We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and want to book for next year 2012”
Review of Shelley's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shelley's
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
didcot
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We loved it and want to book for next year 2012”
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We had a fantastic time at Shelleys. Richard and Jane were excellent hosts.Nothing was too much trouble and they made us feel very welcome and special throughout our stay. The room was excellent - cleaned to a very high standard, very well furnished and beautifully decorated. Also the views from the conservatory were superb. The only negative comment is that the room got very warm due to being south facing. Breakfast was something to behold - lots of choice. Everything was excellent and the service was very good too. Overall - a great place to stay if you need to unwind and just chill out.

Room Tip: Had same room as year before so unable to comment on other rooms appart from conservatory. Room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank suzieDidcot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    35
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
411
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

This was our first visit to Exmoor but we couldn't believe our luck in finding such a fantastic place to stay for 3nights. Jane & Richard met us with such a warm and friendly welcome.

Everything about Shelley's is lovely, and the position of the place is ideal, just an easy short walk down to the harbour and the famous cliff railway.

Shelley's is very pretty with the decor appropriate to the age of the property. All of the the rooms are fresh and bright, and guests have the use of a lounge with well-stocked book shelves as well as the 'honesty bar'.

Jane & Richard have struck the right balance, being both unintrusive as hosts as well as good company. They will help you with places to eat, sights to see, trips to do, they are a mine of information and Jane cooks a delicious breakfast with plenty of choice.
Would we return - You bet!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank a66root
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

The service at Shelley s is excellent & very welcoming.We had a lovely room with conservatory & balcony & would recommend it! You can open the doors for as much or little fresh air as you like, sit & read ,or just enjoy the spectacular views over to the Welsh coastline. The bathroom also has an excellent shower which many hotels lack.
The location is excellent for everything Lynmouth has to offer.
The breakfast is cooked to order & everything is of a very high quality right down to the orange juice.
We will be back !

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank dragon009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

What a great place - our conservatory room was stunning - well worth the bit extra. The breakfast was well cooked and presented. there was a huge selection of juices, cereal, fruit, toast, jam etc etc etc.
The owners were really nice too and told us some interesting history about the place.
We thougt the honesty bar was a great idea and did partake!
One small point though - the pictures on the web site do the place no justice.
we will definately return - thank you Richard and Jane for such a nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Snortyhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Stayed at Shelley’s 3 years ago when on a touring holiday of Devon & Cornwall, it was fabulous then and it is still just as good today.

Great location, lovely rooms, friendly & welcoming hosts, superb sea views, delicous breakfasts, reasonble prices, excellent value for money.

Not much more to be said, except that we really wish we had come back sooner!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank karencalve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Donington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Fantastic 4 nights at Shelleys.
Exceptionally clean & peaceful.
Beautifully decorated & fine hosts.
Wonderful breakfast .
We will return ---- soon we hope.

Room Tip: Room 11 is a very nice twin room and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kevin779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Lovely room overlooking the bay with colour TV and selection of tea and coffee. Excellent breakfast menu served in the conservatory and service as always second to none . It has a quiet and relaxing 'honesty' bar. Shelley's is ideally situated for visiting the surrounding area of the North Devon coast.
Richard and Jane are excellent hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them.
We have visited this hotel several times over the past few years and would highly recommend it .

Room Tip: Juliette rooms and Conservatory Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BRIAN403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
456 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
232 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
485 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelley's

Property: Shelley's
Address: 8 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelley's 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay where 19C English Romantic poet 'Percy Bysshe Shelley' honeymooned during the Summer of 1812. Shelley's in Exmoor National Park is an award winning hotel with commanding spectacular views across Lynmouth Bay. We have lovingly restored it to a very high standard throughout to create a warm, friendly and welcoming ambience. Under our personal supervision it has developed it's very own unique character, elegance and style that comes only from attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Shelley's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelley`s Hotel Lynmouth
Shelleys Hotel Lynmouth
Shelleys Lynmouth
Shelley's Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing