We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Tors Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lynmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tors Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Justed returned from this hotel, Had a wonderful time , The food was good the hotel was plesantly different in a fantastic location with breathtaking views, The rooms were well maintained and clean and all the staff were very pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. We had a great time and will defently be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    79
    28
    10
    11
See reviews for
33
132
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
brunei
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We didn't know where to go for a few days away to celebrate our Silver Wedding. Had thought about Venice or Rome but as we just wanted a quiet time and the weather was predicted to be beautiful we just jumped in the car on Friday night and headed to Exmoor with no idea where we would stay. We stayed our first night at Millers in Porlock which was lovely and the next two nights at the Tors Hotel in Lynmouth. The Tors the atmosphere, the food and the staff were wonderful. I am gluten intolerant and they adapted dishes for me with no problem. In fact the gluten free bread was so good I had to check twice just to make sure it was gluten free. They have a beautiful suite there The Millers Suite which they were not letting out as the jacuzzi wasn't working but after much pleading by me they they let us have it. What a glorious suite is is huge bathroom, sitting room, beautifully decorated and overlooking the Lynmouth Bay - and when the jacuzzi is fixed it will be even better. We spent Sunday afternoon on the balcony, drinking champagne listening to live music as the sun beat down. We had a wonderful time. The hotel is unique. I have travelled for many years and stayed in 5 star hotels across the world - mainly in South East Asia where 5 star luxury is really something but in my opinion this hotel is really really special.

Room Tip: This hotel is special and unique. If you want stereotypical 5 star blandness - don't go there. L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallyBrunei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stunning views, peace and almost an unreal hidden gem - something more found in Austrian alps etc.

The staff are very friendly and the room upgrade for a view of the Harbour is worth the extra cost and not a huge charge either. I has my Birthday here and even the Chef went out of his way to ensure it was special so thank you to all.

It was just a shame to discover that Martin Miller had passed away but what an amazing legacy he has left with this Hotel and artifacts from around the world throughout the Hotel for guests to enjoy.

If its in your budget and you wish to find something extremely different then a visit is a must!!!!

Room Tip: Room 202 is the Flagship room and well worth it!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlesworth100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have just returned from our first visit here.
What a wonderful surprise to find an establishment which lives up to all its promises!!
From the moment we booked in you were made to feel so welcome.
This I feel is down to "Tom" who just gets on with things and has time for any customer and sets the precedent for all the remaining Staff to follow.
I could not get over how unpretentious and down to Earth everyone was.
Fellow guests obviously enjoyed it too judging by the conversations we had!!
For a 3 star I thought the whole experience was exceptional,certainly better than some 5 star hotels I have stayed in.
The outstanding weather we experienced seemed to enhance the experience.
A word of warning,if you don't like steps and hills this is not for you.
We travel with our 2 Dogs and despite the Hotel being very accomodating for dogs the local area is not very good for "Exercise"
The new Terrace allows you to enjoy the view over Lynmouth Harbour,with Sun from Sunrise to Sunset.
What a stunning view!!
Food was very good,enjoyable,tasty and always served with a smile.
Our visit coincided with"World Gin Day" and we were able to enjoy the Millers Gin and Tonic(s)
If you like G&T you will love this one!!(See picture)
Thanks once again to all for a memorable visit and your Hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank relaxed003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We booked a last minute break for my husbands birthday as Lynmouth is our very favourite place. First time at Tors and the hotel and staff were first class. The only reasons we did not rate 5 was because the dogs in the next door room (2 dogs when it clearly states 1 dog per room) barked early both mornings - presumably when the owners were at breakfast, so our lazy lay ins did not happen! I dont usually review unless I can give a five, but it did rather spoil what could have been a perfect weekend.

Room Tip: Avoid room 19. Although its a nice room and the views are amazing - there is a fire door right outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Initially we we're put into a very average room over looking scaffolding and next to builders banging tools , however when we asked to be moved we were immediately moved to a larger suite but with slightly restricted views. The staff were very pleasant and we enjoyed our complimentary gin and tonics overlooking beautiful views. Our meals were good and the restaurant has a stunning outlook. Nice hotel, antiques quirky for some clutter to others. I think that there is probably a disparity between the different rooms so be aware.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faye D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

A friend bought us a voucher for a 2 night stay at The Tors which we used for our anniversary. This is a great hotel for those who like something a little bit different. If you are looking for 5 star luxury with up to the minute design then this place is not for you, if however you are looking for a quiet, relaxing break in a quirky unusual hotel nestling on a hillside with a fantastic view over a Lynmouth harbour then The Tors fits the bill. The hotel is full of antiques and unusual artefacts which make it a very interesting place. We were lucky enough to have a very large sea view room which was very clean with a large comfy bed. The outside decking area is a fantastic addition to the hotel and lovely to sit on a sunny afternoon. The staff were very helpful and friendly and even left an anniversary card for us. On the first night we had dinner in the restaurant which was very nice and looking at the menu most of it is locally sourced. One thing the hotel would benefit from is to have wifi available from your room, it is available in the bar downstairs but it's a little inconvenient to keep going downstairs each time you need to check your emails, we tried to use our phones but the signal is intermittent and most of the time non existent. The gardens are also looking a little tired and could do with a bit if a tidy up, there is a small swimming pool but at the moment this is covered up and looks a bit of a mess and could do with sorting out, I know that the hotel is going through some refurbishment so I'm guessing this will all be done at some point.

Room Tip: Try room 204 very spacious room with extra seating and lovely big bed. Bathroom a little cramped bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nasam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
236 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
467 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
487 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tors Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tors Hotel

Property: Tors Hotel
Address: Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tors Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beacon of relaxation, set in stunning coastal surroundings, nestled against the rugged Exmoor coastline and set in 5 acres of woodland, The Tors Hotel overlooks the picturesque harbour of Lynmouth and provides one of the most striking views of the North Devon coast. Set against this dramatic vista there is the contrast of the warmth of the welcome and comfort provided by our characteristic hotel. Owned by Martin Miller, the creator of Miller's Antique price guides, The Tors combines the inspirational Miller style with inviting prices, framed by the beautiful coast of North Devon. This 19-bedroom hotel is crammed with Martin's antiques and curiosities. The Tors has all the hallmarks of his unique style. Roaring log fires, candlelit sensuality, books by the thousand and bowls of fruit and sweets, all washed down with a Millers award winning gin and tonic. In the AA rosseted restaurant you will find a relaxed atmosphere with superb quality food, an excellent wine list and probably the best views in the village. The whole family will find a warm welcome in the restaurant and as much care will be taken with your little one's ice cream as with your carefully prepared main meal. Outside relax with a drink on our newly opened Miller's Terrace while taking in the breathtaking surroundings. It is just a short 5-minute walk into the heart of the village and all it has to offer. The hotel is ideal for all the family and you can even bring your dog, who will enjoy the many splendid walks in and around the area. Unique and quirky yet stylish and relaxed the Tors is a special place to stay. Take a peek inside the hotel by clicking through the image gallery to the right, or come and join us for a Martin Miller's Gin and Tonic on our fantastic sea-view terrace, or stay for a night or two and experience the inspirational Miller effect for yourself. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tors Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing