We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Rising Sun Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Bath Hotel(Lynmouth)
US$128
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$128
Toprooms.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$181
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (522)
Filter reviews
522 results
Traveller rating
319
128
39
22
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
319
128
39
22
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrising sunthe puboysterscrabthatched rooflow ceilingssea viewbar menugreat atmosphererestaurant was fully bookedexmoor goldclub sandwichsmall harbourweekend breaksitting roomthe cliffhome made
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
309 - 314 of 522 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I arrived here at short notice, a refugee from a damaged tent. The room was smal but beautiful, and the bed more comfy than my bed at home. Great location, friendly staff, and the food was excellent too. I'm definitely going back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rising Sun V, Front Office Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Our rooms do vary in size due to the age and character of our building. We are very pleased that your room met with your expectations and the bed was very comfortable. Thank you for your comments about our friendly staff and excellent food. I will make sure that they are passed on. We look forward to seeing you again at The Rising Sun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My Husband and I stayed at the Rising Sun for 3 nights from 9th to 12th July. We paid £345 for our stay. Our room was very small.The bed was also very small. We were unable to eat in the restaurant due to poor organisation by the staff. There are better places to stay in Lynmouth which have far better facilities and rates. Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Not at this hotel
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Sandie1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rising Sun V, Front Office Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us, and we apologise that you had issues with your stay. Our hotel offers en-suite bedrooms, all with a television, and tea and coffee making facilities. Once a home for fishermen, The Rising Sun hotel has a wealth of crooked staircases, narrow passageways, sloping floors and low beams therefore retaining its old world charm. We once again apologise that you did not enjoy your stay and wish you all the best in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Picture postcard setting by the sea, bit difficult parking during the day because of the tourist in the village. However, the reception was excellent and the room had a lovely sea view. Rooms are petit, but that was OK - bathroom was clean and modern. The bar was busy and there was a great atmosphere. The best part of the stay was without a doubt the restaurant, absolutely first class, well done to all who made this a great stay.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MrMez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

If you are visiting Lynmouth then a visit to the Rising Sun is a must. Food was fab - crab slate is a must. Def want to go back. Staff we're welcoming and service first class. Dogs are welcome. A good old fashioned pub serving good food - a hard find these days

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The last part of the 2 Moors Way into Lynmouth is very tough and we were very glad to see the Rising Sun !! Everyone was friendly and welcoming and, after squeezing up the narrow staircase, we were shown into a very well-appointed room with a lovely view of the harbour.
We sat outside in the sun for drinks before going in for dinner and both meat and fish dishes were excellent. To top off the evening we walked around the harbour and watched the best sunset I have ever seen in UK.
We had to have an early breakfast the next day and both this and our taxi were organised with no fuss - thanks Tim.
We'd had a great week's walking and this really did bring it to an excellent conclusion.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NomadicTeachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews