We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tremendous Pub”
Review of The Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Village Inn
Ranked #10 of 15 Lynmouth B&B and Inns
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Tremendous Pub”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We called in at this pub as it was the closest to the self catering cottage we were staying in. A good move. Dog came too. Dog was fussed over by staff so brownie points straight away!

We were made very welcome, Mark and the ladies are very approachable and easy to get on with. You can chose to eat in the busiest bit, or in a quieter area. HUGE servings of super,freshly prepared food.
Some nights there was live music or darts, but if you are not into 'thatsortathing', you don't have to sit anywhere near it.

I wish I was there this week with the excitement of Roly and Whispers puppies arriving......

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShazzyMurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    22
    6
    6
    7
See reviews for
25
69
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The village in is in a great location, the staff are really friendly, and accommodate anything if asked. I stayed for 4 nights and it felt like my home by the time I left. The food was delicious, great portions and great prices. Children and dogs welcome, real homely feel. A lot of locals in the pub which is always a comforting sight. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 4 was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The sun was shining and there was a lively buzz in the street as we approached the Village Inn outside of which was standing a gentleman who we took to be the proprietor. I can't recollect any other occasion where we have been welcomed by the ‘landlord’ bursting into song, it wasn't very long but we couldn't help but laugh and it set the tone for the rest of our stay. The gentleman in question is 'Razor' who helps to run the pub with his partner Bev ably assisted by Mandy, Chris and Dan who all contributed to providing us with a cracking week. They really can't do enough for you, they may be informal in their approach but that's the way we like it.
We and the rest of the customers of course, were treated to an impromptu evening of folk featuring the debut of ' The Village Idiots' comprising Mandy and a frequent guest, Diana, who played the accordion. I don't think it unkind to say that they are pretty much a work in progress and we are looking forward to returning next year to see the finished article. What they may have lacked in finesse and repertoire was more than counterbalanced by the enthusiasm with which they approached there task and the sheer hilarity that they generated. Believe me, you can't buy nights like that.

Our room was spacious, clean and airy and served its purpose perfectly whilst the meals, prepared by Bev, represented the best of good, wholesome (not to mention ample) cooking.

If you can leave your pretensions at home, get the starch out of your pants and are prepared to join in then you're in for a treat.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertJG28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Went into the bar to check in and was met by a young lad who looked about 16 who greeted us with 'yep'. First impression was a staircase with dirty, threadbare carpets, two dogs running up and down the stairs and the horrible smell of 'wet dog'. At the top of these stairs was the kitchen with a dirty baby gate across the doorway to keep the dogs out. Shown rooms at the top of another set of stairs with grubby, threadbare carpets, that didn't look anything like the Internet pictures ... Decision? Find somewhere else. The pictures of the front of this pub on the Internet are nothing like the pub as it is. I would definitely not recommend this accommodation to friends, family or trip advisor members. The only good comment I can put on here is its location, but beware there is no parking nearby, it's on the road or tourist car park

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frascatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

very much enjoyed our 2 night stay at The Village Inn. At only £60 per nights is very well located and good value. Ok as 1 reviewer said the stairs carpet is a (very) little bare but the room no 4, was clean, with a view towards the sea and plenty big enough. Bathroom was fine but on the small side.
The stay is enhanced by Mark (the owner) who made us feel at home from the moment we arrived, it feels quite informal and friendly.
They'd provided music on night 1 and an excellent live singer on the second.
10 of us ate in the first night - we all agreed it was an excellent (better than pub food).
Rooms 3 & 4 are a good size and look out on the 2nd floor to the sea /street .
All in all we'd definitely stay again - friendly, informal and convenient.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borntotravel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2013

we really enjoyed our stay at the village inn
.
the inn is central and yet the rooms were very quiet at night as it is set back from the road

the room was a little tired but clean and a good size and perfect for our needs.

the staff were very helpful and friendly and the food was really good quality, home cooked and very good sized portions

we would definitely recommend a stay here and we will visit again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank np12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2013

we stayed for 7 days and had a excellent time! The food is all Home cooked and good value for money. The pub has a really good atmosphere and is very welcoming. If your in the area it's a recommendation to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuckshop97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
232 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
457 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
298 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Captain's House
The Captain's House
#12 of 15 in Lynmouth
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hillside House
Hillside House
#8 of 15 in Lynmouth
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn

Property: The Village Inn
Address: 19 Lynmouth Street, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy traditional Inn offering real ale, good wholesome home cooked food, warm and friendly hosts and staff. Six en-suite rooms decorated to a high standard with all the usual extras. We offer good value for money food, drink and accommodation all year round. There is also a log fire in the winter and a beer garden for our smokers. Dogs are very welcome to stay in our allocated dog rooms and are also welcome in the bar and garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HRS, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Inn Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing