We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rising Sun Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Booked a stay here off season with zero notice. Comfortable room with a beautiful view over the harbour and up the valley. Excellent food in the restaurant/bar, and an excellent breakfast the next morning (the coffee was the only thing that let it down slightly). Friendly staff and really good local atmosphere in the pub. Lovely place to stay as well, with terrific scenery nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iainsouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

We spent three nights at the Pub/Hotel/Restaurant. The ascent to the rooms has to be seen to be believed with very narrow stairs and sloping corridors and rooms. The room was very traditional but comfortable, what you should expect of a 14th century building. The food and drink was excellent but not cheap, never the less offering good value for money. The bar and restaurant staff were very friendly.
There are some fabulous walks in the area, eg, Watersmeet House, The Glen Lyn Gorge and The valley of the Rocks.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayGee338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We never stayed in the hotel but visited the pub and ate so cannot comment on the accommodation. The setting is very good being right down by the harbour and the old charm of the place is excellent. We ate the cod and chips, as someone previously mentioned it was a little on the expensive side at £12.95 but I have to say that was the finest piece of cod I have ever eaten, the fillet was really flaky and the thickest I have ever seen along with a beautiful beer batter, the chips were what I call "real chips" cooked beautifully. Looking around at other meals being served the crab dishes looked amazing so i'll be trying that on my next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This is a 14th Century Inn right next to Lynmouth harbour. Being so old it has narrow steep uneven stairs which may cause an issue for the less mobile.
However it is absolutely old English charming, yet at the same time the room we were staying in was very well equipped and beautifully presented. There was a lovely sea view, and even if you don't opt for a sea view there is a sitting room on an upper level (have to admit to losing my bearings) which has view.
Had excellent evening meal in the very small restaurant which made the stay all the more special.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark201105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed at another hotel in Lynmouth but went to the Rising Sun for dinner one evening.Its a lovely pub very old and picturesque but we had fish and chips which were nice but vastly overpriced at £12.95 when the hotel a couple of doors down was doing them for half of that.
What spoiled it for us though was the landlady who stood at the bar gossiping with her mates and loudly talking about their evenings out and how many times they had been sick on there way home in great detail!!!.Not very nice when you are eating and not very proffesional !!! let alone in a pub that expensive.
Try somewhere else to eat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobsmum123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Well stay in this room if you pay much less than £130/night, and like black mould around the very small shower. The current pictures are not of this room, be warned! I did not see any other rooms so may be OK. I will try to upload pics and video of The Luxury Bathroom. The only thing is this is a marvelous area, stunning scenery. We were offered another room but as only there one more night could not be bothered to move as the room to move to was in the annexe and apparently smaller. At the time we could get no internet signal so could not check pics online, should not have paid full bill in hindsight.

Room Tip: Not Room 3, ask for details of sizes of rooms here if you are of larger build or infirm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Spent three nights at this old inn, whilst exploring Exmoor and surrounding areas. Had one meal in the bar and one in the restaurant, both excellent, but make sure you book prior to your visit or when you book in, as it gets very busy. Our room (9) was on the third floor and was well worth the adventure of getting to it via narrow corridors, steep narrow stairs and sloping floors; once there it was a comfortable, clean and cosy. There were views of the thatched roof, but you could just see the sea, and the dawn skies were spectacular. There was a small, tall modern bath with shower attachment. Some of these features may be a bit tricky for elderly or infirm guests but the whole place suited us perfectly. There is no car park but plenty of parking near by. It comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
262 reviews
0 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
324 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
205 reviews
7.2 mi away
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
663 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rising Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rising Sun Hotel

Address: Harbourside, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range: £134 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rising Sun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Rising Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Sun Hotel
Rising Sun Lynmouth
The Rising Sun Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing