We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”
Review of The Bath Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bath Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We stayed for 3 nights. Staff very helpful. The breakfast was excellent. We will most certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unicorn1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2011

Great location, really friendly and helpful staff. We had a free upgrade with views over the harbour which made our short break even better. The bedroom was large with a small but adequate bathroom, only downside was no digital TV. The hotel welcomes dogs and will set up a table for breakfast in the gallery (they are not allowed in the restaurant) so you don't have to leave the dog alone in your room.Great freshly cooked breakfast and lots of tea and toast. Plan to return for another visit.
Lynmouth must be the most dog friendly town I have ever been to.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorraineahubbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Loveley character hotel, If your expecting Premier Inn don't go. Staff very good and friendly. Special thanks to the receptionist who went out of his way to help us get our luggage from the car to the room and back. He was always lovely to use and our dog

Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
Thank batman69Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Arrived at the Bath Hotel late in the afternoon after deciding not to travel to our intended destination. Saw a sign on the main road offering an excellent rate. Room was large and comfortable. Hotel was a little like Fawlty Towers in age and appearance, but not run as such!. Only thing to criticise is the rubber hose attachment from the fawcet in the bathtub when wanting to use as a shower. Full English breakfast was good and had dinner in the restaurant, food was good although service wasn't great.

Room Tip: Get 'walk-in' rate out of peak times
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobandWendy151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Only ate here at their restaurant (The Galley), didn't stay.

Standard tourist pub, nothing particularly good or bad with the place itself.

The food lets it down though. Out of our party of 6, no one complimented the food at all, they just ate it (everyone had been on the road for 6 hours and was starving). I had the roast and whilst they followed my request to have the gravy on the side, it looked like it was from a packet. Same opionion when I ate it.

As I say, nothing particularly bad but I can't find anything good to say about the restaurant either.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
Thank avatar777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

I believe that I last stayed at the Bath Hotel in Lynmouth close to forty years ago when I was a wee lad. I suspect it hasn't changed a lot in the meantime! That's not meant as a negative comment though, as it is perfectly fine.
Our bedroom certainly looked like it hadn't changed much since the seventies (rather dated furniture and fittings, including a wash-basin in the room rather than in the bathroom) - but it was warm, clean, recently painted, and with a wonderful view across the harbour. Big, deep bath, and a decent shower.
Public areas comfortable (in a slightly old-fasioned way), although a bit lacking in atmosphere as the hotel was pretty empty and various cardboard boxes were scattered around as the hotel was presumably stocking-up for the start of the new season.
In addition to the "cocktail bar" (closed when we were there) there is also a very jolly pub-style bar, popular with locals, with a lovely big wood-burner.
The usual cold buffet for breakfast, followed by a very nicely cooked Full English served by friendly staff.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeC_2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

Great Hotel, VERY clean,our room was spotless, its a victorian building so it has character.
Right by the Harbour, can see the sea from the window(at the front). Breakfast was fantastic, loads of choice. The staff and the service was second to none, they were great...we would go again....very good.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulagilliannotmooeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
496 reviews
0 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
319 reviews
17.1 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
203 reviews
17.1 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
764 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bath Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bath Hotel

Address: Harbourside | Lynmouth Street, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range: £84 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Bath Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bath hotel in Lynmouth offers spectacular sea views, excellent service and a warm welcome. With 20 en-suite rooms available for bed and breakfast or dinner, bed and breakfast. We also have a selection of dog friendly rooms at the hotel. The Ancient Mariner bar serves food and drink all day from 10AM. With a children's menu available, free WiFi and it is dog friendly. The Galley family room is open to residents and non-residents, serving local and seasonal food all day, dog friendly and great for families or big groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your The Bath Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bath Hotel Lynmouth
The Bath Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing