We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view!”
Review of Tors Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lynmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tors Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Dorset
Level Contributor
369 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Room with a view!”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

With my sister, her husband and my husband, we purchased LivingSocial vouchers so that we could enjoy somewhere a little more elite and upmarket. None of us were disappointed. The greeting was very warm and helpful. The room was cold when we entered but... an observation not a complaint! We sat in the lounge and just enjoyed the ambience and our free drink each. We had a lovely view from our room. Apart from the step in the en-suite, everything was perfect. Breakfast staff were absolutely brilliant - so polite and actually looked and felt as if they enjoyed their jobs. Would definitely return. Well done, Tors

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view when booking it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Guests, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay and the services provided by our staff meet your expectation.

We look forward to welcoming you all back to Miller's at the Tors.

Kind regards
Ron Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    79
    28
    10
    11
See reviews for
33
132
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I have been visiting The Tors now since the early 70's and it is a bit like visiting one of my favourite old aunts! The hotel is still largely the same and, unlike many other places which have been boutiqued to blandness, the decor in the public rooms at the Miller's Tors has actually embraced its age with a unique decorative eccentricity. The bedrooms may have become less chic and more shabby but the views are still as fantastic as ever. Our room was clean, the beds comfortable with good fluffy towels in the bathroom and it was well serviced every day. The heating was effective.

Breakfast was just adequate but not inspiring (and we hated the blue dustbin on the table)! Dinner, however, was exceptionally good. The offer was billed as four courses (is an amuse bouche a course?). All starters, main courses and deserts were of a high standard and delicious.

The staff were all extremely courteous and helpful (and it was a shame to overhear the manager reprimanding them for something in the dining room during breakfast!).

The hotel is to close imminently for the winter season. Planning permission has been granted for part of it to become private apartments. I hope that the next time I see 'aunty' Tors her makeover includes a little cosmetic refurbishing to the bedrooms so that she can continue as a much loved venue for my family to visit.

I wonder if the swimming pool will remain?

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lescase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your review, all reviews are important to us, however i feel you has mistaken a discussion with the staff as a reprimand,Staff at all our Hotels are well treated and respected, hence the reason they stay with us so long.But we look forward to seeing you at Tors in the near future, when we have completed our work on the hotel.

Kind Regards

Ron Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We spent two nights here on a voucher deal which was value for money.

Food was very good and staff friendly.

This hotel was certainly unique with all the old fashion decor and collectables in a number of the living rooms and bar area.

Ideal position set up high overlooking Lynmouth Harbour and the sea.

Just at the bottom of the steps leading from the hotel, down into Lynmouth, was a lovely (around two mile) riverside walk leading to Watersmeet National Trust Cafe. Just passed where the two rivers met there was a waterfall. The path was a little steep in part but well worth the effort!

You can get a nice cream tea at the cafe but it will be closing soon for the Winter.

Room Tip: Get one with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billyboysouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your kind review, all reviews mean a lot to us especially favorable ones, as it shows we are doing our job and ensuring our guests have a memorable experience at Tors.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Tors at some time in the near future.

Kind regards
Ron Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

First time at tors hotel&felt welcome from the moment we walked through the door. Lovely staff,quirky hotel(but in a good way). Rooms could do with some tlc,but can let that go for the ambience & millers gin.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel received a great service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Millers at the Tors.

Kind regards
Ron Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed at the Tors for two nights in October through Living Social. What a lovely place. Staff friendly and helpful, hotel felt comfortable and inviting. The views from our room were superb, we asked for an upgrade when booking so we could have a view and it was worth it. The food in the evening was lovely and service excellent. Beautifully presented and we had a really nice evening eating and chatting. Nice breakfast too but could I have beans and tomatoes and some mushrooms next time! Little touches like sweets around the reception rooms and books everywhere. Lots of clutter!! all added to the atmosphere, sorry didn't like the gorilla outside though!! Had an uncontrollable shower the first morning which threw leaks everywhere before we realized we were soaking the bathroom but this was very quickly and efficiently dealt with by a new hose fixed by the receptionist I believe (although you do need to put the seals in as well which had dropped on the floor, so we executed a quick additional repair!). We were told the hotel is to be closed next month for three months for upgrading and I must admit although comfortable and warm the bedrooms could do with a little TLC but this is no way affected our stay.Hopefully we will be able to come back so don't make it too expensive. Swimming pool would be nice it's a bit green at the moment.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westontraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely comment.
We are really happy that you and your friends had an amazing time with us. Your compliments about the service, and food means a great deal to all of us.

Kind regards

Ronald Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This is the second Miller's hotel we have stopped at and again we were certainly not disappointed. Thought that Miller's at the Anchor could not be bettered, but the Tors is superb. The hotel itself is located on the top of a very steep hill with wonderful panoramic views of Lymouth and the sea. The staff are attentive and pleasant particularly the receptionist who goes over and above to make you feel welcome. The room we were in was a bit tired (113) however I believe the whole hotel is soon to be refurbished, certainly the dining area and lounge areas are already done wonderfully tasteful, although quirky. The best by far was the evening meal, it was outstanding, the chef must be highly thought of, the steaks and lamb can only be described as sumptuous. A truly memorable weekend was had and plenty of Miller's gin was enjoyed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnboy12311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and that you found our unusual style to your liking. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Ronald Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Sitting astride the picturebook harbour town of Lynmouth , the Tors has the most stunning vista and the west facing outlook provides idyllic sunsets which guests can take full advantage of from the new decking areas. The breakfasts and evening dinners , using locally sourced produce remain outstanding ( we have stayed at the hotel many times ) - an improvement has been the greater imagination with which the accompanying side vegetables are presented. In the past the poor side to the hotel has been the tired decor and timeworm bedrooms ( which for us had always been compensated for by the location , food , value for money, child and pet friendliness, and that so much time spent at Lynmouth is enjoying the outdoor world of Exmoor and the Lyn valley). The new owners have started to address these shortcomings - providing new mattresses on beds , installing modern flooring in the en suites , and flat screen television in the bedrooms. The guest lounge areas are redecorated and house a collection of curios and object d'art which give a uniqueness to the hotel which appeal to some - sadly not to us as it seems to be at the expense of a relaxing area to enjoy post dinner drinks when the weather and season do not favour the outside areas. The owners have for understandable reasons closed the hotel swimming pool - hopefully in the future a new facility can be constructed as this was a unique selling point compared to all other hotels around. The staff and service throughout are efficient , friendly and welcoming. I only hope that when the improvements that have been started are completed we do not become priced out of this gem.

Room Tip: Always ask for rooms at the front - the views are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald M, General Manager at Tors Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the food excellent and the staff helpful. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Ronald Marks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#2 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tors Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tors Hotel

Property: Tors Hotel
Address: Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tors Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beacon of relaxation, set in stunning coastal surroundings, nestled against the rugged Exmoor coastline and set in 5 acres of woodland, The Tors Hotel overlooks the picturesque harbour of Lynmouth and provides one of the most striking views of the North Devon coast. Set against this dramatic vista there is the contrast of the warmth of the welcome and comfort provided by our characteristic hotel. Owned by Martin Miller, the creator of Miller's Antique price guides, The Tors combines the inspirational Miller style with inviting prices, framed by the beautiful coast of North Devon. This 19-bedroom hotel is crammed with Martin's antiques and curiosities. The Tors has all the hallmarks of his unique style. Roaring log fires, candlelit sensuality, books by the thousand and bowls of fruit and sweets, all washed down with a Millers award winning gin and tonic. In the AA rosseted restaurant you will find a relaxed atmosphere with superb quality food, an excellent wine list and probably the best views in the village. The whole family will find a warm welcome in the restaurant and as much care will be taken with your little one's ice cream as with your carefully prepared main meal. Outside relax with a drink on our newly opened Miller's Terrace while taking in the breathtaking surroundings. It is just a short 5-minute walk into the heart of the village and all it has to offer. The hotel is ideal for all the family and you can even bring your dog, who will enjoy the many splendid walks in and around the area. Unique and quirky yet stylish and relaxed the Tors is a special place to stay. Take a peek inside the hotel by clicking through the image gallery to the right, or come and join us for a Martin Miller's Gin and Tonic on our fantastic sea-view terrace, or stay for a night or two and experience the inspirational Miller effect for yourself. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tors Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing