We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss it!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of East Lyn House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
East Lyn House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Lynmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have just spent 3 nights at East Lynn House and wished we could have stayed longer. We were welcome by Sally who soon produced tea and delicious flapjacks for us to enjoy on the terrace. Our luggage appeared in our room which was spotless and very comfortable with fantastic views of the river and hillsides. Breakfast was of a very high quality and perfectly cooked by Paul. We recommend the smoked mackerel and scrambled eggs.!!
I don't very often write reviews on Trip Advisor but in this case East Lynn house is exceptional and Paul and Sally deserve it. If you are going to the area don't miss out !!
Sandra and Steve
Peterborough

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandralutkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    34
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
232
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

.......a beautiful place and superb hosts, Sally and Paul.
Our car was parked for us and luggage carried up stairs.
The rooms were spotless,well equipped and comfortable with lovely views.
We would love to return and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4friends48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Made welcome on arrival with tea and cake. Paul and Sally wonderful hosts. Our room on the top floor overlooked the river. It was tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. Lovely breakfasts served on the terrace. Would strongly recommend and will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is a B&B par excellence! On arrival, we were welcomed with a fresh pot of tea and homemade flapjacks and the wonderful service continued throughout our 3-day stay. Paul and Sally clearly work exceptionally hard, but make it seem effortless and no trouble at all.

The room was extremely comfortable and everything immaculate. Despite being at the front by the road, we slept with the window open and heard only the soothing sounds of the river!

We were fortunate enough to have breakfast outside on the terrace, which is the most perfect setting - right on the river with stunning views. And the food was perfect. So much better than the usual uninspiring, luke-warm hotel breakfast fare. Everything was fresh, freshly-cooked, delicious and in plentiful supply.

Paul and Sally gave us some great tips on places to eat and advised us to make the steep walk up to Lynton, rather than just take the cliff railway. It was well worth the effort.

I cannot recommend East Lyn highly enough. Lynmouth is a fabulous place to visit and we definitely plan to return as soon as possible. I just hope we can get a reservation! With comfort and service this good, word is bound to spread.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We arrived in Lynmouth for a couple of days away and ended up staying more. This was not only because of the beauty of Lynmouth but also because of the care and kindness shown by the owners, Paul and Sally - nothing is too much trouble for them. Our room was extremely comfortable with everything and more you might need, toiletries, bottled water, biscuits and a beautiful comfy bed. The full English breakfast sets you up for the day - beautifully cooked by Paul and presented by Sally along with answers to any of our questions on the area - very knowledgeable. I would not hesitate to recommend this property to my friends and will be returning with a couple of them at the end of the summer - can't wait. Thank you again Paul and Sally.

Room Tip: Room at the top of the house with a window seat which was a lovely sun trap in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil_Julia2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at East Lyn House Hotel for our Anniversary at end of May this year and we had a lovely stay, Sally and Paul the proprietors were great although we didn't see much of Paul as Sally must have kept him well busy.
Sally was very charming and helpful, on arrival at the Hotel Sally sat us down with a pot of tea and some warm flapjacks and we chatted for quite some time and then Sally showed us to our room on the first floor.
The room was very nice and the bed comfortable, tea and coffee facilities and just about everything you could need.
Sally had excellent knowledge of the local area and was very informative.
The following morning we sat for an excellent full English breakfast although there was a choice including Kippers or smoked salmon, we had home baked bread and more toast than you can shake a stick at.
All in all it was a very pleasant stay and wonderful to be amongst such lovely people.
We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were Sally and Pauls first customers when they first started the B & B last year and we were looked after so well that we returned again this May. We were made very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was newly decorated and comfy the en suite shower was lovely, and we had a great view of the river. Such a lot of choice for breakfast and plenty of it.
We love the area and have recommended the East Lyn to all our friends.
See you again next year Sally and Paul.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back have a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marilyn_757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.2 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lyn Valley Hotel
The Lyn Valley Hotel
#1 of 15 in Lynmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lorna Doone House
Lorna Doone House
#5 of 15 in Lynmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Lyn House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Lyn House Hotel

Property: East Lyn House Hotel
Address: 17 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — East Lyn House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Lyn House is a lovely fully licensed Guest House, one minute from the sea, and located on the beautiful East Lyn river. Owned by Paul and Sally and run in a relaxed and informal style, guests are assured of a warm welcome in beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your East Lyn House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Lyn House Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing