We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner great, but brekfast was dissapointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rising Sun Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Certificate of Excellence
swindon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dinner great, but brekfast was dissapointing”
Reviewed 23 January 2011

we stayed just for the night and had a wonderful dinner and a great nights sleep (apart from a 60 second interuption with the noise of our upstairs neighbours bonking). the trouble came at breakfast where we ordered a full english and poached egg and poached Haddock. my Haddock looked great as did the egg. unfortunately the egg had been poached in too much cider vinager and therefore had a strong vinegar taste and the Haddock was not completely cooked. i cant be sure but I think that it may have been poached earlier and reheated. However what i can be sure of is that the full English was way below what was expected. The bacon and sausage had been reheated (confimed by looking at what was being done in the kitchen when we checked out (the chef was using his fingers to check the temprature of the bacon after it had been reheated under the grill ) and had been initially baked not grilled. the bacon had been folded and the baking had not browned the fat. the tomato seemed to have been microwaved and not grilled. it was a shame that the breakfast ruined the stay. it was a shame due tio the fact the dinner and the service had been great.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillSeward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    108
    36
    20
    11
See reviews for
46
314
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

We didn't stay at the Rising Sun but had lunch there in January 2011. We had crab and coronation chicken sandwiches with a basket of chips and they were very nice. They are pricey at nearly £7.00 each but the quality was good enough for the price.

The home-made bread is good, the fillings fresh; the parsnip crisps and chips a little greasy but fine.

The service is a little bit aloof touristy even in the winter months, but the bar area is pleasant (they wouldn't let us sit in the restaurant when we asked!) and the food arrived promptly, and we were able to order quickly despite it being fairly busy.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riotstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We have recently spent our third christmas break at the rising sun, and it is absolutely outstanding. The pub is totally unspoilt it is like travelling back in time. We love the olde worldly charm, from the oak beams, to the creaking floorboards.The staff are friendly and welcoming, the real ale is spot on. The restaurant serving first class fare is outstanding and varied daily. The harbour view rooms are breathtaking.Lynmouth is a beautiful place, with amazing walks.I would highly recommend a visit, we shall certainly be returning.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunworshiper47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
318 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

Lucky us, this pub was practically next door to our apartment, so we could stagger back after a few pints! We had a lunch and two dinners here, and although the restaurant is very nice we did prefer the more relaxed atmosphere of the bar. The food was excellent, the service was good, and the bar staff were lovely. Unfortunately the Beaujolais Night was fully booked, so we missed out on that. The location is great - right on the seafront - and great for an off season break ( still loads of surfers - must be mad, as it was freezing!!). Definitely one for a return visit!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sussexstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

We did not stay at the hotel and judging by the other reviews we are glad we didn't. We have been to Lynmouth many times the last being in March 2007 when we enjoyed the food and drink and the company. However, on arriving for lunch in October 2010 we found the staff to be unhelpful, foreign and not able to converse with customers. The menu had nothing to tempt us as most was overpriced and not your normal pub type food. When will pubs stop acting like gourmet restaurants and be good honest english food inns! We just had a drink the left! Very overpriced for what it is and just because it is in such a good position doesn't mean they can overcharge everyone. We will be looking for a hotel to stay in next year but this will not be on the short list!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AshleighLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Very nice friendly hotel. This hotel is every thing you could expect from a typical old style English hotel and restaurant. The hotel is in an excellent position in lynmouth with a short walk to the cliff railway to Lynton. The rooms are quaint and well furnished in old style. The hotel has so much character you are transported in the pas as soon as you enter – but with very up to daet service . The restaurant was a really nice experience. Breakfast individually cook and served to your table – no buffet style – thank god. All in all my stay was comfortable and the price is very good – we will go back

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandIMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

The hotel is superbly sited on the harbourside in Lynmouth, in a charming 14th century building.
Whilst our room was perfectly acceptable and clean the en-suite facilities were totally inadequate.The room had no windows or extraction and was dirty and smelly.The shower was miniscule in a booth behind the washroom door.
The hotel prices itself in the premium bracket and is clearly not up to todays standards. We paid £120 pound a room a night for b&b and better accommodation was available locally for half this amount.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wegetaround02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
225 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
286 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
East Lyn House Hotel
East Lyn House Hotel
#4 of 15 in Lynmouth
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rising Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rising Sun Hotel

Property: The Rising Sun Hotel
Address: Harbourside, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Rising Sun Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Rising Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Sun Hotel
Rising Sun Lynmouth
The Rising Sun Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing