We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and a nice atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rising Sun Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We have just spent two nights at the Rising Sun.
The location is great, right next to the harbour, our room was fine although a little small it did have a decent bath and plenty of hot water.
We ate in the bar on one night and in the restaurant the other. the food is the same in both (and the same price). The lemon sole, fish and chips, ox cheek and herring roes were all first rate. the chicken was not so good.
All the staff were friendly and helpful which, together with the busy atmosphere, made the stay and enjoyable one.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShropshireOldfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

Our room had brilliant views and was in a good location. The room was clean and comfortable. Very handy that certain rooms allow dogs. Very good service, and staff very helpful. The restaurant served good food, and the breakfast was good in the morning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rowrow880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Lovely location, and a beautiful harbour side building, full of character and quirkiness, the slantining floors and low beems were an adventure in themselves after a few too many drinks in the bar. We were staying as a couple with my Baby son ( under a year) the staff were incredibly attentive and helpful, always ensuring the whole families needs were catered to, a high chair was always set up for us on arrival to meals,and the staff couldnt of done more to ensure we enjoyed our stay, although children are not aloud in the main restaurant in the evenings, we were assigned a table just away from the bar which we actual better with a samll child. The food was delicious very high quality, AMAZING seafood ,highly recommend the fish platter and the bar prices and food were not unreasonable, do not expect chain hotel food prices as it is NOT chain food quality.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back to lynmouth and the Rising Sun soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vikkie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We have stayed at the Rising Sun at Lynmouth on and off for 20 years and I am delighted to say that this is the best since the Jeune family (who owned the hotel when we began visiting) moved on.

Don't expect chain hotel-type uniformity here. This place is ancient, lop-sided, quirky BUT ideally situated alongside the harbour and once again serving really excellent food. We love to lay in bed with the window open listening to the sounds of the sea and the chink of the cables on the yachts moored in the little harbour. The bar is warm and welcoming and always busy. You need to book for the restaurant and the meal we had there was excellent in every way. Superb breakfast completes the picture. It's a bit on the expensive side, but for a treat - you're worth it!

Room Tip: Go for the sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We were disappointed to find that for £130 B&B per night we had a small room with no bath and a dreary hospitality tray, but we did have a fantastic sea view. We received a warm welcome from the receptionist, and a superb meal in the dining room. Breakfast was a little disappointing the next morning. We were unable to book a table in the dining room on the second night so ate in the very crowded bar. The food was great, but we were charged the same price and the waitress flatly refused to bring the bread basket, which seemed rather mean! I would happily eat here again but consider the accomodation to be overpriced.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marian1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Situated on the side of the harbour, this is a very pretty pub which is on all the postcards!

Shared a seafood platter for lunch one day and homemade fish finger sandwiches another day; both of which were good quality and very tasty. Not cheap but good food

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MerryFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Me and my partner and his son visited this pub on the last night of our holiday just for a nightcap. We have been to Lynton many times and this pub is quite beautiful so we've always wanted to go in. It's very inviting on the outside but this soon changed when we went inside.

We were served by the rudest most miserable woman I've ever come across . I asked what ciders they do which she just huffed and read out a list then looked at me with such a glare it made me feel on edge . Whilst I was deciding my partner and his son ordered a drink . My partner tried to make light hearted conversation with the woman but she didn't even acknowledge him speaking. The whole time her face looked like a bulldog chewing a wasp. We took our drinks outside and enjoyed the scenery there instead.

What a shame as we would of liked to of eaten there sometime when we return to Lynton next year but never in a million years would I want to give this place a penny of our money when you are treated like this. Awful

To the barmaid- If you ever read this - cheer up you miserable thing you only live once.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
11  Thank Starble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
261 reviews
0 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
656 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
338 reviews
0.9 mi away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rising Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rising Sun Hotel

Address: Harbourside, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range: £132 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rising Sun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Rising Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Sun Hotel
Rising Sun Lynmouth
The Rising Sun Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing