We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just two nights stay”
Review of Shelley's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shelley's
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Had a really excellent stay at this beautifully refurbished hotel. Lovely room with a view over the bay (room 8), I think room 5 to 9 are all with small conservatory rooms overlooking the sea. Other rooms have sea views I expect but these 4 are special. Breakfast was excellent too. Nothing was the ''cheap alternative', every thing tasty and well cooked. There's plenty of other restaurants/cafes etc for other meals. We took the water powered train up to Lynton but you could walk it in 20 minutes if you had the stamina. We also took a lovely trip along the coast to Porlock Weir. Very nice little corner of the world. Loads of interesting historical facts to be discovered too.

Room Tip: rooms 5 to 8 are probably the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MoPimenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2012

This was our first stay at Shelley’s and we will certainly be back. Room 6 was perfectly located with the conservatory and balcony to watch the world go by.
Although hotel doesn't do evening meal, the breakfast certainly set you up for the day, was plentiful and delicious. Would recommend hotel to anyone.'

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank pn_davies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed in a conservatory room with a great view. It has a patio door leading to a conservatory which also opens onto a small balcony. Lovely hotel with a nice breakfast, clean, good location. Parking across the road and good food available nearby at the Rock and Le Bistro for your evening meal.

The local gift and craft shops are quite good and not the usual tat.

We would recommend a visit to Shelley's.

Room Tip: Conservatory rooms have good view where you can sit out under cover.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Having moved to the USA 12 years ago I had a very poor view of English B&B's or family hotels. In fact when in the UK I always tried to stay in a chain, and an American one if possible. But i was amazed by my two night stay at Shelleys in Lymouth, Devon in the UK. It was a great. The room (apparently the one that Shelly stayed in during his honeymoon) was spacious and well maintained. The en-suite worked, was clean and was a good size. The owners Jane and Richard were friendly (but not too friendly) and would do anything for you. And more importantly the breakfast menu ROCKED... It is a great hotel and I would recommend it to anyone visiting that area. The location is also fantastic in the little village of Lynmouth which has some great pubs and things to do.

Room Tip: Ask for Shelley's room - it has a great view, but also that history element...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Review:

'Having just lost my Mum, after looking after her for 4 years, I needed a break to gather my thoughts. My partner, John, decided that we should re-visit Shelley's again.
The last time we were there was 10 years ago! Nothing had changed. As you walk in the front door you are greeted by Richard, who doesn't look a day older! Everything is spotlessly clean.

We stayed in a front bedroom with balcony and it was lovely. The views from our room were wonderful and it was so relaxing. Jane cooks a delicious breakfast and there was plenty of choice.
We will certainly be re-visiting Shelley’s again. Thank you Richard and Jane for making us so welcome. '
Q-Book

Room Tip: Would recommend a front room with a sun room and balcony. The restaurant is very clean and the break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Yvonne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Booked at short notice for a weekend break. Styled as an hotel, some may regard it more as a B&B as it lacks a restaurant (instead go to Le Bistro just next door - marvelous!). However, if it is a B&B it falls into the luxury, almost boutique category. Spotlessly clean and fragrant throughout and run by a friendly, attentive but by no means over bearing, couple. Lovely comfy lounge and spacious, well-appointed bedroom. Superb breakfast (get there early for a fine sea view). Doubtless because we booked late, our room seemed to be one of only a couple without a sea or river view. Next time we'll make this a must and would recommend you do too, especially as some seem to have a veranda/ balcony. We 'risked' this place rather despite its web site instead of because of it. Must rate as one of the worst sites ever for doing its subject an injustice! Don't be fooled.

Room Tip: Insist on a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CynicalTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

'Friendly, helpful, clean and comfortable with good food and great location. Many beautiful walks from the front door and great places to eat out. What more could you want - well, maybe biscuits with Welcome tray! Thank you for a lovely short break.'

Room Tip: Go for one witg a view out to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.4 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
496 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments
0.7 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
203 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelley's

Address: 8 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range: £60 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelley's 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay where 19C English Romantic poet 'Percy Bysshe Shelley' honeymooned during the Summer of 1812. Shelley's in Exmoor National Park is an award winning hotel with commanding spectacular views across Lynmouth Bay. We have lovingly restored it to a very high standard throughout to create a warm, friendly and welcoming ambience. Under our personal supervision it has developed it's very own unique character, elegance and style that comes only from attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Shelley's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelley`s Hotel Lynmouth
Shelleys Hotel Lynmouth
Shelleys Lynmouth
Shelley's Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing