We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome, service, food, amazing”

The Village Inn Pub
Ranked #4 of 22 Restaurants in Lynmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Welcome, service, food, amazing”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

2nd visit in 2 years and completely lived up to expectations. Brilliant food, brilliant service, and a warm welcome. Great eatery

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaney1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    149
    51
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Music and fun”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This pub is really fun, they have live music on weekends and everyone gets into the spirit of it, when we were there the manager even went up to the band and sang a few lines. We ate here one night which was okay, quite large portions, but pretty much pub grub. The following night we had dinner at the Rising Sun (amazing!) and then stopped by the Village Inn to listen to the live music - this seemed to be a much better plan for us.
Pros: Atmosphere
Cons: Don't go here for the winelist or fine dining

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ZARichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good, Local Pub”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Visited last weekend with my partner and parents, the atmosphere at the Village Inn is very friendly and the service good. Everyone made us feel welcome and they welcomed dogs and muddy boots, excellent news after a days hike.

The food was very reasonably priced and plentiful, I had scampi and chips, the scampi being hot and tasty, the rest being standard pub food (Chips, with salad AND Peas!), the tartar sauce came from a packet though. My parents had fish (battered Cod) and chips, and said the same - Fish good, rest standard but plentiful. For the price though I have not complaints (except the tartar sauce!).

The pub offers a good selection of drinks, largars/ciders/ales, for a good price. It does seem a little run down though and could do with some upgrades to the paint, tables and chairs. The garden area needs work, we sat out for a drink and didn't stay long.

All in all, a nice pub serving honest food, I would go again for a drink (or two!).

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fat_aj999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“'Great Pub Food...... for Once the Vegetarian Option really Tasty'”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Visited in July and enjoyed evening meals in this friendly pub, the food was cooked to order. As well as a fixed menu there was a daily specials board everything we ate was tasty and presented well, good value for money, the last order is at 9pm.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good Value and Friendly.”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Visited recently whilst on holiday in Lynton/Lynmouth. Located by the harbour in Lynmouth, a typical pub. Good hearty (and sizeable portions) food with plenty of choice (including daily specials). Friendly staff. Reasonably priced and yummy sweets too! Worth a visit if in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JaynieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Village Inn Pub also viewed

Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Village Inn Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing