few more minutes he showed us to a table inside in a half empty room and said we should wait for our server to show up. After a few more minutes we realised that this whole experience wasn't for us. We left and went to The Waterfront where we had a lovely pizza in an outdoor setting next to the river.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed ASK Italian - Exeter also viewed

 

Been to ASK Italian - Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing