We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Bash weekend”
Review of Shelley's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shelley's
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Old Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Birthday Bash weekend”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Had a really lovely couple of nights at Shelleys at the beginning of May. Huge rooms with very comfortable beds and sea view. Breakfast was just right. Wonderful hosts. Many thanks. Lynmouth is a typical Devon seaside town. River and coastal walks are great too. Les & Shelley

Room Tip: Room 3/The Bay Room was at the front with sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Les5545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    35
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
411
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
167 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Shelley's is a nice hotel wich is located in a great place near the river. From the hotel you can see the sea, so the landscape is amazing. The room is confortable, and the owners are very hepful and kind. The English breakfast is tasty and very good.
No doubt you...if you arrive to Lynmouth you must stop over in Shelley's

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Germán R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Small hotel that is in a great location for the pub, water and walks

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank TravellerXZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We had a lovely couple of nights at Shelley's for our romantic birthday getaway. The hotel is in a perfect location in the village centre overlookiing the bay. Our room was tastefully decorated with breathtaking sea views, and was more than clean and the cooked to order breakfasts were just excellent. Hosts Jane & Richard were amiable and always available to give you a lot of advise and information for what you can see and where to eat. We chose to eat at the Harbourside Restaurant one evening and visited Lynton Cinema the other. Shelley's is very reasonably priced and good value, thoroughly recommended for a short getaway break.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Cathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pershore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Jane & Richard couldn't do enough for us, from the moment we walked through the door, to the time we were going home, what an enjoyable experience!
Shelley's was very comfortable, spotlessly clean, with good quality furnishings.
Location was perfect, being a couple of minutes level walk to the small harbour and seafront.
The reviews for breakfasts are well deserved - freshly cooked to order a particularly favourite of ours was the scrambled egg and smoked salmon!
Their recommendations of places to eat were excellent as well, Le Bistro, Rising Sun and Rock House.
We would recommend Shelley's to anyone wishing a relaxing stay in beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with it's own private conservatory and balcony - superb sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank sarah t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

The seaviews were fantastic over Lynmouth Bay, the room was really lovely.
We stayed here recently in a conservatory room with a balcony, it was warm for the time of year and very sunny. The room itself was large and nicely furnished, the bed was a kingsize double and incredibly comfortable.
The hotel is lovely and delightfully decorated in keeping with the period the hotel was built.
Jane & Richard were perfect hosts and very knowledgable.
Breakfast was very good - there was a fantastic choice to suit all tastes.
Shelley's is to be recommended and represents very good value for money indeed.

Room Tip: fantastic sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank jill b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We've been taking short breaks on Exmoor for many years now but never have we stayed in such a lovely place as Shelley's in Lynmouth.
Our bedroom was spotlessly clean, spacious, comfortable with sea views to die for.
Hosts Jane & Richard were very friendly and helpful, nothing was to much trouble; breakfast was superb, all freshly prepared with a good choice of cereals, yoghurts and cooked options including of course the full english!
We came away feeling relaxed and like we had made new friends.
Overall a very pleasant and relaxed stay, we will definately will be returning.

Room Tip: Conservatory Balcony Room although almost all the rooms have superb sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank ssbeamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelley's

Property: Shelley's
Address: 8 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelley's 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay where 19C English Romantic poet 'Percy Bysshe Shelley' honeymooned during the Summer of 1812. Shelley's in Exmoor National Park is an award winning hotel with commanding spectacular views across Lynmouth Bay. We have lovingly restored it to a very high standard throughout to create a warm, friendly and welcoming ambience. Under our personal supervision it has developed it's very own unique character, elegance and style that comes only from attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Shelley's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelley`s Hotel Lynmouth
Shelleys Hotel Lynmouth
Shelleys Lynmouth
Shelley's Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing