We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, Refreshing and Restful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rising Sun Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2010

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Rising Sun which happened to fall over Valentines Day. The Hotel is quaint and cosy and has views which simply cannot be bettered. The bar is welcoming, the rooms were lovely and the staff friendly and efficient. The food was excellent, lacking only a fillet steak on the menu!! The red rose on Valentines and champagne and oysters made up for that though. A most enjoyable stay, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roomwithaview21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2010

I travel a lot with business and usually stay in one of the chains but with the closest being about an hour away I had one night at this hotel but I have to say that the room and en-suite were very clean and tidy, freeview television on a modern LCD television with the usual channels. The food in the restaurant was excellent and the staff were friendly. The view over the harbour was very nice even with it being winter. The only problem is lack of mobile signal in the area, not even GPRS signal so it would be good if wifi could be available for the business traveller to collect emails and do on-line work in the evenings.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartynRHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2010

We took advantage of the Winter special offer to stay again that this lovely hotel/pub by the sea. We stay in this area to make the most of the walking opportunities. The generous breakfasts really set us up for each day's walk. We also enjoyed a meal in the bar on the Saturday evening.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gullymog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2009

great hotel. good value. fantastic food. staff very friendly. I was down there for work and spent three nights there. The only thing that would have made my life easier as a business traveller was access to wi-fi to get my e mails but I ended up relaxing instead! Will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2009

We recently stayed at the picturesque 'Rising Sun' in Lymouth, a pretty thatched 14th century inn. Prior to leaving, we had read several negative 'Trip Advisor' reviews and were somewhat fearful of what awaited us. We needn't have worried! 'The Rising Sun' is an absolutely super hotel, we could not fault it in any way. Our room was delightful with its rich colours and comfy bed; staff were extremely helpful, friendly and kind; the intimate, candlelit, oak-panelled dining room was a delight (always full), and the food consistently excellent. Set in a stunning location, what more could we ask? We'd definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VignaleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

We have just returned from a weekend at the Rising Sun, we have stayed there every year at least once, sometimes more. The food was excellent, and the hotel staff all very polite and friendly, nothing was too much trouble and they served you with a smile, we recommend them to anybody who wants a relaxing comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spadaymargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

We booked the Rising Sun a few nights before going to Lynmouth and were given a discount of £50 off the usual rate of £150 for a couple B&B. For £150 you would expect a great room and excellent service. Starting with the positive the setting is great and the food in the bar is very good with a good atmosphere. The room we stayed in was very downbeat, old telly and a shower that dribbled water. The annoying bit was we had a nice meal in the bar and a good evening, however were kept awake until 1am with the noise from the bar which was from all the locals who frequent the Rising Sun at the weekend. They state that no food can be eaten on the premises unless it was purchased at the Hotel. All in all over priced with an arrogant attitude where the customer comes second, try the numerous other places locally before booking in here!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonnyk1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
261 reviews
0 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
656 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
337 reviews
0.9 mi away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rising Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rising Sun Hotel

Address: Harbourside, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range: £132 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rising Sun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Rising Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Sun Hotel
Rising Sun Lynmouth
The Rising Sun Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing