We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bath Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sinai House(Lynton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveller rating
123
88
43
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
88
43
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscocktail barno liftbar next doorspecial thanksthe hotel car parkancient marinerboxing daysuperior roomflights of stairsfirst floorpleasant hotelfamily roomplace to eatan upgradesausageleave the caran update
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
232 - 237 of 268 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2012

A massive thank you to Lee & Rachel for wonderful stay at wonderful hotel. Very well organised and they could not do enough to make us feel more welcome. The food was lovely, atmosphere great, room perfect and a fantastic location. We will be booking to go again very soon!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Fantastic location right by the harbour. The hotel is a little threadbare throughout with dated (and not in a good way) fixtures and fittings. Car parking is limited: during busy periods arrive early or park on the street. If you do have to park on the street, it's free from mid afternoon until midday the next day. Alternatively, there's a pay car park nearby for £4.50 per 24 hours. Our room was quite cramped, but it was one of the cheapest - they have larger but more expensive rooms. Breakfast was excellent, with all the usual things plus a great fruit salad. In general, the hotel is nothing special, but the location makes up for it - I recommend it on that basis.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I hadn't been back to this hotel for a good 5 years and didn't know quite what to expect. What I did get was a spotlessly clean and very comfortable, traditional hotel, with excellent food and friendly, attentive staff.
The menu choice is very good, with home cooked food and provided they are given sufficient notice, will accomodate for gluten/wheat intolerant people like me!
I would recommend The Bath as an excellent hotel for anyone considering exploring Exmoor and the N Devon coast that wants a comfortable base.
Good luck to the Hotel's hardworking management team and their staff.

CG

Room Tip: If you can run to it, an A Grade room is very worthwhile
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loopz17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We did enjoy our stay at this hotel, and as we were there for just one night, it worked well for us.
Good points:
Quaint hotel
Fantastic position in the middle of things
Fabulous views
Friendly restaurant staff
Clean throughout
Spacious restaurant
Lovely quaint front facing room...with sloping floors!
Beautifully tasty evening meal in the restaurant - Fish pie is gorgeous as is the Lamb shank

Bad points:
The 'bar' area is grotty...more like a working men's club atmosphere and the cream teas were disappointing - the plain scones (not offered fruit scones) tasted shop bought and microwaved
Irritating shower that would go quickly from very hot to cold for no reason
The dining room smelled very musty

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abbie0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Firstly let's get perspective, this is a review of a 2 star hotel, if you expect Ritz luxury or Michelin gourmet - read no further. If your looking for a welcoming stay in a spotlessly clean room complimented by attentive staff read on! The hotel is positioned centrally in the small seaside town of Lynmouth. We visited as a party of 9 celebrating a special birthday. Parking spaces are limited but we had no problem during our 2 night stay. Our room was adequately furnished, a little old fashioned, but spotlessly clean. He hotel has a comfortable lounge area, nice dining room and adjoining pub. Evening meals in the dining room were very good, plenty of choice of in the main wholesome traditional food. Breakfast was as you would expect fruit, cereal and juices followed by English or fish cooked breakfasts. Dining room staff were fantastic, and made our weekend on the evening of the birthday celebration. This isn't the smartest hotel, but what it lacks in glitz it compensates with warmth, we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JEBreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews