We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Blueball Inn

The Blueball Inn
Ranked #8 of 23 Restaurants in Lynmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Out of season eating can be difficult with not many options, so we opted to eat here. Wish we had found this the night before! Lovely, friendly atmosphere and the food is great, although be warned the portions are huge, we'll worth a visit if your in the area. :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    40
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A regular stopping off point”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

This is a regular stopping off point for lunch when travelling back from further southwest, but also a place we aim for at least once whenever we are in the Lynmouth area. The food is great and the beer well kept - both very welcome after the stroll up from Lynmouth. Going late int he year also means the traditional wood fire is very welcome too. My only problem with the place it, after a nice, big meal, wonderful pudding, and a pint (or two) I really hate leaving the place :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Fox_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rustington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Exmoor Bliss!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights during October half term with our teenage daughter who had her own room next to ours. We also took our bulldog, Tilly!
The Inn is perfectly rustic and charming. We were made very welcome from the minute we arrived and did not want to leave.
We have travelled to this part of Exmoor for many years but this was the first time we stayed at the Blueball Inn. We certainly feel we have found a perfect hideaway for relaxing breaks in beautiful Devon.
Our rooms were immaculate and clean. They were serviced daily with tea/coffee supplies replenished along with toiletries.
We ate in the restaurant every evening and were spoilt for choice!! The food is amazing! One word of warning - don't have a starter or you will never finish your main!! My husband loved the steak, our daughter adored the burger which was enormous and I have never tasted such beautifully cooked sea bass. I must say we have travelled extensively world wide, stayed in 5* hotels where the food was not prepared to the high standards of the Blueball Inn!!
Our dog was made just as welcome as we were which we loved as she is a part of our family too! If you are a dog lover, this is the place for you. It was lovely to meet other guests and their 4 legged friends too! Ours particularly loved the fires!
Walking from the Inn could not be better. The walk to Watersmeet is prefect for building an appetite for a cream tea at the tea rooms there!! Other walks locally to Valley of the Rocks, Lynton and along the harbour in Lynmouth are wonderfully soul cleansing after the stress of every day working life.
If you go to Lynton, walk further up the main street to the Candlemaker, John. He is so welcoming and his candles burn beautifully with wonderful scents.
All in all our stay at the Inn was the icing on the cake of our stay in this beautiful part of the world.
Thank you to everyone there for their welcome and excellent customer service, we will definately be back x

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“real pub with great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

ate here twice on our recent holiday in lynmouth,staff very friendly,good choice on menu,food excellent from cheesey chips to saddle of venison.would reccomend to anyone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ginge2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“No customer service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed with a group for one night and the room we were given was very poor, shabby furnishing with no shower. Some of the other rooms that friends had were lovely with good furnishings and wet rooms. Disappointing that we couldn't be moved when asked but as it was only for one night we thought we could cope. We booked a table for dinner and we were not disappointed with the menu on offer or the resulting meals served...it was all delicious and good value for money. The issue was the total lack of customer service received by the bar staff when asked for cheese and port for eight people after the 9pm time threshold. It wasn't the fact that we couldn't have it because it was 9.30pm it was the bad attitude, the rudeness and complete lack of interest by the barman......such a shame that one person can spoil an other wise good experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blueball Inn also viewed

Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Blueball Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing