We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent B&B”
Review of Countisbury Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Countisbury Lodge
Ranked #9 of 15 Lynmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Arriving late on a Friday night, we were greeted warmly by the owners of the Lodge and shown to a lovely, clean spacious room. We were asked about what we would like for breakfast and at what time we would like it. We had a lovely night's sleep and the breakfast in the morning was perfect. High quality ingredients for the cooked breakfast, with as much tea and toast as was wanted with the option of fruit salad or cereals too as well as others. The owners were helpful in advising nice places to visit and good local eateries. I truly couldn't fault this lodge at all, and I am somewhat of a perfectionist!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrMattT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

For starters, I wasn't so sure about booking at the Countisbury Lodge due to how few reviews were on Trip Advisor. I'm certainly glad I didn't let that stop me though because it is a wonderful B&B. The proprietors Linda and Patrick were very friendly and nice. They gave us tips on things to do in the area including good restaurants. We are not very tech savy so we didn't have internet access on our holiday, but Patrick and Linda were very nice to help us out with that. The full breakfast was very good and plenty of it. They have a small space with a picnic table and barbeque where there is a beautiful view overlooking Lynmouth. If you are of average fitness then you can easily walk down the hill into town so you really don't need to use your car if you're just going into Lynton/Lynmouth. The proprietors are very hospitable. Their house is beautiful. The food was great. The room was plenty big enough to accommodate all of our luggage and was beautifully decorated. What more can you ask for in a B&B? Give them a try if you're in Lynton/Lynmouth.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alpine79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is a lovely little hotel that is hidden away. After years of visiting Lynmouth we only found where it was a couple of years ago. They are only a small family hotel which rents about 5 rooms. The access is quite difficult, there is a carpark with lots of steps down to the hotel. We arrived in the dark and found it quite difficult as it is very dark due to trees and no lights around.
Pat & Linda were very friendly and made us most welcome. We were the only guests there but looks as if for breakfast you all sit round one table. Most of the food was locally made or grown locally.

Room Tip: Our twin room was at the top, the bathroom ceiling came down very low due to being in the roof. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murrays796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

What a find! Lovely peaceful place with great views across the valley. Lovely room, lounge and garden seats. Can watch the sunset over the sea. Breakfast tasty and well served. Friendly and helpful owners. You will not be disappointed.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

I would highly recommend a stay here, the room was lovely, clean and comfortable with stunning views and it was well decorated down to the dark blue tiles in toilet. I would stay here again. The owners were friendly and helpful gave us plenty of advice on places to go and things to do. Its a lovely Lodge, I bet its even more wonderful in the summer. Great location as well, I dont think anyone would regret picking this place over the others! Im surprised its not ranked number 1 actually.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Great b&b, friendly owners, nice clean rooms and some beautiful views over Lynmouth. Will be staying there again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benjamin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Me and my husband stayed here 2 nights over Easter, lovely host, excellent food and fabulous food, overlooks Lynmouth. The rooms are very clean.. Take your walking shoes and listen to the advise of owners. The only issue could have been a problem is the parking...However you do not need the car during stay, the village is only 10-15 min walk and there are plenty to do on foot. Would definitely recommend it to anyone for nice relaxing break

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank buket390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
250 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
485 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hillside House
Hillside House
#7 of 15 in Lynmouth
82 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Heatherville Hotel
The Heatherville Hotel
#2 of 15 in Lynmouth
310 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Captain's House
The Captain's House
#12 of 15 in Lynmouth
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Countisbury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Countisbury Lodge

Address: 6 Tors Park, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lynmouth
Price Range: £84 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Countisbury Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Countisbury Lodge is a delightful former Victorian vicarage full of charm and character and in one of the sunniest spots above Lynmouth. Situated high on a secluded and peaceful wooded hillside, with it's own parking and magnificent views over the West Lyn River, and picturesque village of Lynmouth and its harbour. Glorious walks are available direct from the property along the West Lyn River to Watersmeet as well as Countisbury Hill, Lynton and the Valley of the Rocks. Enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Countisbury Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Countisbury Lodge Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing