We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced bar food and drinks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rising Sun Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Decided to take a trip to Watersmeet and then drove to Lynmouth for lunch. We were appalled at the Rising Suns food and drink prices and find it embarrassing that visitors on their summer holiday are charged so much for cheap wine and bar snacks. Apparently, this pub has a local name - The Rising Prices!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank mews12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend break and we really liked the hotel,location,rooms, food and surrounding area.However on Saturday afternoon the bar was very busy - table sharing - and therefore crowded which is understandable as obviously popular.Had the bar been crowded just with people it would have been OK but for those who are not dog lovers the number of dogs allowed in bar really was far too high with 3 under the table next to us and more on other tables ( one actually sitting on table top at one point ). As a bar that serves food I find this unacceptable for those who do not want to eat & drink with a dog as company. I understand this is a difficult situation all round but it really did put me off what would otherwise have been a really good hotel bar & I think there should at least be some control in areas such as hygene with dogs on tables - perhaps some house rules - and of course dog owner training !

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colleywobbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Love this hotel. Just spent 3 days there with our family and little dog and we all love it absolutely. No complaints whatsoever and we look forward to our return visit. We were amazed to learn it is only 2* as it is far morelike a 4* butwere told it is because it doesn't have a car park. This isn't a problem as there are spaces outside the hotel and car parks very close by.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Website refers to self catering but there are no cooking facilities so better to think of shelleys as a detached hotel room. Great position and friendly staff. A bit over priced. Nice breakfast with a good selection.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShellBella81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Stayed when twin brother came to visit from Australia...what England is all about!!! Beautiful, clean, welcoming and cosy place to stay. First class food, comfortable...worth every penny!!! Walking in surrounding countryside is breathtaking!!! Also stayed here with partner, didn't want to leave!!!! :)

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Four of us stayed here at the end of the Two Moors walk. The rooms were very comfortable and clean and the bathrooms. although small were very well appointed.

We had dinner and I have to say the service let the place down, although the food was very good. We waited a long time to be served and in the end had to ask the waitress to come and take our order for drinks. I agree with a previous review that an extra couple of staff would have made a lot of difference. We also had the same experience with breakfast the following morning - luckily we were not in a hurry.

If the service had been better then so would the review.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quokka2750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

What a shame! This place could be fantastic. So many little things let it down which I believe could be greatly improved with an extra couple staff. After being seated in the restaurant we waited 30 minutes before getting a drink, I tried to attract the waiters attention but this was impossible. The food I have to say was excellent. Our room was never made up properly for the 3 days we were there. The first night the towels were never changed, biscuits and bubble bath was never replenished. Only small things I no but disappointing. I can see they have obviously spent a lot of money refurbishing the room we were in an I have to say the quality was good. But that alone fails to make a good hotel. This is the first time I have ever wrote a review but feel it is such a shame. This place could be fantastic, what a shame!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherrytrifle1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
258 reviews
0 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
319 reviews
17.1 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
648 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rising Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rising Sun Hotel

Address: Harbourside, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range: £126 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rising Sun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Rising Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Sun Hotel
Rising Sun Lynmouth
The Rising Sun Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing