We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Heatherville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Heatherville Hotel
Ranked #3 of 15 Lynmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Notingham, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best B&B ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

The road up is an entertaining challenge, Very warm welcome from Richard and Kay. Lovely room and best breakfast in a B&B we've had. Perfectly placed to walk out the door and hit the path to Watersmeet - recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff Nickolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
221
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Just returned from a lovely weekend at Lynmouth. On arrival at the Heatherville we were immediately made very welcome by Richard & Kay. Tea & cakes were served on the patio overlooking the River Lyn. The sun was shining making it a perfect start to the weekend. Our room was very clean & cosy. Excellent breakfast with plenty of choice. Enjoyed some lovely walks to Watersmeet & the Valley of rocks. Stunning views along the coastline. Only had 2 nights but really wanted to stay longer. Richard & Kay were perfect hosts & did everything they could to make our stay a memorable one. This was our first visit to Lynmouth but would definetly love to return to this excellent guesthouse.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimlizhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

We were a little concerned to see that the Heatherview had 81 "excellents" and no other marks. It seemed too good to be true.
Without repeating the many other comments, I will just say that it is a perfectly correct rating.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimjim47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

The attentiveness started immediately on our arrival, as Richard and Kay were outside even before we arrived to welcome us, ready to guide us into our parking spot. This was immediately followed by a really nice tea and cake. They are very friendly and natural hosts and made it their purpose to help us to get the most out of our three day visit to Lynmouth. Their recommendations for places to go and where to dine were perfect.
The Heatherville Hotel occupies an elevated position high above the East Lyn river and the views from the breakfast room and patio are beautiful. Other reviewers have said everything there is to be said about the breakfast, which was great. Our room was very comfortable, very clean and contained all necessary facilities. The hotel is a short and pretty walk into the centre of Lynmouth, where a friendly welcome was experienced at the pubs and restaurants we visited, which all served great food and good beer.
Lynmouth is a really lovely place and if we are fortunate to return, which we intend to do, we would not hesitate to book in with Richard and Kay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 645John_Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

This was our first visit to Lynmouth and we made the perfect choice in choosing The Heatherville. It was clean,,comfortable and Richard & Kay were very friendly, extremely helpful and attentive.. We had a lovely bright room with a good aspect. Breakfasts were very good with plenty to choose from, cooked or otherwise. I was taken into hospital at Barnstaple by ambulance in the wee small hours of Saturday morning. Kay made my wife promise to call Richard if I was being discharged or she was returning by herself and he would come and collect us/her which he did. He arrived at hospital at 5.30am to pick us up .How is that for Hospitality? He told us not to worry about vacating the room at the normal time, and, if necxessary we could stay on until i felt better.

Room Tip: Room 6 is comfortable bright and airy..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maidstone
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

kay and richard were friendly and welcoming hosts.

The room was cosy and comfortable, with all being spotless and clean.

the breakfasts were excellent. There was a full choice of either a healthy continental or full English. Plenty of fresh fruit and berries. Furthermore richard was more than willing to give us all a lift to and from local restaurants

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raila c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

What can we say, that has not been said already!! Fawlty Towers, this is Not! Our stay with Richard and Kay was memorable. They are truly the perfect hosts. Charming, friendly, and so attentive. On arrival after a long and tiring journey, Richard and Kay's welcome made it all worthwhile. Liking the five star treatment, we were certainly given it there. Accommodation facilities were excellent, breakfast menu was extensive, the full english breakfast was certainly Full! and superbly cooked. The location and views are outstanding, Lynmouth with it's pretty harbour, with lots of lovely walks around the area, we cannot wait to visit again, making sure we stay again with Richard & Kay at the Heatherville. We have visited and stayed in Lynton/Lynmouth before but we are so pleased on discovering The Heatherville. We will certainly be returning to what we consider is, the best B&B in Lynmouth. With fond regards from Frances & Perfect Paul. Milton Keynes.

Room Tip: Sorry clicked on swimming pool by mistake, however the sea is five minutes walk away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sangria1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.4 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heatherville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heatherville Hotel

Property: The Heatherville Hotel
Address: Tors Park, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Heatherville Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Heatherville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heatherville Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing