We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will return...”
Review of Tors Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lynmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tors Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Fantastic location; stunning view from our harbour-facing bedroom; fantastic Millere-esque reception/sitting rooms; very friendly and helpful staff; excellent food and well-run bar; bedroom & bathroom fine, but could do with redecoration - although gather that is in the offing. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Go for a harbour/sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the views, staff and the unique 'Millers' style to your liking.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards Ronald Marks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

My partner and I stayed at The Tors as part of a Groupon offer, but any anxieties I had very quickly disappeared from the moment we stepped into the hotel. Staff were friendly and very helpful. The ground floor décor was quirky and unique - you're never short of a conversation piece close at hand!- and the room was clean and comfortable with a very comfortable bed. You could argue that the bathroom could possibly have benefitted from a little sprucing up, but the hotel will be extensively refitted/updated over the winter. Everything was clean and functional.
Breakfast was excellent each morning with a great choice and staff were excellent at all times- never intrusive.
The aspect of the hotel and the views were breathtaking, and sitting on the large terrace at the front of the hotel, overlooking Lynmouth, was perfect. The view from the room balcony was even more impressive. The village is beautiful and superb scenery and walks at every turn.
We dined in the hotel restaurant on our last night and I've rarely eaten food to the standard served up here. Each course was superb from the scallop starter, through a perfectly cooked steak au poivre to the chocolate brownie with raspberry coulis dessert. You really could taste all the flavours on offer- excellent. My partner was equally enthused and, unusually, hardly left a crumb on her plates. Hence I felt compelled to congratulate the chef after the meal.
All in all; the perfect holiday destination and I would highly recommend you stay here if visiting Lynmouth. Ron Marks and his team should be immensely proud of what they offer and would definitely stay here again on a return visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review of our hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the food excellent and the staff helpful.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Ronald Marks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights on a Living Social deal and got a room with the most fantastic view we've ever had from a hotel. We had lovely weather so made the most of the small balcony that had stunning views across the bay and of the village below. The room itself was a little dated but had a big comfortable bed and was clean throughout. All the staff at the hotel were very polite and helpful and always greeted you with a smile. The breakfast was lovely, great choices and all locally sourced and although we didn't have dinner at the hotel we heard some very good reports about the food from other guests. Lynmouth itself is so beautiful and has a lovely feel to it, the Cliff Railway is a must during a visit. All in all we had an amazing time and can't wait to go back....i miss that view already!!

Room Tip: Room 302....best view ever!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katylancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the housekeeping was good and staff friendly. I am very pleased that you enjoyed our breakfasts

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards Ronald Marks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Tors. We had a lovely double room with the best view that I ever experienced in a hotel. The hotel is high up on the cliff and overlooks lynmouth bay. The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel was a treasure trove, full of interesting nic naks. The staff were all really friendly and efficient. There was a buffet breakfast and the option of a cooked meal. The breakfast was lovely. We ate one night on the terrace and the food was very reasonable and totally delicious. I got cold so they moved us into the library, which we had to ourselves. The view was phenomenal and we watched the sun set as we dined.

I would thoroughly recommend staying here. Perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the views, breakfasts and our unique style to your liking.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards Ronald Marks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My husband and I were thrilled with our stay for 2 nights. Staff were very efficient and helpful and the whole place was spotless , but this hotel offers much more.
The food is excellent. We dined in the restaurant and had a perfectly cooked and served meal. We started with scallops and a seafood starter then I had delicious lamb rump and my husband tender pork belly with crispy crackling. The puddings were scrumptious. Breakfast was splendid plentiful and delicious.
The views from our room 117 were across the bay and harbour so we could hear the gentle wosh of the sea at night .From the terrace the views are stunning. Nothing could be better than sipping a G+T as the afternoon sun warms you on the relaxing sofas overlooking the pretty village.
There is a huge treat in store for those who love querky and antiques as you visit the amazing reception rooms....look at the photos its all true.
We had a Groupon deal and booked dinner as an add on. We were given a free bottle of wine and a free G+T. What hospitality.We will be back.NOT suitable for those who dislike the short walk up hill to get to the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 117 is newly refurbished and has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suebiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Guest.

Thank you for your great review and for your kind comments. I am very pleased that you were happy with the cleanliness, standard of food and the service.

Once again than you, and see you again soon.

Kind regards

Ronald Marks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Great location, lovely clean room with breathtaking view of Lynmouth. The food is excellent and the staff are very helpful and polite. Access into the town could be better as you have the choice of walking along the road (which has no pavement) or a Zig Zag path down the hill which would be difficult for elderly/disabled. Decoration is a bit bizarre but very interesting and the house Gin is worth a mention.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a sea view - best view of Lynmouth in the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review of our hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the food excellent and the staff helpful.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Ronald Marks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Very enjoyable hotel and great views from the balcony. No wi fi outside the reception though. The lobby and the whole ground floor is full of antiques and other items of interest. I've seen reviews of the hotel saying they didn't like all the "clutter". I actually think it adds to the charm of the place

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stonesfordf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the views to your liking. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Ronald Marks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.3 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
491 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
335 reviews
10.1 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
186 reviews
0.4 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tors Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tors Hotel

Address: Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range: £80 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tors Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beacon of relaxation, set in stunning coastal surroundings, nestled against the rugged Exmoor coastline and set in 5 acres of woodland, The Tors Hotel overlooks the picturesque harbour of Lynmouth and provides one of the most striking views of the North Devon coast. Set against this dramatic vista there is the contrast of the warmth of the welcome and comfort provided by our characteristic hotel. Owned by Martin Miller, the creator of Miller's Antique price guides, The Tors combines the inspirational Miller style with inviting prices, framed by the beautiful coast of North Devon. This 19-bedroom hotel is crammed with Martin's antiques and curiosities. The Tors has all the hallmarks of his unique style. Roaring log fires, candlelit sensuality, books by the thousand and bowls of fruit and sweets, all washed down with a Millers award winning gin and tonic. In the AA rosseted restaurant you will find a relaxed atmosphere with superb quality food, an excellent wine list and probably the best views in the village. The whole family will find a warm welcome in the restaurant and as much care will be taken with your little one's ice cream as with your carefully prepared main meal. Outside relax with a drink on our newly opened Miller's Terrace while taking in the breathtaking surroundings. It is just a short 5-minute walk into the heart of the village and all it has to offer. The hotel is ideal for all the family and you can even bring your dog, who will enjoy the many splendid walks in and around the area. Unique and quirky yet stylish and relaxed the Tors is a special place to stay. Take a peek inside the hotel by clicking through the image gallery to the right, or come and join us for a Martin Miller's Gin and Tonic on our fantastic sea-view terrace, or stay for a night or two and experience the inspirational Miller effect for yourself. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tors Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing