We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good things in life!”
Review of The Bath Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bath Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The good things in life!”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

If you want to feel welcome whereby nothing is too much trouble stay at The Bath Hotel. The hotel has a lovely warm feeling about it and it is down to the staff. Comfy, clean rooms, great breakfasts and in a wonderful central location for exploring a truly beautiful and unspoilt area. It's not 5 star or boutique but it has all you need to enjoy a home away from home experience and so feel completely relaxed. You won't want to leave!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BengalSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    80
    40
    6
    5
See reviews for
35
125
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We loved this hotel, the location was perfect and the room was huge. It was 3 floors up, but the front desk attendant was very helpful with our luggage. I was able to do a load of laundry at the hotel and we used their Wi-Fi for hours, unfortunately it was only in the lobby, but that didn't seem to bother the staff, having us around all that time. Breakfast was generous and delicious. Mostly what I will remember is the staff, who were excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

For £70.00 we had a very well appointed and spotlessly clean en suite room with a sea view. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was very good too. The hotel has a bar which sells decent ale and lager and it has a pool table. The location was perfect and with your car tucked away in the car park it is a brilliant location to walk from and explore the Lyn Valleys. The scenery is about as impressive as it gets in England. There are plenty of restaurants and bars in Lynmouth worth exploring. I have stayed in Lynmouth andr Lynton several times and I would put The Bath Hotel as best overall and definitely best value by far.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Once again we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Bath. It has a lovely spacious, old-worlde feel with log fires in lounge and bars. Good bar food and EXCELLENT breakfast and dinner in restaurant. All public areas and rooms clean and comfy. Amazing location by harbour, beach and river in Lynmouth. Walks from the hotel are breathtaking. Staff friendly and professional. We'll be back again before the end of the year!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

First of all the Bath Hotel is a fine big building in a perfect location right by the harbour in Lynmouth. You are looking out over the river, the sea and the wonderful scenic coastline and are close to the start of all the wonderful walks there are in this area. You are also near to the shops, pubs and restaurants though it is still a very quiet spot at night. Many places do not have parking in Lynmouth but this place has two car parks; one either side of the hotel. If you have a dog then this is one of the few places in the village to take them though only in certain specified rooms.
There is a large bar offering food, a smaller quiet bar, a restaurant and a comfortable lounge to read and unwind. Everywhere is beautifully clean and well kept throughout. As for the rooms well, some of them are in need of undating (particularly the ones where dogs can stay!) but at the top end of the scale there are some nice big rooms with great views judging by our envious peaks in the morning whilst the cleaners were in. Not fantastically appointed in the modern way but once again very clean and well turned out.
The staff are friendly enough and were very helpful on setting up a table in a separate room for breakfast for us and our dog. Breakfast was good with quite a few choices.
Any review must be based on the price paid and on this basis our experience was a good one. You are getting a hotel for guest house prices. The location alone makes it worth the money. Yes, the Bath is in need of a bit of investment but we have been several times now and will be returning before too long. We rather like it as it is at the price!

Room Tip: If you dont have a dog ask for a dog free room and the higher grade rooms are definately worth the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anth0ny45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We were quoted £70 per room as a preferential rate for a wedding party. I found out that the room only had a bath but no shower. If we wanted a shower, we would have to pay £85 for an "A" grade room which we did. We arrived to find a very basic, dated room with woodchip on the walls, gloss painted furniture and some flowery curtains from the 70's. The bathroom was so small, the sink wasn't even in it! We were prepared to put up with it until I found out that a friend of mine (at the same wedding and on the same basis) paid £70 for a Luxury room (normally £125 a night I believe). It had been recently decorated, had a leather bed, new bathroom suite etc. When I complained about the unfairness of it, I was offered a reduction of £10 per night which didn't even match the original price. It was VERY noisy at night, although you can't blame the hotel for the noise from people outside, apparently a bar along the road has live music on a Saturday night. On the plus side, the room was clean and the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WirleySwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I cannot praise this place enough. We'd stayed just once before in March 2012. We had taken our elderly dog there for a 'goodbye trip' they were wonderful and ensured we did not have to spend one second away from our baby. They made us up our own special table in the morning for breakfast, which is generous and delicious BTW. Our dog made a recovery whilst we were there, beach and pampering seemed to save him. This October, warned again that the same dog was dying. Called the hotel and luckily they had a room for us the following evening. We got there, they came out into the rain to meet their VIP guest, they even got someone to move out their van so we could park. They remembered us from our last visit! Even tho I had my husband with me they DID offer to carry up our luggage. Yet again, in the morning they'd made us up a special table so we could eat with our dog. Guess what? The dog has improved! He's eating again literally lifesavers!
People this is a period property, it is family ran. Don't expect identikit rooms with identikit bathrooms. Go to Travelodge if that's what you are after.
If you want charm, a beautiful quiet location, fantastic service and be sent off with a happy tummy and a saved pooch
Go here.
Wonderful

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank featherfusions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
467 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
308 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
189 reviews
0.2 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bath Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bath Hotel

Property: The Bath Hotel
Address: Harbourside | Lynmouth Street, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Bath Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bath hotel in Lynmouth offers spectacular sea views, excellent service and a warm welcome. With 20 en-suite rooms available for bed and breakfast or dinner, bed and breakfast. We also have a selection of dog friendly rooms at the hotel. The Ancient Mariner bar serves food and drink all day from 10AM. With a children's menu available, free WiFi and it is dog friendly. The Aubrey Cocktail bar offers delicious speciality cocktails from 6PM every day to residents and non-residents. The Galley family room is open to residents and non-residents, serving local and seasonal food all day, dog friendly and great for families or big groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, LateRooms, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bath Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bath Hotel Lynmouth
The Bath Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing