We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay at a quirky hotel. Excellent service.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tors Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lynmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tors Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay at a quirky hotel. Excellent service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We booked to stay at the Millers Hotel as a Living Social deal and upgraded for the weekend and for a sea view. The welcome was excellent, as was the service generally throughout the weekend. It's good to have several reception rooms / lounges in which to relax and read or play board games, all decorated in what seems to be the Miller's style of a pretty random collection of antiques. Makes relaxing interesting and yet comfortable. The room was fine; simply furnished and clean with amazing views over Lynmouth village, harbour and the sea. Breakfast was good but the selection is a little limited. A thoroughly pleasant stay and we'll look to come back some time in the future. A final word to those thinking of staying; the hotel is situated a third of the way up a pretty steep hillside which is quite a walk up after a meal or beer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HuwHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    79
    28
    10
    11
See reviews for
33
132
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We purchased a very good value Groupon Voucher for 2 nights.
The hotel is full of the most amazing antiques and curios since it is/was owned by the Millers Antique Guide expert. Fabulous view across the delightful Lynmouth Bay. Lovely to sit out in the sun and sip the complimentary Millers Gin & Tonic.
Some negative comments about the rooms but ours was standard hotel one.
Unfortunately the restaurant is normally closed on Sundays and Mondays, but since there was a large Morgan car owners invasion we were served a delicious dinner in the luxurious drawing room on Monday with - the view. Very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DolphinDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Visited the Tors for the 2nd visit in March. Sadly, the visit wasn't as good as the previous occasion. Whilst the staff are still first class, there are a few issues to be addressed within the hotel. This is a hotel and one would expect, as on the previous occasion, to be able to book a meal in the restaurant and enjoy a drink at the bar in the evening. Unfortunately, on this occasion the bar was closed at 6 p.m and no staff were available to order drinks, if required. The restaurant was closed due to insufficient numbers of clients. Having said that, we did have one meal which we had previously ordered at the time of booking our room, the meal was excellent and we would have appreciated the opportunity to dine nightly given the opportunity. The walkway down to Lynmouth is steep and on the occasion we visited the lights leading down were not lit, making the walk quite difficult to negotiate.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnboy12311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel, very friendly staff and lovely food. The hotel is dog friendly as well which was ideal for our trip. The views from the dining room and terrace are spectacular and the evening meal in the restaurant was well priced and delicious.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gingerkev6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just back from a 2 night break and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The hotel is quirky and could keep you amused for hours examining the "artifacts". I know its been recently revamped but still in an ild fashioned style (and some bits not quite finished). Staff lovely, wifi patchy but great views over the bay. Breakfast is OK - bit old fashioned choices but fine - unlimited refills of coffee well received! Welcome gin and tonic was delicious (just show your room card at the bar to get them).
The walk up or down the hillside to get to / from Lynmouth is fine if you are fit and able but I'd worry if older or less active. The location is great - right on the south coast path so beautiful walks - river walks if you don't fancy the hills.

Room Tip: 125 and 205 had great bay views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axminster
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Sorry to go against the grain, but we stayed at the Tors late last year, and only now can I simmer down enough to write a critique sensibly.
The first issue is access, and despite what any claim might say, it is impossible for anyone in the least bit disabled to stay there..To access the main entrance, one has to use the car park which is 20 feet below the main path to the front door. You then have to negotiate a flight of slippery stone steps and then drag your cases along a rough gravel path. There used to be access from the upper car park, straight into the top floor, but they were building new apartments there.
The next problem was the bedroom, or more importantly the en-suite, which was so tiny that the door bumped the loo on opening halfway. There was no room to step, only to rotate oneself.
The door was an ancient hardboard door, which had been cut to fit when it was first installed many moons ago, so the saw cut splinters were still there at the bottom. The door handle was a pre-war bakolite pull handle and the lock was a flimsy 2" shut bolt with a tiny knob. The sink would not retain water, and one of the taps permanently dripped. And all this was set against a claim that the hotel was 'Thoroughly refurbished.' The bedroom itself was tiny and crammed with modern, dark formica furniture. One could just about move around the bed.
The next disaster happened when we went down to dinner and ordered two schooners of the hotel's best Amontillado sherry from the poorest stocked bar that I have ever seen. A nice young lady who could not speak English offered Tio Pepe or Bristol Cream. She then fetched a supervisor who stated that the hotel did not stock medium sherry. On complaining again to the duty manager, all he could say was that we would not be able to find a medium sherry at any hotel in Lynmouth, which of course was rubbish.
We only stayed the remainder of the stay because the food and service in the dining room was superb.

Room Tip: If you go there, ask to see the room first before you drag your suitcases up the stair, and take you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We got a warm welcome at reception but didn't get our welcome drink. The room was not up to expectations, especially as we had upgraded to a superior room. The room was small, the bathroom very small, it had all been decorated very recently but the standard of work was poor The windows had been painted shut, except the bathroom window which wouldn't shut, the floor in the bathroom didn't go as far as the bath. The draught through the windows was terrible. The heating went off after an hour. When we went out for our evening meal the lovely girl on reception asked if our heating had come back on, I confirmed that it had but when we got back it was off and there wasn't anyone to contact. It was freezing cold the next morning with condensation dripping off the window sills, so the sea view was ruined. The poor girl on reception had just got there at 8am, she was horrified and simply didn't have the authority to do anything, she could only phone the manager who promised that the heating would be fixed. I have just read another review which suggests that it still isn't working. We were made aware that the restaurant would be closed throughout March but the signs say it is open, misleading seems to be their forte. This was supposed to be a 3 night stay for our 20th wedding annivesary but we checked out before breakfast!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tors Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tors Hotel

Property: Tors Hotel
Address: Tors Hotel | Tors Park, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tors Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beacon of relaxation, set in stunning coastal surroundings, nestled against the rugged Exmoor coastline and set in 5 acres of woodland, The Tors Hotel overlooks the picturesque harbour of Lynmouth and provides one of the most striking views of the North Devon coast.Set against this dramatic vista there is the contrast of the warmth of the welcome and comfort provided by our characteristic hotel. Owned by Martin Miller, the creator of Miller's Antique price guides, The Tors combines the inspirational Miller style with inviting prices, framed by the beautiful coast of North Devon. This 19-bedroom hotel is crammed with Martin's antiques and curiosities. The Tors has all the hallmarks of his unique style. Roaring log fires, candlelit sensuality, books by the thousand and bowls of fruit and sweets, all washed down with a Millers award winning Gin and tonic. In the AA rosseted restaurant you will find a relaxed atmosphere with superb quality food, an excellent wine list and probably the best views in the village. The whole family will find a warm welcome in the restaurant and as much care will be taken with your little one's ice cream as with you're carefully prepared main meal. Outside relax with a drink on our newly opened Miller's Terrace while taking in the breathtaking surroundings.It is just a short 5-minute walk into the heart of the village and all it has to offer. The hotel is ideal for all the family and you can even bring your dog, who will enjoy the many splendid walks in and around the area.Unique and quirky yet stylish and relaxed the Tors is a special place to stay. Take a peek inside the hotel by clicking through the image gallery to the right, or come and join us for a Martin Miller's Gin and Tonic on our fantastic sea-view terrace, or stay for a night or two and experience the inspirational Miller effect for yourself. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tors Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing