We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lynmouth's Traditional Fish and Chips Fish on the Harbour
Ranked #12 of 22 Restaurants in Lynmouth
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Really good”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

This is a great place to eat. The owners were very nice and took time to chat with us and even accommodated our 2 wet dogs too. Visited here 3 or 4 times and couldn't wish for a better place to take the kids and dogs. All cooked fresh so have to wait for food but we'll worth it. As a new family to the area it was great to have been made this welcome.

Helpful?
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    41
    14
    13
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cod N chips”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Very nice cod, it tasted sooooo light... Delcious, Chips weren't bad either... Went back next day and ate cockles..

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very good lunch”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I had organised a coach party to Lynton & Lynmouth and 16 of us arrived for lunch at Fish on the Harbour where we were made very welcome. I had to write out the orders which was a bit odd but we thoroughly enjoyed our cod, chips and mushy peas !!
When we return to L&L, we will certainly head back to the restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Fish and Chips.”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This was the the third time this year we had been to Lynmouth and had lunch at The fish on the Harbour. Having visited Lynmouth for many years we were always looking for somewhere special to eat on our visits, and luckily for us we can say we found it ! The Fish and Chips here are excellent , very tasty and plentiful. Last Sunday we came here and had Steak and Ale Pie, chips, peas and gravy....lovely. we like to try different things on the menu from time to time. The owners are very friendly and accommodating...nothing is to much trouble. Also worthy of mention is the cleanliness of the two toilets here too. We will certainly be back again , when we next visit Lynmouth. A big thumbs up from us !!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Having looked up restaurants in North Devon prior to our recent holiday, we planned a day visiting Lynton and Lynmouth and to have lunch at Fish on the Harbour. We found the owner/server/chef to be rude and abrupt and not at all welcoming. We did not get our drinks and had to ask for them once our food had arrived. Fish was nice but wouldn't rave about it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lynmouth's Traditional Fish and Chips Fish on the Harbour also viewed

Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Lynmouth's Traditional Fish and Chips Fish on the Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing