We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stormy weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rising Sun Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Stormy weekend”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Fantastic way to start 2014!! We arrived on the thursday to be adviced by the locals to move the car to a high point could get wet!! They certainly were right we woke up at 6am to watch the waves crashing on the harbour. Fantastic sight to see the power of the waves. The hotel is divine with lovely friendly staff. Tim is a true gent getting wet to get our newspaper much appreciated. The food was excellent the liver starter, best i had ever tasted. Well done to everybody who made our weekend most enjoyable.

Room Tip: Room 2 faces the harbour a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawn190762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    112
    37
    20
    11
See reviews for
47
323
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Arrived at the 14th century 'Rising Sun' at dusk , and the welcome was warm and friendly.The room was very much to our liking. This is a quality step back in time in what is obviously a much loved and well looked after business .The panneling and decor throughout had a fantastic feel good factor.This was all topped off by a superb 3 coarse meal in the restaurant .Breakfast was equally good.A great nights stay!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mojoho9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, England.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Visited just after Christmas 2013 just for a quick bite to eat around lunchtime whilst visiting beautiful Lynmouth and it's a lovely little unspoilt traditional pub right in the Harbour area of the village. Drinks and service were good and we ordered a sandwich each and all were very good indeed, came with a nice side salad and crisps too. Could possibly do with a bit of tender care and attention as well as a lick of paint but overall it's fine and will definitely return.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SCOTT2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This small friendly hotel is excellent. The welcome is genuine and warm. The bedroom we had(12) had a fantastic view from the window, it was clean and comfortable with all you could need. The dinner we had in the bar was beautifully cooked, as was the breakfast. Lynmouth is a lovely town and if you fancy a visit I thoroughly recommend staying at The RisingSun.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Great pub in the harbour,small inside the bar area so in summer most people hang outside where you can watch the sea and surfers.

Idyllic really and worth visiting, food good too.Restaurant can be booked, and is a must in summer.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This is a great place to watch a storm and enjoy a nice atmosphere and really nice (if expensive) food..

Stone bench outside is the spot for people watching in the summer and you get to see all the surfers paddling out to the break.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Sorry couldn't give 5 for overall as didn't stay, we only ate. Had some of the nicest food in a long time. And the chips were the best chips all of our party have had in a long time. All other food and service was brilliant. Thanks for having us. 'Icarus'

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Icarus1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
232 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
298 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
East Lyn House
East Lyn House
#4 of 15 in Lynmouth
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rising Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rising Sun Hotel

Property: The Rising Sun Hotel
Address: Harbourside, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Rising Sun Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Rising Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Sun Hotel
Rising Sun Lynmouth
The Rising Sun Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing