We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Village Inn
Ranked #10 of 15 Lynmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

A warm welcome, a last minute booking, fantastic value, we ended up staying here 2 nights instead of 1! Lovely people, fun atmosphere, Comfy rooms with great space, warm, clean, and a great view from the room we stayed in. The food was great, good selection and great prices. Im sure we will return again and would recommend to anyone who appreciates a warm friendly place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    21
    6
    6
    7
See reviews for
25
69
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

One late night in September, two exceptionally cold, tired, novice walkers stumbled upon the village inn looking somewhat worse for wear. The staff were incredibly charitable and welcoming, particularly the landlord, and we were immediately offered a warm, comfortable room at a reasonable price and provided with much needed food. As well as the necessities we were treated to pleasant conversation and plenty of advice (as well as a donation to our charity). We cannot express our gratitude for the kindness we were shown and would recommend in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

If you're looking for somewhere friendly and welcoming, with great, wholesome food, this is the place to stay. The food is plentiful and delicious.The bedrooms are comfortable, clean and warm. Great for a cold winter night. And the location is perfect for exploring the beautiful coastal town. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Two sets of stairs to the higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanettem63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Great food great company - definitely the place to be on a winter weekend or any weekend - great walks. We will be going again and recommend The Village Inn to every one. Very please Ray and Lynn found you. Thank you all for such a nice weekend.
You only need to stay in this great Pub and you will know what I mean!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Fantastic NYE which was warm and friendly…….thankyou Razor for the hospitality and great beer. Met some lovely people who myself and other half will keep intouch with. When ever we are back surfing then we will defo pop in for a few jars…..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keaty1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed at the Village Inn for 3 nights 19-21 November 2013 and loved every minute. This is a real home from home, wonderful home-cooked food and plenty of it, and really attentive and pleasant staff. It is not a 4 Star hotel and there are no uniformed flunkies running around asking if everything is alright every 5 minutes. It is like being in your best friends house..would you really criticise their carpets, or the state of the decor? People who do that don't have many friends!
We are going back in December for another 3 nights and again in January with 6 of our friends, says it all.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RayFearnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Looking for a place to stay after the sun went down while doing a self drive tour of the coast I came across the Village Inn in a gorgeous town of Lynmouth surrounded by the gorgeous Exmoor national park. Staying for a night I was warmly welcomed by the Pub owner who is a top bloke and very hospitable. The room was clean, Very comfortable and I had a great night sleep. After a long day driving it was relaxing to pull up at the bar for a good ale and hearty meal from their kitchen. As I have toured England for the pubs this was was one of the best! makes me wish I was local! I would recommend the Village Inn for anyone looking for a comfortable pub stay while checking out the sights of the Exmoor. Thanks again Guys! This Aussie can't wait to visit your place next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hillside House
Hillside House
#8 of 15 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Lyn House
East Lyn House
#3 of 15 in Lynmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riverside Cottage
Riverside Cottage
#6 of 15 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn

Property: The Village Inn
Address: 19 Lynmouth Street, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy traditional Inn offering real ale, good wholesome home cooked food, warm and friendly hosts and staff. Six en-suite rooms decorated to a high standard with all the usual extras. We offer good value for money food, drink and accommodation all year round. There is also a log fire in the winter and a beer garden for our smokers. Dogs are very welcome to stay in our allocated dog rooms and are also welcome in the bar and garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Inn Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing