We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views”
Review of Tors Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lynmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tors Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Weston
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed at the Tors for two nights in October through Living Social. What a lovely place. Staff friendly and helpful, hotel felt comfortable and inviting. The views from our room were superb, we asked for an upgrade when booking so we could have a view and it was worth it. The food in the evening was lovely and service excellent. Beautifully presented and we had a really nice evening eating and chatting. Nice breakfast too but could I have beans and tomatoes and some mushrooms next time! Little touches like sweets around the reception rooms and books everywhere. Lots of clutter!! all added to the atmosphere, sorry didn't like the gorilla outside though!! Had an uncontrollable shower the first morning which threw leaks everywhere before we realized we were soaking the bathroom but this was very quickly and efficiently dealt with by a new hose fixed by the receptionist I believe (although you do need to put the seals in as well which had dropped on the floor, so we executed a quick additional repair!). We were told the hotel is to be closed next month for three months for upgrading and I must admit although comfortable and warm the bedrooms could do with a little TLC but this is no way affected our stay.Hopefully we will be able to come back so don't make it too expensive. Swimming pool would be nice it's a bit green at the moment.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westontraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely comment.
We are really happy that you and your friends had an amazing time with us. Your compliments about the service, and food means a great deal to all of us.

Kind regards

Ronald Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    79
    28
    10
    11
See reviews for
33
132
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This is the second Miller's hotel we have stopped at and again we were certainly not disappointed. Thought that Miller's at the Anchor could not be bettered, but the Tors is superb. The hotel itself is located on the top of a very steep hill with wonderful panoramic views of Lymouth and the sea. The staff are attentive and pleasant particularly the receptionist who goes over and above to make you feel welcome. The room we were in was a bit tired (113) however I believe the whole hotel is soon to be refurbished, certainly the dining area and lounge areas are already done wonderfully tasteful, although quirky. The best by far was the evening meal, it was outstanding, the chef must be highly thought of, the steaks and lamb can only be described as sumptuous. A truly memorable weekend was had and plenty of Miller's gin was enjoyed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnboy12311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and that you found our unusual style to your liking. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Ronald Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Sitting astride the picturebook harbour town of Lynmouth , the Tors has the most stunning vista and the west facing outlook provides idyllic sunsets which guests can take full advantage of from the new decking areas. The breakfasts and evening dinners , using locally sourced produce remain outstanding ( we have stayed at the hotel many times ) - an improvement has been the greater imagination with which the accompanying side vegetables are presented. In the past the poor side to the hotel has been the tired decor and timeworm bedrooms ( which for us had always been compensated for by the location , food , value for money, child and pet friendliness, and that so much time spent at Lynmouth is enjoying the outdoor world of Exmoor and the Lyn valley). The new owners have started to address these shortcomings - providing new mattresses on beds , installing modern flooring in the en suites , and flat screen television in the bedrooms. The guest lounge areas are redecorated and house a collection of curios and object d'art which give a uniqueness to the hotel which appeal to some - sadly not to us as it seems to be at the expense of a relaxing area to enjoy post dinner drinks when the weather and season do not favour the outside areas. The owners have for understandable reasons closed the hotel swimming pool - hopefully in the future a new facility can be constructed as this was a unique selling point compared to all other hotels around. The staff and service throughout are efficient , friendly and welcoming. I only hope that when the improvements that have been started are completed we do not become priced out of this gem.

Room Tip: Always ask for rooms at the front - the views are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the food excellent and the staff helpful. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Ronald Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

WOW - what a location on the hill. As soon as we arrived, we had cream tea on the veranda and relaxed. The large curios collection and design work with the 1940's soul music.
food very good, service excellent, rooms adequate

thank you we will be back

Room Tip: superior room recomended
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chieftraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and that you found our unusual style to your liking. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Ronald Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
true brit
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We took advantage of an Amazon deal for our 20th wedding anniversary break at this amazing hotel. We had no idea what to expect but everything surpassed our wildest expectations. aAs we approached Tors up a very steep incline and turned into the drive we were overwhelmed by the staggering view from the hotel on a hillside nestling in the middle of what seemed like a tropical jungle. From the cream tea on the sun terrace at the start of our break until the view of the bay from the breakfast room on our last morning, this was an unforgettable break. Each day started with a delicious breakfast overlooking the harbour at the foot of the cliff and finished lounging in one of the many amazing sitting rooms on antique sofas surrounded by wall to wall books, antiques and Persian rugs beneath our feet. There was so much to do during the day whether it was a leisurely stroll down to Lynmouth and a wander around the delightful village there, or an eye-popping hike around the coastal path gazing out to sea, trying to keep our eyes off the precipitous drop below, or a trip to the fantastic surfing beaches at Woolacombe or Salcombe or a visit to the delightfully eclectic market town of Barnstaple with plenty of stops for cream teas and ice creams on the way....our days were filled with activity of every kind. The staff at Tors were friendly and helpful and the whole stay was crowned by a magnificent room overlooking the sea and the harbour. We happened to notice a covered swimming pool beside the sun terrace which seemed out of service....once that has been re-commissioned Tors will be 'absolutely perfect'....as for now it will just have to do with only being 'perfect'.

Room Tip: Pretty much every room was perfect-peaceful and spotlessly clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hidihidiho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your great review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed our unique ambiance and stunning views. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Ronald Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed at Miller at Tors, Lynmouth for a quick 2 night get away and were simply blown away by the location and also the eclectic style of hotel. We also ate at the hotel on the first night and the food was exceptional. Would highly recommend a stay at this fabulous place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherryCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you kind comments, it means a lot to get such positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon, once again my thanks.

Kind regards

Ronald Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We booked 3 nights at the Tors for our anniversary break. It was our first stay in this hotel, having looked at it in awe for over 30 years from the putting green below. When the chance came for us to stay, we couldn't refuse a good offer. On arrival the hotel manager, James gave us a very warm greeting and made us feel instantly welcome. Our room overlooked the bay and was breathtaking. We dined in the hotel restaurant and our meals and service was excellent from beginning to end. The breakfast was plentiful and very tasty. All produce is locally sourced and was of top quality. The hotel is themed like a victorian/colonial mansion with antiquities and surprises in all rooms. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and cannot wait to repeat it as soon as we can. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so relaxing

Room Tip: Book early and the sea view was worth the extra upgrade cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and that you found the views and our quirky style to your liking. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Ronald Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
310 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Lyn Valley Hotel
The Lyn Valley Hotel
#1 of 15 in Lynmouth
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tors Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tors Hotel

Property: Tors Hotel
Address: Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tors Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beacon of relaxation, set in stunning coastal surroundings, nestled against the rugged Exmoor coastline and set in 5 acres of woodland, The Tors Hotel overlooks the picturesque harbour of Lynmouth and provides one of the most striking views of the North Devon coast. Set against this dramatic vista there is the contrast of the warmth of the welcome and comfort provided by our characteristic hotel. Owned by Martin Miller, the creator of Miller's Antique price guides, The Tors combines the inspirational Miller style with inviting prices, framed by the beautiful coast of North Devon. This 19-bedroom hotel is crammed with Martin's antiques and curiosities. The Tors has all the hallmarks of his unique style. Roaring log fires, candlelit sensuality, books by the thousand and bowls of fruit and sweets, all washed down with a Millers award winning gin and tonic. In the AA rosseted restaurant you will find a relaxed atmosphere with superb quality food, an excellent wine list and probably the best views in the village. The whole family will find a warm welcome in the restaurant and as much care will be taken with your little one's ice cream as with your carefully prepared main meal. Outside relax with a drink on our newly opened Miller's Terrace while taking in the breathtaking surroundings. It is just a short 5-minute walk into the heart of the village and all it has to offer. The hotel is ideal for all the family and you can even bring your dog, who will enjoy the many splendid walks in and around the area. Unique and quirky yet stylish and relaxed the Tors is a special place to stay. Take a peek inside the hotel by clicking through the image gallery to the right, or come and join us for a Martin Miller's Gin and Tonic on our fantastic sea-view terrace, or stay for a night or two and experience the inspirational Miller effect for yourself. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tors Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing