We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, clean and welcoming.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Mill House

Old Mill House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Mill House
Ranked #32 of 74 Exeter B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean and welcoming.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Very comfortable room - excellent bed - large ensuite with shower and bath. Excellent breakfast and Polly was a very welcoming host.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickTheobald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
10
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tywardreath, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

We stayed at the B and B whist attending a wedding. Polly was lovely, and very welcoming. Our room was lovely, large, and clean. There was a lovely atomsphere, and I would highly recommend this B and B,

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizze D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

I stayed at the Old Mill House at the weekend and it was absolutely lovely. The beds are so comfortable I felt like I was sleeping in Pilsbury dough. It was spotlessly clean. My room had an ensuite with bath AND separate shower cubicle, lovely, big, fluffy, clean towels, and free products. My room had a lovely big double bed, flat screen tv, tea, coffee and chocolate making facilities and two Kit Kats! I had a nice hot bath and watched "Strictly Come Dancing" in my doughy bed, while drinking tea and munching Kit Kat. I thought I'd died and gone to heaven.

The highlight of my stay was the breakfast. There's a huge selection. I had a chucky egg and soldiers the first morning (cooked to perfection) and a full english the second (yum). Polly is lovely and can't do enough for you. She must work extremely hard to keep a B&B to this standard.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pudding_1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

A wonderful place to stay. The rooms are lovely and clean with shampoos and the like provided. There are free treats set out in the hall and in your room. A wealth of information is provided in the hall (maps, restaraunt menus etc.). The Blue Ball Inn is a fabulous pub with exquisite food near by, by the way. In the morning the lovely Polly will cook you breakfast or you can have fruits and cereals if you prefer. Breakfast is served in the glass conservatory with a beautiful view of the garden which is full of life - chickens, the cat and other birds coming to feed. Bordering the garden is a field of bright yellow flowers that stretches out as far as you can see. Polly went out of her way to make us comfortable. This B&B and "Cranleigh" in Bath were the best 2 places I have stayed in England and I stayed at quite a few on my travels.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaynW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMids, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2008

I booked this B&B to stay for a relative's wedding at nearby Bishop's Court. On learning of this, Mrs Moore generously offered to give us a lift to the wedding, along with two other guests who were staying there.

Not only would I happily go back to this B&B, I would consider making a special trip down to Devon to return. The house and gardens are lovely, and the location is quiet, private and pretty. This B&B is very, very good value for money indeed.

The room in which we stayed was lovely: large, tastefully decorated and well furnished (comfortable bed, easy chair, desk and chair, wardrobe and drawers, tea/coffee and biscuits, TV with many channels, interesting magazines to read). The bathroom was similarly generous, with plenty of nice towels and toiletries, and a proper shower with lots of hot water. Needless to say all was spotlessly clean!

The breakfast was easily one of the best I have ever had. Plenty of lovely fresh fruit, cereals, toast, tea, coffee and juice, and wonderful fry up- fresh eggs, quality sausage and the thickest and tastiest slice of bacon I have ever eaten, complemented with nicely cooked mushrooms, tomatoes and black pudding. There were also a wide range of other breakfast choices on offer (eg, smoked salmon), which I would have been only too happy to try out had we been staying for longer.

Very, very good!

  • Liked — Friendliness of Mrs Moore (and family!)
  • Disliked — Couldn't stay longer!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank screen_name_here_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2007

Located within easy reach of Devon's busy capital - the Old mill house offers everything necessary for a relaxing and refreshing weekend getaway.

Run by the delightful Mrs Polly Moore this establishment promises great things from the moment you turn off the lane and get your first view of the Old Mill house. Unlike many establishments this lives up to it's initial promises.

The property is set within landscaped gardens surronded by fields. The atmosphere and tone of the property is further augmented by the owners collection of chickens, which roam around the gardens.

Inside the rooms are very comfortable decorated to a high standard complete with en-suite bathrooms and extremely comfortable double beds. The rooms also have additional features such as sky television, dvd players and tea and coffee making facilities. However the highlight of the stay was not the bed element but more the breakfast for this is worthy of the greatest of reviews. The breakfast offered consists of a selection of breakfast cereals including granola and museli as well as traditional brand name cereals, a selection of local yoghurts and freshly squeezed orange juice. However this is only the start of the feast as also included in the breakfast price is a selection of toasts with jams and then your choice of English full cooked breakfast (without high levels of grease), scrambled eggs, poached eggs, kippers, or my personal favourite smoked salmon and scrambled eggs.

Also available in the rooms is more than sufficient information about the local area and it's restaurants so much so that you will spend hours wondering how to find time for everything. Particularly recommended are a trip to the idyllic village of Topsham and a visit to Darts farm

  • Liked — It's charm
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank completerandomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
4.3 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kiddicott Farm
Kiddicott Farm
#26 of 74 in Exeter
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtbrook Farm
Courtbrook Farm
#41 of 74 in Exeter
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Eastcote Luxury Guest House
2.9 mi away
Heath Gardens B&B
Heath Gardens B&B
#20 of 74 in Exeter
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
4.6 mi away
Headweir Mill House
Headweir Mill House
#8 of 23 in Exeter
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Mill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mill House

Property: Old Mill House
Address: Old Mill House Oil Mill Lane, Exeter EX5 1AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Old Mill House Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing