We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It gets better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rising Sun Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“It gets better”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

This was our second weekend break at The Rising Sun. The staff were the same as in 2012, just as friendly and attentive, the beer was just as good. We stayed in room 5 again with its harbour view and quirky little shower room, recently refitted. This is in our view the best pub for miles around. It's a superb base for exploring Exmoor and visiting The Lynton & Barnstaple railway, or walking the cliffs. One thing to bear in mind is the parking because there is no car park. We found that at about 5.30 pm the day trippers vacate the spaces in the street opposite, the quayside, where parking controls then permit you to remain until 12 noon the next day. In any event there are pay and display car parks not too far away in the village. Do eat in, the restaurant is more expensive than the crowded bar but its good food and service throughout.

Room Tip: Room 5 or 10 for sea views and quirkiness
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    109
    36
    20
    11
See reviews for
47
318
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

We didn't say here but we did pop in for lunch. The menu is not child freindly as such but the good thing is the staff told us that before we sat down. We had the most delicious Brie and bacon sandwiches on their own homemade bread, it was served with salad and some lovely crisps. I would return but probably without the children. Sorry kids!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sydneyjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We ate twice here in the evening. On both occasions the food was excellent, my seafood dish was wonderful. Service was very good and the staff pleasant & welcoming. Do not expect cheap pub food here, it is a cut above. Were not staying in the hotel so cannot comment on the accomodation.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julieb204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Stopped off on Easter Saturday on a cold day. Had a lovely brie and bacon sandwich and my wife had a gorgeous fish finger sarnie. Can't complain on any of that.
The lady serving behind the bar was friendly, the polar opposite to the man who was curt and in a humpf. His shirt was old and dirty-not a good impression.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MGW140165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

First impressions as I stood outside the front door was I really didn't know what to expect when I went inside. This is a 14th Century part thatched pub/restaurant/hotel and whilst the appearance has a certain charm I was anxious as to what I would find. First impressions was a warm, comfortable interior. Clean and aesthetically pleasing on two counts- one if you liked old features and the characteristics that come with a 700 year old building,but also how enticing the décor made us feel. The owners and staff were welcoming and whilst there cannot be a straight wall in the building and the corridors were a little musty and part of a pleasure park fun house to walk down. The bedrooms, restaurant, lounge and food were extremely good. Lynmouth is a lovely place for that special get away and its quite romantic even in the poor weather we are experiencing. The country walks are exquisite and I know why this place was the inspiration for Lorna Doone. The Rising Sun is a very nice hotel overlooking the fishing harbour, serving a variety of local beers and cider with an extensive fresh fish and local produce menu in the restaurant.and a great base to explore the surroundings.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taffyabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in room 2, with dinner in the restaurant on both evenings. I've been visiting Lynmouth for over 40 years and have been with my partner over the last 10. We have always eaten in the restaurant whenever we've visited, but this was the first time we stayed in the hotel. The Rising Sun, and Lynmouth actually, has barely changed over the decades. The bar is the same locally loved, busy, happy, warm, welcoming place it has always been. The room was just as we expected. We only had to climb one flight of narrow, crooked stairs. Our room was fairly large, with a window almost at floor level. From our bed we had a direct view of The Rock House and the harbour. We had plenty of space, a generous comfy bed, crisp white bed linen, clean carpets. Personally I would have liked more than Nescafe and Tea on offer; herbal teas, hot chocolate, decaff coffee and some Devonshire biscuits would have been a welcome addition. That said, we were hugely comfy; everything was spotless; there was a fabulous hairdryer and very effective radiators (we had to turn them off!). The bathroom was less modern than we would have liked. The shower over the bath was poor and a little difficult to handle. That said, this in no way detracted from our enjoyment. Towels were fluffy & clean, laundered daily if you wished. I imagine there's only so much you can do in a 13th century building anyway.

Food was excellent, breakfast superb. Thick bacon, local sausages, perfect eggs & mushrooms. My only thought is I would have expected freshly squeezed juice. Bread was local and freshly baked, choice of jams plentiful. Service discreet & appropriate. Dinners are always superb here - we've eaten in both the restaurant & bar and the quality never changes. Seafood is particularly good, although one night I had a vegetarian tart which was fabulous. Apple & berry crumble with clotted cream and creme brulee both superb.

All in all, we weren't disappointed; we have now decided that not only is the oly place for dinner, it is also where we will want to stay in future. Quaint, full of character and a very high standard. We loved it!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kbworcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We had the pleasure of an overnight stay at The Rising Sun in late November. The staff were extremely helpful without intruding in your stay and couldn't do enough when asked. The food in the restaurant was excellent, with a fine menu, prompt discreet service and a warm friendly ambience. The hotel is a wonderful old Inn with narrow crooked corridors and higgledy piggledy stairways, but the rooms are warm and cosy with en-suite facilities. The view out across Lynmouth bay is fabulous allowing both the Sun and Moon rising to fill your window. Both Lynmouth and Lynton was, when we stayed entering the period on the run up to Christmas, so was very quiet with some places not opening at all until just before Christmas. The towns Christmas light switch on was imminent and obviously the start of the festivities for most establishments. It felt like we almost had the place to ourselves but it was nice to feel part of the community with people acknowledging you as you passed on the streets. The surrounding countryside is also perfect for short walks or more demanding hikes depending on your preference. Unfortunately the Victorian rock railway was undergoing extensive servicing/renovation leading to quite a hike up the steep winding cliff path, but that just reminds you what a amazing device this is!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.2 mi away
East Lyn House
East Lyn House
#3 of 15 in Lynmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rising Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rising Sun Hotel

Property: The Rising Sun Hotel
Address: Harbourside, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Rising Sun Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Rising Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Sun Hotel
Rising Sun Lynmouth
The Rising Sun Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing