We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really cute - well worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Rising Sun Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Not the cheapest option in Lynmouth, but it's a buzz staying in something that dates to the 14th Century!

Rooms are very comfortable and perfectly nice, with great outlooks to the bay and the village.

The restaurant is great, too. Menu and food quality are outstanding for both dinners and breakfasts.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Just around the corner from the hotel is the cliff railway. Stroll around (2 mins) and catch this wa...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WH0A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
There are newer reviews for The Rising Sun Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 480 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

Stayed here a few times and the hotel and restaurant are just lovely and I would highly recommend it to anyone. Hotel is charming, very old with nooks and crannies all over the place, the restaurant food is gorgeous. Stunning location.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We went for a week of walking in Exmoor and stayed here. We tried to book a twin room for the week but because of availability were told we (my friend and I - not partners) would have to share a double bed on day 2.

However, the friendly manageress upgraded us to a double room each for the same price from day 2 onwards after rooms became available which was extremely generous.

My room was spacious and fitted out to a very high standard, my friend's room was over the pub and a little bit noisy before last orders at 11pm. Beds were very comfortable.

The food is exceptional, the full English breakfast was the best I have had and the poached egg was done to a turn all served with delicious coffee and hunks of granary bread. They also serve a tray of 10 oysters for £10 which is reasonable and make home made chips....believe me, that is a rarity these days. The quality of the food explains why the Rising Sun restaurant was mobbed every night whilst the other places in the village stood empty.

I have read other reviews on here complaining that the food should be traditional English Fayre but in my opinion if you want Steak and Kidney pudding every night you can go to a nearby pub such as the Blue Ball Inn, what the Rising Sun serve is unique in that part of England.

Regarding foreign staffing all I can say is that they all spoke perfectly understandable English - the young French waiter in the mornings was charming.

We noticed that some of the rooms had been decorated very tastefully and to a modern standard whilst others looked a bit dowdy and I think if the management upgraded all of their remaining rooms to the standard of the ones we stayed in, then it would make a vast improvement.

A final point for the management is that they really of need to improve their wifi internet access, a lot of us have to eke out short breaks while keeping an eye on work life these days and the slowness and non availability of the internet in some parts of the building was a bit of an issue for us.

Room Tip: Room 3 is quiet and spacious with good views of the sea.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasperJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We have just spent a great 3 nights at the Rising Sun. This Hotel is quite unique. If you are after huge rooms etc this place is not for you,but if you love a cosy historic and atmospheric place this is for you. Room 11 had a great view over the harbour to the dramatic cliffs.
The room was clean and comfortable the bathroom had a shower only but this functioned extreamly well with plenty of hot water.
We enjoyed the food in the resturant and breakfast was also good. The staff were friendly and helpful.
The beauty of this place is when Lynmouth quietens down in the evening and you are left with a great little pub,great views and seaside tranquility.
Highly reccomended but not if you want a huge suite and corperate hotel!

Room Tip: Number 11 had a great view,but ask for a sea view.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKTonyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Following a very disappointing stay elsewhere the previous night, The Rising Sun was always going to be an improvement. However, it really did provide just what we were after. Good, clean rooms, well appointed and quiet. We all slept well. Staff are very good, friendly and accomodating. They are not at all geared up for children but do make that quite clear. We got round that obstacle without to much trouble. Food is excellent, breakfast just as it should be. Lovely location, all in all a lovely place for a short break.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Askhams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Great little hotel, nice breakfast and great pub downstairs for the evenings

Room Tip: Sea view room
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itchy-chimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

The Good: The room we stayed in had just been refurbished and was lovely. We had a gorgeous view, and a door just outside our room taking us outside, which was handy, we ate in the restaurant on our secnd night (we stayed for 2) and the meal was really delightful, in a lovely setting and although expensive, I didnt think it was over the top for a restaurant quality meal and service and the wine list was good. I loved the breakfast, my husband less so because he ordered scrambled egg and it wasnt very good,

The Bad: The bathroom door lock and flush on the toilet need fixing, we had lunch on the first day and both of us left most if it because the fish wasnt properly cooked. Great shame, and overpriced for a bar meal.

The Ugly: Boxes of stuff in the residents lounge which spoilt it, and finding cling film in my breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the re-burbished rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaraLB70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
245 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
313 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments
0.2 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
128 reviews
17.1 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rising Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rising Sun Hotel

Address: Harbourside, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range: £122 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rising Sun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Rising Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Sun Hotel
Rising Sun Lynmouth
The Rising Sun Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing