We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem - excellent hosts, comfy beds and a tasty breakfast - they literally could not do more!”
Review of Hillside House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hillside House
Ranked #8 of 15 Lynmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Hillside House is a short walk from the hub of Lynmouth. We had a beautifully decorated ensuite room with views of the river. A comfy bed and tasty breakfast were the perfect combination and at the right price. Parking is limited (as you would expect in such a village) but you can park for 2 hours at a time in the bays outside for free and the car park right by the b&b has a reasonable daily rate so this was not a problem at all. The hosts were fantastic, friendly and helpful and even remembered our quirky breakfast combinations on the second morning. Thank you for such a lovely weekend.

We can recommend the rising sun pub for excellent food overlooking the river and coast. Unfortunately, we did not have much time to explore elsewhere as we had a wedding nearby, but there is always the next visit! Lynmouth is a lovely idyllic spot in North Devon and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skichick09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Hillside House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2011

Loved this place. Very friendly hosts, good recommendations, comfortable bedroom, lovely position overlooking the river, large bathroom, extremely filling and well-cooked breakfast, all at a good price. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

fantastic service,excellent breakfast,Jeff and Denise who own it are a lovely couple who cant do enough for you.would definately go back

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank easyriderHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

As soon as we arrived at the Hillside I had to use the bathroom,
We were told about a specific type of plumbing systems in the bathrooms. It was very noisy and WORSE than that was the smell when other people in the B&B flushed their toilets, we would get vile smelling water squirting from either our shower tray or sink. We resorted to pouring toilet cleaner around the shower tray and sink every night before going to sleep as well as spraying a large dose of air freshener around the bathroom.

I was shocked to discover that when I went to use a fresh bar of soap from the soap dish, the soap dish was dusty and had a dark hair on it. There was also the issue of all the 'clean' towels smelling of damp.

We went to bed on the first night after discussing the smoky musty smell of the B&B. We both woke up after having a very uncomfortable sleep in the bed. We went to have our breakfast and both decided to have the full English. I was slightly put off when my pot of tea arrived with a dog hair attached. My partner told me he had dog hair on a slice of his bacon. The owners have a dog. We then noticed as we were leaving that other people staying at the B&B were allowed to bring their dogs into the breakfast room.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KLO2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We had a few days break in Lynmouth, an area that we love, and were well cared for at this homely B&B. Denise and Jeff were very helpfull and nothing was too much trouble. The room was clean and of adequate size and the en-suite had a bath which was very welome after walking miles each day. My full English breakfast was superb but Denise would also cater for any other choices you may have. Although we didn't have a dog it appears that dogs are welcome and are even provided with a sausage for breakfast (not eaten at the table of course).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidsage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Stayed here for three nights in June.
Great location near to the centre of town. Denise and Jeff are great hosts and were a mine of information for us regarding places to see and things to do.
Room was clean and comfortable and breakfasts very good. Denise was very accomodating when it came to the cooked breakfast, you could pretty much have what ever combination you wanted!!!
Parking was a bit of an issue when we arrived mid afternoon on a holiday Sunday but by 6pm there was plenty of free parking in the lot nearby.
Only one small issue for us was allowing dogs in the breakfast room. We knew it was a dog friendly B&B and we are dog owners ( didn't have or dog with us) but we thought that was going a bit too far.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brumfanabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Enzo and I took our humans on a holiday for a few days, and for us Hillside was the perfect retreat. We were pampered with hot sausages, beautiful walks along the coast and through the woods. Enzo is quite a small dog and the mountain streams are fast and furious for him, but for me (I'm a large dog) they were great fun.

Our bedroom was clean, tidy and warm and I am glad to say our humans seem to have no problem getting a good nights sleep (they need it after all the walking and cream teas)

Pubs, restaurants, shops all let us in , and in most cases even supplied us with biscuits and water. I must say the locals here are very civilized.

Our appreciation to Denise and Geoff for looking after us all so well, and sincerely hope we can encourage our humans to visit again

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Happydays46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
245 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
480 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
313 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Captain's House
The Captain's House
#12 of 15 in Lynmouth
195 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#10 of 15 in Lynmouth
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside House

Address: 22 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lynmouth
Price Range: £63 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hillside House 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Hillside House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside House Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing