We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Food we had in Devon”

Rising Sun Resturant
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Lynmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, British, Pub, Soups, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Food we had in Devon”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Rising Sun was much better than expected! The food we had was fresh and had great flavor, the place itself is as cozy as any olde world type pub with plenty of decent ales, beers, wine etc.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Limeygary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    208
    84
    22
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Muscles, scallops, Camembert.... Yummmmmmm”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Oh my goodness--- just recalling the amazing pot of muscles in white wine, the Camembert and the bread basket makes my mouth water! The food was so delicious! Don't miss the Rising Sun on your visit!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Orange_Spice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great pub”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Excellent food,great beer,wonderful staff had a great time.we can't wait to go there again. The fish is locally caught and the prawns are to die for.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dave m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Have your food in the bar”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Sample the local atmosphere in a very busy pub /restaurant . There's some sort of waiting list but they don't take bookings or names for that matter . It's all hustle and bustle with dogs everywhere. Just share a table as its quicker and you get to chat with locals and travellers from a far for that matter. The mussels are a must with three different choices . I had the ones cooked in west country cider bacon and onions yummy. Very large pot but don't forget to ask for the delicious bread and butter. £30 for two with two pints of the local cider well worth a visit

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Supper on the harbour side”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My family and I visited the Pub for an evening meal. We sat outside for a few pre-dinner pints, glasses of wine and enjoyed the wonderful sunset. The food was good. We enjoyed all of our courses and the service was fine. We would come to Lynmouth again to walk up the river, watch the egrets eating the little eels and generally enjoy the place. The Lynton Cliff railway is a must too! Going almost vertically up the cliff and only powered by water! Opened in 1887...

Helpful?
Thank Mzeenini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rising Sun Resturant also viewed

Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Rising Sun Resturant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing