We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lot of stairs, but a very enjoyable stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillside House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hillside House
Ranked #8 of 15 Lynmouth B&B and Inns
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A lot of stairs, but a very enjoyable stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was our first visit to this B & B, although we have been frequent visitors to Lynton & Lynmouth over the years. Denise & Geoff made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them - we were even able to swop bedrooms for one with an en-suite shower rather than bath. There were steps up to the entrance, then more steps up to the second floor where we are bedroom was. This in itself was a lovely room of character with ample tea & coffee making facilities. The stairs certainly kept us fit! The full English breakfast was excellent and kept the hunger pains away until evening. Yes we would certainly come here again. This character building is built into one of the Watersmeet hillsides, so there is no on site parking but you will be able to use the chargeable public car park nearby. If you are clever, you can park for free after 4 pm on Watersmeet Road and provided you leave to go out exploring by 12 noon the next day. It is an ideal location very close to the centre of Lynmouth and well worth considering.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    21
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
51
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Breakfast and the owners were lovely and nothing was too much trouble. Very dog friendly too which was nice to see as some places say they are dog friendly but are very fussy with particular rules when you get there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deb372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for May Day bank holiday weekend for my husbands birthday, with his two parents and our two springers. The location is perfect, right in the heart of Lynmouth. The owners Denise and Geoff are so friendly and make you so welcome. They also make a mean fry up and poached eggs on toast! They even gave our dogs left over sausages! The rooms are very clean, with nice variety of teas and coffees, and very comfy beds. We will all definitely return again!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DanandSerena E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Very good location, right next to the trail to Watersmeet and the bus station. Denise was very friendly and helpful. The room had a lovely view of the river. Great full English breakfast in the morning - we were really well fed for our stay. Very well priced rooms as well - I'm a student so will usually opt for hostels where available, but there aren't any in Lynton/Lynmouth and this B&B was really the main reason that allowed us to visit this beautiful area.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor have quite a low door and a low ceiling in some parts due to the sloping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeniale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chard
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Just come back from a night at Hillside House. Denise was very friendly and helpful. B&B is in a nice position in Lynmouth and lots of nice walks are nearby. Breakfast was brilliant and we were even given a sausage for our dog, Beau. B&B did not smell 'doggy' or 'musty' or any of that. My bed was very comfy (which makes a nice change, I fancy they're usually slabs of concrete in B&Bs!) Nice selection of teas and coffees in the room and nice view of the river.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emsywemsy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Just returned from a walking trip in Lynmouth where we stayed at Hillside House. Thankyou very much for making us feel so welcome, had a lovely room with a great view overthe river Lyn.Breakfast was a great full English which kept us going all day.....lovely people , lovely place
Thankyou Denise and Jeff

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Had a lovely stay with Denise and Jeff in their charming B&B. A cosy home from home, fantastic full english breakfast in the mornings, great rooms, private bathroom with bath and shower, fantastic views from bedroom of the river. Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SilverStreamer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.3 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.0 mi away
East Lyn House Hotel
East Lyn House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Lynmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lorna Doone House
Lorna Doone House
#5 of 15 in Lynmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside House

Property: Hillside House
Address: 22 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hillside House 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Hillside House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside House Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing