We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”
Review of Tors Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lynmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tors Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Just back from a lovely long weekend at Tors. This is our second trip in the last six months. It is a very well run hotel with polite, friendly and attentive staff (who remembered us from our last trip). We had a very comfortable, spotless and spacious room with a wonderful view over Lynmouth and the sea. Love the fact you have your own tea and coffee making facilities and plenty of biscuits, so you can sit, relax and enjoy the view. The bathroom was simple but has everything you need - again spotless, with loads of white fluffy towels and everything works well. The food is great: best poached eggs at breakfast I have ever had and a fabulous long Sunday lunch. The hotel has a lovely terrace over looking the bay and even though it was the beginning of March, we enjoyed an afternoon on the terrace, in the sunshine reading the newspapers. Lynmouth is a beautiful little village. Starting from the village, we had a very pretty 4 mile walk along the river and through woodland 'Watersmeet', and the next day a trip to the fabulous sandy beach at Croyde. The hotel is eclectically decorated in the Miller style, with plenty of areas to sit on comfortable sofas and relax with friends and enjoy the views and a cocktail or two. Thank you Millers for a wonderful stay. Looking forward to coming back again in the summer.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your return visit to Miller's at the Tors and had the chance to enjoy some of the beautiful walks in the area.

Thank you for your kind comments on our staff, cleanliness and food.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to enjoy another break at the Tors.

Kind regards

Ronald Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    79
    28
    10
    11
See reviews for
33
132
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

My partner and I (plus our little black dog) arrived on Friday evening to a very warm welcome from the Tors staff who, impressively, all remembered us by name from the moment we checked in. A very pleasant young man showed us our room. It was a surprise, one of the best views I’ve seen in the UK – unique, quintessentially British and beautiful. Once settled in we ventured downstairs, through reception to the bar… We hadn't taken in the glory of the place on our arrival. We stayed last year but it seems even more fine antiques and art, books and curiosities now fill the guest spaces.

We ordered a gin and tonic to find the owner (Mr Miller) has his own gin (Martin Miller’s Gin) which we've now adopted as our favorite. The dinner menu was a thrill which was enriched by the extensive and impressive wine list. It was very difficult to make a choice as the menu is populated with a terrific selection of starters and mains (I won’t mention the puddings – supposed to be off them) – I recommend the beef accompanied by a bottle of Châteauneuf-du-Pape.

The next day we enjoyed a visit to Mr Miller’s Anchor at Porlock which was charming, romantic and superb (I've also provided a TA for others there).

Lovely walks to Valley of the Rocks and Watersmeet (look out for Robin close to WM – you’ll know when you meet him)…

HIGHLY RECOMMEND LYNMOUTH – DOUBLE RECOMMEND TORS AND THE ANCHOR

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are a must (don't know if any are not) Some rooms have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chewbacca_or_Chewie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, and for your great comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the food, décor and style of our hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon for some more 'Martin Miller' Gin and Tonics!

Kind regards

Ronald Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Wonders never cease.....Once again we took our easter break at the TORS Hotel for the second year in a row. As soon as you walk into the hotel the magic starts. From our youngest daughter, who is 4yrs old, right through to our eldest of 5 daughters who is 14, they just simply love it, the secret corners, the oddities, the books, the artefacts, the the views, the food which is phenomenal, the sweets everywhere, the staff, the rooms, pretty much everything is quintessentially amazing.

Even though the hotel is Grand, Empowering, Enchanting and Special, children are totally accepted and allowed to enjoy themselves as well.

Oh Mum and Dad also have a fantastic time and we never want to go home.

Thanks Mr Miller for creating such a wonderful place

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wazza69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review, We are delighted that you had a great return visit to Miller's at the Tors. I am very please you and your daughters enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind regards

Roanld Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We have just returned from a 2 day stay at the Tors and can say that we were very pleased with the experience, we stayed with our 2 dogs and we were a bit sceptical of bringing them along with us as one of them is a Doberman (Bruce) and have experienced peoples negative attitudes towards him due to his breed and size, but the staff at the Tors could have not been more welcoming to us all and the dogs were welcome everywhere apart from the dining room.

The public areas of the hotel are a delight of interesting artefacts, books, and pictures with lots of little nooks and crannies to sit and relax and enjoy the stunning views out across the bay or relax in front of the open fire enjoying a “Millers” G&T

Our room was a Standard En Suite was spotlessly clean, comfy and proved us with everything we needed. The bathroom was small but had a lovely deep bath and again spotlessly clean.

We pre booked on booking to eat in the Restaurant for both nights talking advantage of the £30pp including wine offer, the food was excellent and a different menu each evening. I would highly recommend a meal at the Tors even if you are not stopping in the hotel. The breakfast too was faultless

Some areas of the hotels decor and grounds are looking a little on the tired side, so don't got expecting flash luxury, its clear the hotel has a ongoing plan of refurbishment so this aspect can only improve, but the staff who work in this hotel are some of the best I have come across and really make sure you enjoy your stay.

If you are after somewhere a bit different with great food, excellent customer service that welcomes the 4 legged members of your family at a reasonable cost give it a go!
Just a note about the previous reviews on fly issues, we experienced no issues and very high standards of cleanliness.

Room Tip: 113 has nice views over the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhzmac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such an amazing review! We are delighted that you (and your dogs) had a good time with us.

Thank you for you kind comments on staff, food and cleanliness, we all strive to ensure all guests enjoy their stay and it is very rewarding to know that you enjoyed your time at Millers at the Tors.

Kind regards

Ronald Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We arrived on Friday night and stayed till the Sunday, we have often been to Lynmouth its a favourite spot of ours. It was great relaxing break after a rather stressful January, as soon as you entered the hotel you felt calmer. All the staff were very friendly , polite and attentive throughout our stay , always enquiring where we had been and if we were enjoying our stay.Our room was at a really quite end of the hotel we had a partial sea view, i think our room was one of the unmodernised ones, but I can't fault it at all the bed was very comfy and I have rarely seen a hotel bathroom so spotlessly clean!!. We ate in the restaurant on the Friday night and the food was fantastic, both of us really enjoyed our meals , my dessert was heavenly. Will definately be coming back and would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucinda67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review, and for your kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel

Kind regards

Ronald Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We arrived at the hotel hassled as the sat nav had let us down!! the staff at the hotel were so charming all our harassed feelings soon dispersed. We were shown to our room, and although it was charming, we preferred to have one with a sea view, the hotel soon moved us and then we thought we would like one with a balcony along with a sea view! again the hotel moved us. We cannot fault the staff at all, they were courteous and extremely accommodating! We ate in the restaurant overlooking the twinkling lights of Lynmouth and enjoyed a superb meal, the food is first class and again the staff were very attentive. The hotel itself is a wonder, the antiques are all around and being used, sit in the bar and soak up the ambiance of the whole place. We will certainly be returning to The Tors Hotel.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are first class, they have a view over the village centre and the sea,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shirley128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to post a review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you will be returning soon, once again thank you.

Kind regards

Ronald Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham-on-Sea
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Went for dinner with friends and family here on 21st of October 2012. One of our party managed this hotel in the 60s, another worked and married here around the same time. My wife and I visited a few years ago, but have to say the place was becoming very tired and faded. Wow! Not any more, what a transformation!. What a fantastic renovation, warm rich colours on the walls, rugs and antiques everywhere, a terrific place to be to unwind. The views are absolutely stunning, that is the only thing that hasn't changed..

We started with a cocktail and and they were interesting and inventive. We would particularly recommend the "Fresh and Spicy".

The staff were amongst the friendliest and most welcoming I have come across anywhere and the service second to none. Dinner was superb and that was the opinion of us all. We will definitely be returning and cannot reccomend this place highly enough. We had the house special starter which was seafood assiette - which was deliciious. For main courses between us we had fillet steak, slow cooked beef and cod, everyone was blown away by the quality and taste of their own meals and we had to do a lot taste swapping. Ten out of ten from all of us.

If you have been in the past and maybe put off by how tired it had become, give it a go. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stevesam95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your review and for your great comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your meal with us and the new renovations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy some more 'Miller' Cocktails with us.

Many thanks again,

Kind regards

Ronald Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
232 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
321 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
485 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tors Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tors Hotel

Property: Tors Hotel
Address: Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tors Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beacon of relaxation, set in stunning coastal surroundings, nestled against the rugged Exmoor coastline and set in 5 acres of woodland, The Tors Hotel overlooks the picturesque harbour of Lynmouth and provides one of the most striking views of the North Devon coast. Set against this dramatic vista there is the contrast of the warmth of the welcome and comfort provided by our characteristic hotel. Owned by Martin Miller, the creator of Miller's Antique price guides, The Tors combines the inspirational Miller style with inviting prices, framed by the beautiful coast of North Devon. This 19-bedroom hotel is crammed with Martin's antiques and curiosities. The Tors has all the hallmarks of his unique style. Roaring log fires, candlelit sensuality, books by the thousand and bowls of fruit and sweets, all washed down with a Millers award winning gin and tonic. In the AA rosseted restaurant you will find a relaxed atmosphere with superb quality food, an excellent wine list and probably the best views in the village. The whole family will find a warm welcome in the restaurant and as much care will be taken with your little one's ice cream as with your carefully prepared main meal. Outside relax with a drink on our newly opened Miller's Terrace while taking in the breathtaking surroundings. It is just a short 5-minute walk into the heart of the village and all it has to offer. The hotel is ideal for all the family and you can even bring your dog, who will enjoy the many splendid walks in and around the area. Unique and quirky yet stylish and relaxed the Tors is a special place to stay. Take a peek inside the hotel by clicking through the image gallery to the right, or come and join us for a Martin Miller's Gin and Tonic on our fantastic sea-view terrace, or stay for a night or two and experience the inspirational Miller effect for yourself. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tors Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing