We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mmm a breakfast to die for :-)”
Review of Shelley's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shelley's
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Kent, England
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Mmm a breakfast to die for :-)”
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Friendly hosts, happy to answer any questions you may have, a very clean hotel gives you a good nights sleep, breakfast - you couldnt ask for more, kept me full till about 2-3pm. Had an honesty bar which was good as Lynmouth goes to bed very early.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    35
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
411
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We recently spent two nights at Shelley's Hotel and have to say we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Richard & Jane were so friendly & helpful, hints & tips on where to eat out & local knowledge on the best road routes to choose.

The hotel is gorgeous & immaculate & in a lovely location.

Breakfasts were most enjoyable and so much choice too.

Will highly recommend Shelley's to family & friends, do stay here you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LesleyB485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

friendly greeting on arrival, perfect room. very spacious , beautifully decorated and furnished - superb views. .Breakfast was a very full menu with something to suit all tastes and very nicely presented. Very relaxed and friendly service, have stayed before and would definitely stay again. Would highly recommend.to anyone wanting a quality break away.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sue g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

My husband and I have just enjoyed a wonderful 5 night break at Shelleys in Lynmouth. We booked a conservatory room with views over Lynmouth and were not disappointed. The decor throughout the hotel was lovely and the room spotlessly clean. Breakfasts were exceptional, freshly cooked to order and with a wonderful choice available. Richard and Jane are really welcoming and friendly and nothing seems to be too much trouble. We will definitely make a return visit in the future.

Eileen L Leigh Lancs

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Eileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

This was our third visit to Shelley's and again we were delighted by the welcome and service provided by Richard and Jane. We have stayed in three different rooms on each visit and found each one to be of a high standard and very comfortable. The hotel is tastefully decorated in a period style. We particularly liked the lounge which feels like the drawing room of an Edwardian country house. Breakfast was excellent and cooked to order.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bay Room - a spacious room with good views of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at Shelleys for two nights on the occasion of our 20th wedding anniversary. It is a very quiet, well run hotel situated in a lovely location. We were made to feel very welcome by Richard and Jane who were attentive without being intrusive. Really good breakfast with a good range of options. Lynmouth itself is a jewel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jon1644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

'One word – beautiful - would recommend this hotel to anyone'
My husband and I spent 2 nights at Shelleys, Richard and Jane are really friendly and make you feel really welcome
Breakfast is excellent - wonderful choice all cooked beautifully,nothing too much trouble,
Rooms are very clean and beds really comfortable

Room Tip: We had a balcony/conservatory room wonderful sound of the running river and views over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#2 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelley's

Property: Shelley's
Address: 8 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelley's 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay where 19C English Romantic poet 'Percy Bysshe Shelley' honeymooned during the Summer of 1812. Shelley's in Exmoor National Park is an award winning hotel with commanding spectacular views across Lynmouth Bay. We have lovingly restored it to a very high standard throughout to create a warm, friendly and welcoming ambience. Under our personal supervision it has developed it's very own unique character, elegance and style that comes only from attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Shelley's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelley`s Hotel Lynmouth
Shelleys Hotel Lynmouth
Shelleys Lynmouth
Shelley's Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing