We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely 30th birthday”
Review of Tors Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lynmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tors Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Somerset
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely 30th birthday”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I booked this hotel as a surprise for my husband's 30th birthday and neither of us were disappointed. It's very quirky and unusual, which is a nice change from your usual corporate type hotel. The views out to the sea and down below to Lynmouth are gorgeous, and the hotel restaurant takes full advantage of the vista, making meal times that little bit more special. The staff are very friendly and helpful and greet all the guests with a smile, which makes a change from some of the places we have visited.

The food in the restaurant is fabulous, and not to be missed. The locally sourced sea bass was wonderful and the wine selection was very good.

It isn't what you would call a 'luxury hotel', and there aren't endless amenities, but if you're looking for something with a little character and charm, then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Try and get a front facing room, the sea views are so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilsSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    79
    28
    10
    11
See reviews for
33
132
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
warwickshire
Level Contributor
192 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This good old Lynmouth institution has got by far & away the best location in the area . Stunning views . This is a "Millers Hotel" (of Antique Guide fame) and is therefore extremely comfortable and furnished very cleverly with an eclectic mix of imported reproduction furniture , pictures & jumbo ceramics together with a smattering of Victorian brown furniture ,Mirrors, Frames Killims & quirky Objets . The whole scene is put together SO well that many people must think the whole scenario is antique- it really is a masterpiece in Interior Decorating - And it Works !!

The Young Staff are absolutely superb in every respect - probably the best that I have come across for a VERY long time - nothing is too much trouble - I urge you to go just to see how good a young team can be . Couple that with ruddy good food , a great bedroom and you really can't go far wrong!

Sadly the owner Michael Miller died this year but his wonderful young team are more than coping - get down there before any changes are made - you won't regret it!

Very dog friendly too!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horacebull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Martin Miller was an antique dealer, and the hotel shows his skills off beautifully. It's an old building facing the sea,so this means some of the rooms are tired looking. The wooden sash windows suffer with the elements, but please do not let this detract from the excellent experience of high-end menu's and service. Treat yourself to a Millers Gin & Tonic on the deck, looking out toward the sunset. Gorgeous and highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vince B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinver, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Booked three nights here & we had a beautiful stay, picturesque location overlooking Lynmouth harbour, helpful friendly staff , lovely food served in the restaurant. Only slight negatives are rooms are getting tired (but refurb is currently being underway) & wifi is only available in reception - come on, it is the 21st century ya know ;)
Bar that - excellent.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank snettaWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel with friends through an offer and it was lovely, great hotel, really interesting furniture and decoration. We ate dinner at the hotel and the food was fantastic, some of the best food I've had and we eat out a lot. I would definitely stay here again, I would even make the trip just for a meal.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharons2941971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Went for a meal with family and friends. The food was superb, fish, meat and veggie. Service was friendly and attentive but not over the top. The views across Lynmouth are fantastic. If you are in the area you definitely must pay the Tors a visit, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The hotel is beautifully situated on the hillside overlooking Lynmouth and has access via its own footpath to the village. It has plenty of seating on the terrace from which to enjoy the views. Only real issue was the restricted access to the WiFi - it is not accessible in the rooms, you have to sit in reception to connect.

Staff were generally friendly and helpful.

We hadn't realised the restaurant was closed on Sunday so were a little disappointed with that but we found the Rising Sun in the village served some surprisingly good quality food and we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner there. The restaurant section was fully booked that night but we were lucky to get a table in the bar - same food, less formal dining, not bookable.

Room Tip: Bathroom was a little compact in our standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tors Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tors Hotel

Property: Tors Hotel
Address: Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tors Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beacon of relaxation, set in stunning coastal surroundings, nestled against the rugged Exmoor coastline and set in 5 acres of woodland, The Tors Hotel overlooks the picturesque harbour of Lynmouth and provides one of the most striking views of the North Devon coast. Set against this dramatic vista there is the contrast of the warmth of the welcome and comfort provided by our characteristic hotel. Owned by Martin Miller, the creator of Miller's Antique price guides, The Tors combines the inspirational Miller style with inviting prices, framed by the beautiful coast of North Devon. This 19-bedroom hotel is crammed with Martin's antiques and curiosities. The Tors has all the hallmarks of his unique style. Roaring log fires, candlelit sensuality, books by the thousand and bowls of fruit and sweets, all washed down with a Millers award winning gin and tonic. In the AA rosseted restaurant you will find a relaxed atmosphere with superb quality food, an excellent wine list and probably the best views in the village. The whole family will find a warm welcome in the restaurant and as much care will be taken with your little one's ice cream as with your carefully prepared main meal. Outside relax with a drink on our newly opened Miller's Terrace while taking in the breathtaking surroundings. It is just a short 5-minute walk into the heart of the village and all it has to offer. The hotel is ideal for all the family and you can even bring your dog, who will enjoy the many splendid walks in and around the area. Unique and quirky yet stylish and relaxed the Tors is a special place to stay. Take a peek inside the hotel by clicking through the image gallery to the right, or come and join us for a Martin Miller's Gin and Tonic on our fantastic sea-view terrace, or stay for a night or two and experience the inspirational Miller effect for yourself. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tors Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing