We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Gem”
Review of 7 The Bistro - CLOSED

7 The Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$25
Cuisines: French, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: intimate dining experience the restaurant has a fresh new look without losing its charm and warm welcoming atmosphere. Our ethos remains the same, "dine at your leisure". Your table is yours for the evening.
Reviewed 7 September 2017

We stay in the nearby area every August for my husband's birthday and always pop into Lynmouth for dinner on at least one night. This time we wanted to try somewhere new and found 7 The Bistro online and decided to give it a go. It was certainly a good decision.

The restaurant itself if very pretty and nicely decorated. It's quite cosy and intimate but there is enough space between you and the other diners. It is a very friendly and efficiently run place and the atmosphere is very pleasant.

The food was delicious and they had a good selection on offer, though the menu was discerningly small, which is a sign of a good chef we always feel. There was also a good choice of drinks to be had, and the prosecco cocktails were a really nice touch, especially the one containing wild strawberries, well worth a punt!

Try the bistro if you're in Lynmouth, you won't be disappointed.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LilsSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 116 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017

booked for saturday night and was not disappointed. excellent food and drink the sea bass was lovely great aervice worth a visit

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

We were going to book on the Monday night for my partners birthday the next day when we realised it closed Mondays. The owner was just coming out and very kindly let us in to book. She let us pick our own table and had put birthday sprinkle on it when we got there the next night.
It has a very quiet atmosphere, you have the table as long as you want and plenty of time between courses if you want. The food is excellent, as is the service and the staff.
Wood highly recommend eating here.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Three of us went for dinner and enjoyed it.

The restaurant is cute and intimate but with plenty of space between tables, and the welcome was warm with good service throughout.

Two of us had the seafood stack for starters, which was very good and the mix worked well together. For mains, we had Dover sole, beef stroganoff and rump surf and turf. We couldn't resist dessert and went for trio of ice cream, cheesecake, and brownie. Everything was tasty, and several gluten free options were clearly marked.

Only observations would be that for the price I think it's not unreasonable to expect a better cut of steak and it was disappointing, when asking how the cheesecake is made to be told 'chef says that's how it's bought in'!

Overall a nice meal in a nice place.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank deeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

What delicious food! What a warm welcome and gracious service! We were spoilt for choice with the menu. The restaurant has a lovely relaxed atmosphere. We didn't feel rushed as the table was ours for the evening and we could take the meal at the pace we wished to. A particularly nice touch was how we were informed about the length of time the chef would take to prepare the fresh fish dishes.
We booked in advance and can see why you could need to. Several folks came in without having booked, hoping for a table, and although there appeared to be free tables, they were in fact booked.
This is definitely a place we want to return to. Can't wait!

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ClassAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 7 The Bistro also viewed

Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.