We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I can not believe this rating” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tors Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lynmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tors Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I can not believe this rating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We have just returned from a two night Groupon break at this hotel and I can not believe the rating of 4th out of five for Lynmouth hotels. This seems to be a complete nonsense. I would be hard pressed to find many ways to improve this beautifully quirky hotel. The ambiances, the views, and the food and service were beyond reproach. Nothing was too much trouble for the young staff. Even my telephone call to book was a joy. We shall certainly be returning in the spring.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tuffles2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Thank you for your kind words , it means alot to us as all my staff work hard to please our guests. I look forward to welcoming you back to TORS in the near future Kind Regards Ron Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    79
    28
    10
    11
See reviews for
33
132
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

My wife and I had a two night break and it was a very interesting and enjoyable time. The room was clean, tidy and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and warm. Food is good, but could do with more choice. A lovely part of the world and a most individual hotel with lots to see and take in. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gobinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and that you found our unusual style to your liking. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Ronald Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

After a very bad stay at the Camelot Castle hotel in Tintagel, we came across this quirky hotel & had a lovely stay. We were met by friendly helpful staff & showed to a nice sized room with lovely views of the bay. After settling in we decided to go for a drink on the Verandah which was very nice & once again had fab views of the bay, it was so relaxing & peaceful. We decided that evening to try the restaurant out, which did not disappoint, the food was amazing, we had a 3 course meal & both of us cleared our plates it was the best meal we had had in a long while. I really do not have a bad word to say about this hotel & would come back again without hesitation. The Camelot hotel could learn a lot from this hotel! Thank you Tors hotel for making a nice end to our holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the food excellent and the staff helpful. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Ronald Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

4 of us thought it would be great to have a drink on the verandah and to see if we may like to stay here. At the bar there was no fizzy wine by the glass, Guinness and St. Austell lager was off, no real ale. A cocktail menu was available, unlike the cocktails because there was no syrup! Eventually settled on a Pimms which was spoiled by using flat lemonade from the bottle and ice so nearly melted that it further diluted rather than chilled the drink.

Many emails later and I finally got a reply claiming that a reply had been sent earlier. When I asked to see the email that had been sent I was told that they have so much email traffic that they have to be deleted.

So, lovely setting, poor service and very poor attempts at dealing with the complaint. Hence the posting here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarryRaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We've just returned from a wonderful weekend in one of the most unusual and quirky hotels we've ever experienced.
The public rooms were stuffed full of unusual antiques and collectors pieces, which gave the hotel a very unique atmosphere.
The room we had (301) was on the top floor, with a balcony overlooking Lynmouth bay, and was a good size, and very well appointed.
We were greeted on arrival with a free 'Millers gin & tonic', which is actually made by the owner of the hotel, and tasted wonderful.
The restaurant food was excellent, and dining by candle light very romantic!
We will definitely be back soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd or 3rd floor, sea facing room, with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foxcherrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your great review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed our unique ambiance, food and views. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards Ronald Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed two nights at the Tors, and loved it. As you walk in from the car park you are met by gorillas and sheep (statues!), the reception and lounge areas are stuffed full of quirky items including antiques, pictures, photographs, books, plus bowls of sweets everywhere!

Our room was small but comfortable, and we had a wonderful view of the village and the sea. The bathroom was very small, but all was clean and tidy. The staff are friendly and helpful. We had dinner one night, and this was fantastic. Plenty of fresh fish, plus meat and vegetarian options, all very well presented, cooked perfectly, with a great wine list.

The Millers Gin is a must - served with juniper berries to bring out the flavour, and the gin cocktails are also recommended (especially the raspberry).

Definitely recommend if you are looking for a quiet hotel in a lovely location that is just a little different.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of our hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the food excellent and the staff helpful. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards Ronald Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west parley
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

we had a very comfortable stay, rooms clean and well supplied,just need updating,
the food was execlent both breakfast and dinner,any one who dose not take the dinner package
needs their head banging against the wall,
the staff were helpfull and polite,i have a gluten allergy which was handled very well,and without fuss.
it will be better when some of the staff have a little better english.
the hotel is quirky and full of character.which most hotel today lack today!
we will go back!

Room Tip: sea veiw room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FTS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the views, staff and food to your liking. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Ronald Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tors Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tors Hotel

Property: Tors Hotel
Address: Tors Hotel | Tors Park, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tors Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beacon of relaxation, set in stunning coastal surroundings, nestled against the rugged Exmoor coastline and set in 5 acres of woodland, The Tors Hotel overlooks the picturesque harbour of Lynmouth and provides one of the most striking views of the North Devon coast.Set against this dramatic vista there is the contrast of the warmth of the welcome and comfort provided by our characteristic hotel. Owned by Martin Miller, the creator of Miller's Antique price guides, The Tors combines the inspirational Miller style with inviting prices, framed by the beautiful coast of North Devon. This 19-bedroom hotel is crammed with Martin's antiques and curiosities. The Tors has all the hallmarks of his unique style. Roaring log fires, candlelit sensuality, books by the thousand and bowls of fruit and sweets, all washed down with a Millers award winning Gin and tonic. In the AA rosseted restaurant you will find a relaxed atmosphere with superb quality food, an excellent wine list and probably the best views in the village. The whole family will find a warm welcome in the restaurant and as much care will be taken with your little one's ice cream as with you're carefully prepared main meal. Outside relax with a drink on our newly opened Miller's Terrace while taking in the breathtaking surroundings.It is just a short 5-minute walk into the heart of the village and all it has to offer. The hotel is ideal for all the family and you can even bring your dog, who will enjoy the many splendid walks in and around the area.Unique and quirky yet stylish and relaxed the Tors is a special place to stay. Take a peek inside the hotel by clicking through the image gallery to the right, or come and join us for a Martin Miller's Gin and Tonic on our fantastic sea-view terrace, or stay for a night or two and experience the inspirational Miller effect for yourself. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tors Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing