We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location”
Review of The Bath Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bath Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We found this hotel 'by accident' whilst visiting Lynmouth and we found a warm welcome from our hosts and a bonus was that they welcomed our little dog too. Beds were comfortable although they only offered twins but a nice touch was a 'doggie blanket'. Breakfast was good and varied. Was good to just walk out onto the main street of Lynmouth although parking was a bit hit and miss but we managed to squeeze into the car park eventually. The staff were friendly and a pleasure to talk to them about the town and its history. Will definitely return to this well run hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voyage48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

Once again Rachel, Lee and all the staff made all 14 of us so welcome including the children and 2 dogs. Food was outstanding as was service, cleanliness and friendliness of all staff, especially Kerry who went out of her way to make everything very special.

Special thanks to the 2 young chefs who made the 70th and 80th birthday treat exceptional!!

We have stayed before and will definitely return again!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pebbles19westmids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Just spent 2 nights there lovely hotel booked on spec exceeded expectations very clean, staff very helpful and pleasant, breakfast excellent stayed in room 21 overlooking seafront would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

For £35 each we had a double plus single bedded room, a little tired, but with bath. It was very quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was taken in the bright and sunny dining room and was excellent, freshly cooked, with a continental option, really well served by friendly staff. One group came in at about 6pm completely soaked, on a walking holiday. The staff did all they could to make them comfortable, even putting their boots to dry after stuffing them with newspaper. That's service! Very family friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CumbriaPippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My husband and I decided to have some time out and booked a room last minute 17th May 2014 at the Bath Hotel, we were pre-warned that there were stairs to the room and there was no view, we were wary of the stairs as I have poor mobility. We felt as it was only an over night stay we didnt need a sea view. The staff were helpful on our arrival and showed us the way to our room, my husband had mentioned about my walking problems on booking.We were quite surprised at how many steps there were to the room, and explained this to the young lady, who did offer us a room at the front of the hotel but it had seperate beds, so I persevered up the stairs, it took me a while and I was quite out of breath and exhausted by the time I reached our room. The room was disappointing, very small, and the television had no remote control . In its favour the staff are super friendly and the food in the hotels restaurant was excellent. I have stayed at the hotel previously and never experienced difficulties before, but have to say it was the worst nights sleep I have had in a while, our room must of been right by the pipes as all night long all we could hear was banging from the plumbing, it was awful and I ended up with a migraine due to lack of sleep and the noise. We did complain when we paid our bill, didnt get much of an apology, but was told they would try and sort it out for other guests. We would stay there again but would make sure we had a front facing room and also ask how many steps there might be.

Room Tip: Check how many stairs there are if you have mobility problems,also ask where in the hotel the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We booked a two night stay here due to the dog friendly nature of the hotel. On arrival we were upgraded to an 'A grade' room, mainly due to the fact that the walk in room rate was being displayed as £70 per night, £30 less than the rate we'd been given. The room was clean, with tea making facility, t.v and en suite bath. The view, which presumably accounted for the grade, was lovely, right across the harbour.
Decor was a bit tired, and definitely falls into the old fashion category, but as the cleaning standard was high, this could be over looked somewhat.
We didn't eat in the hotel in the evening, so can't comment on the standard, but the breakfast was excellent, good ingredients,good choice, and cooked to order. The service was polite and prompt, very efficient.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louise m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Very enjoyable Easter break here .Excellent welcome from the staff on reception who are all friendly .Room 6 our first room was extremely large with it's own set of comfortable chairs ,table and footstool and a view of the harbour while lying in bed . The hotel is ideally situated in the centre of Lynmouth ,it has the feel of not having altered much over the years but why change it if it works . The memorial hall for the 1952 flood is right next to the hotel and the Bath hotel features heavily in one photograph and doesn't seem to have altered in appearance from the outside since then although the building next to it was demolished by the floodwater .

The breakfasts where just about perfect with an option to order whatever variation on the usual stuff you want and kippers or smoked haddock as an alternative with the usual buffet of cereals and fruit on top . The service was prompt and efficent . After that little lot you have to get out and hike the trails to Watersmeet or the valley of rocks to burn some of it off although the cream tea at Watersmeet house probably puts it all back on again .

In fact we enjoyed it so much here and the weather being good we stayed another night .As someone had pre-booked our room we had to move rooms to number 23 this was smaller but still had a side view of the sea ,the move including all bags were sorted out by the staff while we were out .

Dogs are made extremely welcome here and having viewed a couple of rooms when moving to our second room and having been shown a non dog friendly room by mistake there is no discernible difference between these and the ones that accept dogs .

All in all I would stay here again without hesitation .

I think less mobile people might struggle here as most of the rooms (all ?) appear to involve climbing varying numbers of stairs with fire regulation doors being a further incumbrance with luggage . Mobile phone reception is patchy if not non-existent in Lynmouth but that's not down to the hotel of course . Wi-fi is only available in the reception area and there is a nominal charge of £2.00 to use this for the length of your stay which seems a bit penny pinching when there is plenty of free wi-fi in nearby pubs .This does not alter my five star assessment though and in fact it is good for the to be out of touch for a few days .

Room Tip: Room 6 has a view of the harbour .It's on the third floor though .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pontylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
491 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
756 reviews
17.1 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bath Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bath Hotel

Address: Harbourside | Lynmouth Street, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range: £67 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Bath Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bath hotel in Lynmouth offers spectacular sea views, excellent service and a warm welcome. With 20 en-suite rooms available for bed and breakfast or dinner, bed and breakfast. We also have a selection of dog friendly rooms at the hotel. The Ancient Mariner bar serves food and drink all day from 10AM. With a children's menu available, free WiFi and it is dog friendly. The Galley family room is open to residents and non-residents, serving local and seasonal food all day, dog friendly and great for families or big groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Bath Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bath Hotel Lynmouth
The Bath Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing