We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good place to find yourself” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rising Sun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rising Sun Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A good place to find yourself”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We have stayed at this hotel a couple of times before and can't wait to visit again. The staff are really friendly and welcoming, the rooms lovely and clean and the view to die for. It has a lovely atmosphere and you really feel like you have entered another world, a place to come and de-stress, thank you.

Room Tip: Room 4 have a lovely slipper bath with a wonderful sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    109
    36
    20
    10
See reviews for
47
310
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

This 14th century pub has been upgraded into a high quality hotel. The room was small as demanded by its age, but refurbed to a high spec. Pleased with the queen sized bed, even though it put further demands on space. The food was award-winningly good in the evening and breakfast. No car-park, unfortunately, but we managed street parking without trouble. Friendly staff. Close by the cliff railway which takes you up to Lynton - really good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Totham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

I really like Lynmouth. The hotel is also a pub, right on the harbour side. It's 14th century with loads of character. My room was quirky and comfortable with a harbour and sea view. Dinner was really nice as was the service and we ended the evening in the bar where there was plenty of life and good beer. Breakfast is cooked for you and is excellent, again the service is efficient and served by pleasant and courteous staff.
Lynmouth is a magical place, close to Exmoor. The museum is worth a visit. It is dedicated to the flood in 1952 that took 34 lives and the story of the rebuilding of the town.
Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Harbour views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Disappointing! Nice location on the harbour, but room very average, BBC TV fixed on Wales for some bizarre reason, stairs were extremely steep and narrow, no view from our room - except of the flues from the kitchen - and the bath was simply unsafe; four foot high to step into, no bath edge or shelf to put anything once you were finally in, it would be completely impossible to use for anyone elderly! Breakfast OK, nothing special.

Room Tip: You would need to pay extra for a sea view to get any outlook, and avoid the bath in Room 9 at all c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avishayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

I've stayed before in the main part of the hotel, but opted for a little tranquility this time and booked Shelley's Cottage. It was delightful, and we both enjoyed a perfect nights sleep, given the past two nights at The Archangel in Frome were somewhat noisey. The tester bed is incredibly comfortable. Given we were blessed with tremendous weather, we were able to enjoy a relaxing morning on the terrace, which overlooks Lynmouth town. The views from the front of the cottage, are truly amazing. Food and wine is devine, as is the Full English breakfast. That'll be sure to see you through till the evening. Staff are a delight. I'll be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoobzMcGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Spring Bank week, my husband and I took our fox terrier Lily and stayed in "Shelley's Cottage" whcih is owned by The Rising Sun. It was lovely, we were all made really welcome and became a reguakr sight in the bar and outside sitting on the wall drinking copius amounts of Exmoor Stag. We ate in the restuarant and in the bar and the food was first class, as was the breakfast the choice and quality of the food was excellent. I hope to go back there and would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barlborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Spent one night in this delightfully cosy hotel! Do not be put off by the cramped reception and seriously aged and rickety stairs. Our room, No 2, was a delight,up to date, roomy and very tastefully decorated! With a view over the harbor through a lovely leaded window and a really good sized bathroom, we could happily have stayed on!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeeBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.2 mi away
East Lyn House Hotel
East Lyn House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Lynmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rising Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rising Sun Hotel

Property: The Rising Sun Hotel
Address: Harbourside, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Rising Sun Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Rising Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Sun Hotel
Rising Sun Lynmouth
The Rising Sun Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing