We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in Lynmouth”
Review of Shelley's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shelley's
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I have spend one night with my girlfriend in Lymouth in Shelley's hotel. I am a banker in London and I have been travelling a lot and seen a lot of 5 star hotels. Shelley's is absolutely wonderful.
The rooms are very romantic, the breakfast is great, and the value for the money you pay is just amazing. I can definitley recommend this hotel to all travelers opting for Lynmouth.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank DeluxeTraveler R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

Our rooms were beautiful with wonderful views to the sea. The hotel was so clean, well equipped,
and very nicely furnished. The breakfasts were superb and anything we required was available. Jane and Richard made us feel that it was our home for the time we spent there, we even had our own key to come and go as we pleased. No evening meals at the time we were there as we were out of the busy season, but plenty of good restaurants and pubs, within walking distance, to try. Definitely an hotel we will visit again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with balcony or Juliet balcony, views are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Ann240242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Our second short break at Shelley's, Lynmouth is lovely and the sea views from our balcony were beautiful.
Jane and Richard run a relaxed and informal small hotel that offers great value for money.
Our room was well presented and spotlessly clean, breakfasts, freshly cooked to order were delicious.
We walked to Watersmeet and Valley of Rocks and being National Trust members visited nearby Arlington Court and Dunster Castle. We dined out at the Le Bistro one and had bar meals at the Rising Sun on the other two nights, both were very nice.
Thoroughly recommended, we'll coming back in the Autumn for sure.

Room Tip: We had a balcony room
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
15  Thank swright68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Enjoyed a lovely weekend at Shelley's. Very well placed for all amenities. Beautiful walks, with both coastal path and riverside, couldn't be better!
Thanks to our hosts! What a great stay!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
14  Thank pamela j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Loved our stay at Shelleys. Great room, excellent breakfast. lovely position and the owners were very nice and friendly.

Room Tip: The conservatory rooms have a small conseratory leading on to a small balcony with sea views. Very n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank theoldgreygoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Our fifth visit to Shelly's in the 10 years that Jane and Richard have owned it. As expected the rooms were spotless and comfortable, views stunning and the breakfast superb. I would certainly recommend Shelley's to anyone wanting to discover Exmoor.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Sue1454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

The weather was terrible but our room with a lovley balcony,the wonderful breakfast and attention to detail of the owners more than made up for it. A gem of a hotel in a lovley little town.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a room with a balcony/conservatory, well woth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank mistyelms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
252 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments
0.4 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelley's

Address: 8 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range: £60 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelley's 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay where 19C English Romantic poet 'Percy Bysshe Shelley' honeymooned during the Summer of 1812. Shelley's in Exmoor National Park is an award winning hotel with commanding spectacular views across Lynmouth Bay. We have lovingly restored it to a very high standard throughout to create a warm, friendly and welcoming ambience. Under our personal supervision it has developed it's very own unique character, elegance and style that comes only from attention to detail. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shelley`s Hotel Lynmouth
Shelleys Hotel Lynmouth
Shelleys Lynmouth
Shelley's Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing