We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Rising Sun Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Billingsley, Shropshire
1 review
“Love the place”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We have been coming to this hotel for near to 15 years now. Rarely missed a year. Just stayed in Shelley's cottage with our dog for the first time (taking the dog and shelleys cottage). Lovely to be able to take the dog and he was left in his crate during dinner. Food was awesome as usual.The thing I love most about the place is it the one place I have been where I can truely relax. No mobile access, nothing. Beautiful location and very olde worldly hotel. That is my two-penneth. In answer to some criticisms on this sight though here are my thoughts. Too many dogs in the bar? Sometimes there can be but it is a small bar and if you allow dogs then you can't limit the number. Dogs on the table? That is not the fault of the hotel, that is a crap owner. Food prices ? Not cheap but in line with other local establishments. To be fair they are pretty good considering the location and quality (and portion sizes). Small rooms ?? This one made me laugh, its a collection of several hundred year old thatched fishing cottages linked together. Of course some are small and odd. Thats the attraction of the place. Each room is so different that they would need a seperate price per room which is daft. Luck of the draw or book early. Miserable staff ? Never when I have been there but I guess anyone can have an off day. Drinks are dear but they are everywhere. This is not a wetherspoons. You have to decide is this the sort of place you are looking for. If not then go elsewhere in Lynmouth, there are many other great places.

My one thought would be to have a sperate bar menu with different meals at slightly reduced prices as the bar area is more cramped and bustling and food prices should probably reflect this. Obviously still offer the restaurant menu at normal price but provide alternatives (they used to). Other than that, I love the place. If you want spacious, bright and clinical then go elsewhere. If you want quircky, unusual, quaint, magical then this is the place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    116
    37
    21
    12
See reviews for
49
337
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We have just spent two nights at the Rising Sun.
The location is great, right next to the harbour, our room was fine although a little small it did have a decent bath and plenty of hot water.
We ate in the bar on one night and in the restaurant the other. the food is the same in both (and the same price). The lemon sole, fish and chips, ox cheek and herring roes were all first rate. the chicken was not so good.
All the staff were friendly and helpful which, together with the busy atmosphere, made the stay and enjoyable one.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShropshireOldfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Our room had brilliant views and was in a good location. The room was clean and comfortable. Very handy that certain rooms allow dogs. Very good service, and staff very helpful. The restaurant served good food, and the breakfast was good in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rowrow880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Lovely location, and a beautiful harbour side building, full of character and quirkiness, the slantining floors and low beems were an adventure in themselves after a few too many drinks in the bar. We were staying as a couple with my Baby son ( under a year) the staff were incredibly attentive and helpful, always ensuring the whole families needs were catered to, a high chair was always set up for us on arrival to meals,and the staff couldnt of done more to ensure we enjoyed our stay, although children are not aloud in the main restaurant in the evenings, we were assigned a table just away from the bar which we actual better with a samll child. The food was delicious very high quality, AMAZING seafood ,highly recommend the fish platter and the bar prices and food were not unreasonable, do not expect chain hotel food prices as it is NOT chain food quality.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back to lynmouth and the Rising Sun soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vikkie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We have stayed at the Rising Sun at Lynmouth on and off for 20 years and I am delighted to say that this is the best since the Jeune family (who owned the hotel when we began visiting) moved on.

Don't expect chain hotel-type uniformity here. This place is ancient, lop-sided, quirky BUT ideally situated alongside the harbour and once again serving really excellent food. We love to lay in bed with the window open listening to the sounds of the sea and the chink of the cables on the yachts moored in the little harbour. The bar is warm and welcoming and always busy. You need to book for the restaurant and the meal we had there was excellent in every way. Superb breakfast completes the picture. It's a bit on the expensive side, but for a treat - you're worth it!

Room Tip: Go for the sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We were disappointed to find that for £130 B&B per night we had a small room with no bath and a dreary hospitality tray, but we did have a fantastic sea view. We received a warm welcome from the receptionist, and a superb meal in the dining room. Breakfast was a little disappointing the next morning. We were unable to book a table in the dining room on the second night so ate in the very crowded bar. The food was great, but we were charged the same price and the waitress flatly refused to bring the bread basket, which seemed rather mean! I would happily eat here again but consider the accomodation to be overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marian1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Situated on the side of the harbour, this is a very pretty pub which is on all the postcards!

Shared a seafood platter for lunch one day and homemade fish finger sandwiches another day; both of which were good quality and very tasty. Not cheap but good food

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MerryFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
242 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
310 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
126 reviews
17.1 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
714 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lyn Valley Hotel
The Lyn Valley Hotel
#1 of 15 in Lynmouth
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rising Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rising Sun Hotel

Property: The Rising Sun Hotel
Address: Harbourside, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rising Sun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Rising Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Sun Hotel
Rising Sun Lynmouth
The Rising Sun Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing