We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and hosts”
Review of Shelley's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shelley's
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Midlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great location and hosts”
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Great location for a peaceful break or holiday, but with all the best resorts and locations within easy reach. The accommodation is very good, has everything you need, and is well fitted out.
Breakfasts are prepared individually, and are of great quality. The hosts are friendly, welcoming, and knowledgeable about the area.
Overall, a great hotel, in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank PaulWMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    35
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
411
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
dorset
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We had a delightful 3 day break in the Hotel. The breakfast was delicious, a great start to the day. Very friendly and very clean.
Re parking can be difficult if you leave Lynmouth during the day, so we stayed in town and found a few walks to do-the Watersmeet trail is glorious, quite long , quite challenging , about 1.20m there and 45m return. Wear sensible shoes!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank shellshokt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We have been coming here for the last 6 years. We have a great affinity with the Owners, The Hotel, and the location.

We always try for the same room, the view is superb
Guests are warmly welcomed with tea or coffee.
The Breakfast Room caters for all tastes regarding seating and choice. Breakfasts are individually prepared for guests,
Lynmouth itself is Famous or Infamous depending on your point of view, famous for its scenic beauty "Little Switzerland" and infamous for the flood of 1952.
Both have shaped its charm and character.

Eating out is easy and the choice is varied From A' La Carte to fish n Chips in a tray!!!!!!!!!!!

Great for short breaks

Room Tip: Room 6 is definitely the best view, but dont book it when we want to go!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

GET AWAY FROM IT ALL & RELAX….

We have visited Shelley’s year after year for about 9 years now. It is our escape from the rush of City life and we try to visit at least twice a year for long weekends and occasionally longer. This is a superb Hotel location in a beautiful setting overlooking Lynmouth bay and harbour. The setting is peaceful and it is a convenient location for easy access to local walks and villages and of course even further afield. There are many stunning views and perhaps the most awesome is that of Countisbury Hill. Something that money cannot buy unless you buy the Hotel!



From the Hotel windows we have seen a Badger crossing the forecourt and in the nearby Trees above the High Street there is a resident Heron that I have sometimes seen feeding in the River Lyn. On our visit last week we had the sad sight of a rare 60’ dead fin whale that had been washed up on the beach.



Without any doubt this has to be the best Hotel in the area. Both Richard & Jane are very friendly and extremely helpful at all times. The breakfast cooked by Jane; a great cook and usually served by Richard is superb. The bacon is cooked to perfection, the eggs are perfect whatever your choice and all the produce is first class. The breakfast is second to none and consistently of a high standard with good quality products across the whole range of choices from full English to Waffles.



Richard and Jane work tirelessly to maintain very high standards. Service standards therefore are high and particular attention is paid to cleanliness throughout the Hotel. The rooms are always clean and well maintained by staff. All rooms are well appointed and in good decorative order. There is always a welcoming, relaxed and cosy atmosphere prevailing.



We have never been disappointed and over the years have developed a friendship and been made to feel a part of the family.

We have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel and are looking forward to our next visit.

To Richard & Jane a big thank you it was a real pleasure as usual.

Roger & Irene Baker

Birmingham

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Read all the reviews beforehand and Shelleys is as good as other people have written.My partner and I needed a few days to get away from it all and Shelleys and Lynmouth provided exactly that.
Richard and Jane make you feel very at home and run a very pleasant hotel and provide an excellent breakfast to set you up for the day. We had the Bay Room overlooking the sea and it was great to just sit and watch the world go by. Hotel is in great location with easy parking acroos the road. Recommend The Rising Sun for a very pleasant meal in the restaurant or The Rock House also for good food. If you want a cream tea suggest going to Watersmeet and sit by the waterfalls. No doubt we will be back sometime in the future.

Room Tip: Recommend the Bay Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jaguar105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Scotland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed here from Sunday 7th until Wednesday 10th August and had the most wonderful time. I booked the superior conservatory room on the Exmoor break offer and was not at all disappointed!The views out across Lynmouth Bay are superb and we spent a lot of time there in the evenings just watching the world go by. Such a romantic hotel and my girlfriend even accepted my proposal there, in the conservatory, so came home with a fiancee :O)

Hotel is very comfortable, the breakfasts are brilliant and after one of the full English you can walk all day without feeling hungry.... The honesty bar is good value too and nice to find somewhere stocking Exmoor Gold beer, a rarity these days. The room was clean and big, bed comfortable and the shower a real pleasure.

Parking across the road in the carpark is easy and the hotel has a special rate whcih actually covers you for all car parks in Lynton and Lynmouth which is very useful. It is ideally situated to go anywhere, we spent Tuesday walking to Watersmeet then up Countisbury to have lunch (we didn't need it but hey ho) at The Blue Ball Inn. After a sit down with a beer, wine and (huge) sandwich we set off to climb up the rest of 'Big Red' before descending the coast path back to Lynmouth. Please be warned, if you suffer vertigo or have dodgy knees/ankles then this is NOT for you! :O)

We will definitely be going back there as we were made to feel so welcome and it is such a lovely place to be. This was a real nostalgia trip for me having spent the first 15 years of my life visitingin Trgonwell (now the Captain's House) on the other side of the East Lyn and I was not disappointed at all. Wish I could go every week.

Room Tip: Go for the superior conservatory, it has a glas covered balcony with two chairs and a table (and loa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kevtheref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Jane and Richard are superb hosts. The accommodation is of a high standard and well presented. Breakfast excellent!!! The location is very good with two public car parks over the road. The honesty bar was a boon. Lounge and Bar comfortable. Library (in Lounge) very good to fill in an hour before going out to dinner. We stayed in one of the rooms (first floor number 9) with a conservatory balcony which proved to be a great asset. We read a number of reviews before we booked and there are some minor criticisms by previous guests but we found no irritations to comment about. The area is very attractive and attracts visitors during the peak holiday weeks but the town goes quiet (but not dead!!)during the evening. There are a number of good places to eat and Richard kindly explained each to us. We even had a stranded 60 ft whale (deceased) on the beach which caused a stir locally and even made it on to national TV ---and the Metro publication in London!!! A memorable few days!

Room Tip: Conservatory rooms are good. We stayed in 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Carda47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#2 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelley's

Property: Shelley's
Address: 8 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelley's 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay where 19C English Romantic poet 'Percy Bysshe Shelley' honeymooned during the Summer of 1812. Shelley's in Exmoor National Park is an award winning hotel with commanding spectacular views across Lynmouth Bay. We have lovingly restored it to a very high standard throughout to create a warm, friendly and welcoming ambience. Under our personal supervision it has developed it's very own unique character, elegance and style that comes only from attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Shelley's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelley`s Hotel Lynmouth
Shelleys Hotel Lynmouth
Shelleys Lynmouth
Shelley's Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing