We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of tears at the prospect of leaving.”
Review of The Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Village Inn
Ranked #10 of 15 Lynmouth B&B and Inns
Chester
1 review
“Full of tears at the prospect of leaving.”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

One of the most amazing places I've ever experienced, such a welcoming, friendly atmosphere, not to mention the amazing food- heart full of sadness that the time came to leave, great memories. Thanks Razor and team.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicky20122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    22
    6
    6
    7
See reviews for
25
69
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Great pub, Razor (aka Mark) is probably the best barman you will meet, very friendly and his dogs Rolo and Whispa are just great and make you feel so at home. The food is outstanding and great value for money and the beer is superb. The bands on Fridays and Saturdays are terrific and his pub quiz on Thursdays is second to none which we won while we there! (Team name: It's grim up north) if you ever get the chance to visit do it, you won't regret it, I promise you.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paddym94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Mark n staff very friendly ( great craic). Food was mouth watering. Rollo and wispa great addition to place. Very homely pub. Located in the heart of fantastic, scenic little village which we fell in love with. Matt & joanne (irish)

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

found this hotel / pub by accident, stayed one night loved to have stayed more
great palce to stay, great place to eat, very welcoming,clean and the staff are brilliant. thanks Mark you are a star !!!

Room Tip: any room will do here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanderplonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Me, my husband and our Bassett Hound frequented this pub regularly. The food is delicious and the specials board is a real treat. Our Basset was welcome and we were able to enjoy our dinner and drinks with the comfort of knowing him being with us was Respected and encouraged which was a pleasure. Will be back again without hesitation!!(made our holiday!!)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mrandmrswoodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We found this to be the friendliest pub in Lynmouth. Great staff, great atmosphere and great home cooked food. Highly recommended. We are a family of 5 age 40 -75 with 2 dogs and were well catered for. Live bands on several times a week.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank shitokai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We called in yesterday the 13/04/14 and got a very warm welcome the place was quite full with locals and is a dog friendly pub ,a log burner warms the place up to go with your drinks it is clean and with lots of oldie world charm .The meals are to good standard and served on hot plates ,the host is a good laugh and also the locals so were made to feel at home ,so we stopped for a few hours ,The is a good selection of ciders,beers, and wines and tea and coffee are available ,we shall return when in the area again Good value for money well done!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
237 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
467 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hillside House
Hillside House
#8 of 15 in Lynmouth
80 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Captain's House
The Captain's House
#12 of 15 in Lynmouth
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn

Property: The Village Inn
Address: 19 Lynmouth Street, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy traditional Inn offering real ale, good wholesome home cooked food, warm and friendly hosts and staff. Six en-suite rooms decorated to a high standard with all the usual extras. We offer good value for money food, drink and accommodation all year round. There is also a log fire in the winter and a beer garden for our smokers. Dogs are very welcome to stay in our allocated dog rooms and are also welcome in the bar and garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Inn Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing