We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rising Sun Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Anniversary weekend”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Lovely stay in a beautiful hotel, staff were very helpful and friendly. Room was cosy and charming with views over the harbour .Food in restaurant was excellent, Hotel is ideally situated for nice long walks.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    115
    37
    21
    11
See reviews for
48
332
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The Rising Sun is such a friendly hotel, conveniently placed right next to the harbour, lots of walks, all on the flat.

This hotel is brilliant. The food is outstanding and such a variety of choices to chose from. Well done Clare, Tony and team. We shall return. Shelleys Cottage has incredible views of the beach and the valley. Your own little cottage, all its needs are the 7 dwarfs!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Lovely hotel with friendly staff and cosy rooms overlooking the harbour. The restaurant was impressive with local fish the best idea. I really enjoyed the place and would definitely stay again next time I'm in the area. Just around the corner from the water funicular to lynton.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We booked 3 nights in Shelley's Cottage for the first part of our honeymoon. This was the most idyllic and romantic setting we could of hope for. The cottage was cosy and perfect for our first night as a married couple. The staff were very accommodating and the food in the restaurant was fantastic. We could not fault the hotel in any way and we plan to make an annual trip here to celebrate our anniversary.

One word of warning watch where you park the car, as at very high tides the road tends to flood, but again the staff gave us good directions for parking.

A big thank you to the staff of the Rising Sun Hotel for making our stay so special.

Darrell + Fiona

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darrell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Coincidence that it was Valentine's night when we arrived. Restaurant was tastefully decorated, staff perfect. Bathroom was so clean and shiny we needed dark glasses! Food rivalled best London restaurants. My fish was perfectly cooked.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gillian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Lovely Sat night stay in Feb - we stayed in room 7 which even without a sea view, was wonderfully cozy and had a huge shower - all of which was spotless. The place has a wonderful old feel to it, with uneven floors and ceilings emphasising the history. We had dinner there too and again it was excellent. Lots of choices for breakfast and all cooked well. Romantic and well worth going - stepping out the next day into a cracking spring day with blue skies topped it off!

Room Tip: Room 7 nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rinkyandmerlin28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepton Mallet
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We booked a night at the Rising Sun as a treat for our parents 50th wedding anniversary
6 of us arrived to find the highest tide and storms for 17 years
We sat down for dinner to have the power cut with no way of leaving because of flooding........the staff were absolutely fantastic taking care of all us in candle light and made it a night we will never forget.......thank you at the Rising Sun
The rooms and facilities were superb and spotless
We will book again definitely
Tim,Anna Kevin and Ann Les and Jenny Hodges

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
308 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
487 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lyn Valley Hotel
The Lyn Valley Hotel
#1 of 15 in Lynmouth
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rising Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rising Sun Hotel

Property: The Rising Sun Hotel
Address: Harbourside, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Rising Sun Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Rising Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Sun Hotel
Rising Sun Lynmouth
The Rising Sun Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing