We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again - beautiful sea views to die for!”
Review of Shelley's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shelley's
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Back again - beautiful sea views to die for!”
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Back again, came for the first time last year, couldn't wait to get back again for the beautiful sea views, they are to die for.

Waking to wonderful mornings looking out from our balcony across the bay, a very relaxing break, lucky again with the weather our stay all the more enjoyable.

High standards, reasonable prices, good value for money, ideal central location a couple of minutes from the harbour, breakfasts are top class, hosts Jane & Richard are welcoming, nothing was too much trouble; highly recommended, we will definitely be coming back again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jupayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    35
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
411
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Another relaxing 3 night stay- we enjoyed fine weather for our return visit in late September.
Jane & Richard are helpful and welcoming hosts, Shelley's is in an ideal central position close to restaurants, pubs, shops and harbour.

Beautiful sea views across Lynmouth Bay, accommodation to a very high standard, lovely freshly cooked to order breakfasts and very reasonable prices.
Highly recommend, we will be back in the Spring!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank dmerry1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed at Shelley's for 3 nights in August and it was everything we were looking for and more. You can't miss Shelley's when you drive into Lynmouth, and from the moment we arrived we felt at home there. The owners are very welcoming and knowledgable with countless recommendations of what to do and where to go. It was also really nice to make use of the communal lounge and flick through the selection of current magazines available after an energetic day of walking. We really enjoyed the delicious breakfast and the lovely setting looking out to the sea in which to enjoy it. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Shelley's to our friends and family.

Room Tip: Our room had a conservatory with beautiful views out to sea - would recommend asking for a similar r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Laura s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cannock
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Had a wonderful weekend at Shelley's to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. Fabulous room and the food was excellent. Had a lovely homely atmosphere and was in an ideal location for visiting the local area. Friendly staff and lovely atmosphere.

Room Tip: ask for one overlooking the sea. Excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank debashrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We enjoyed everything at Shelley’s from the charming room with its splendid view of the harbour and sea, to the delicious breakfasts (whose menu provided verses from the eponymous poet), and of course to the wonderful walking country all around. We certainly recommend this perfectly positioned, friendly, and welcoming hotel most strongly

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank NandDB547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

'This was our first stay at Shelley's, although we have visited Lynton and Lynmouth on numerous occasions over the years. We found the hotel very comfortable and relaxing.

There were a couple of chilly days and it was useful to be able to adjust the radiators in our room to a comfortable temperature.

Breakfast, which was beautifully cooked with plenty of choices, was served in a room with conservatory overlooking Lynmouth harbour.

On the one evening we travelled out of Lynmouth to eat; the honesty bar at Shelley's was much appreciated by the driver!

We noticed that Shelleys attracts a wide age range of clientele, many of whom had returned time and again.

We will certainly be back ourselves! '

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Sue190735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

My partner and I stayed here last weekend and had a very pleasant stay. A nice first floor room with an unusual conservatory style seating area and comfy bed. Also a good breakfast and pleasant hosts. No bath which was a shame as we both like a wallow after a few miles on Exmoor, but really do recommend Shelly's. Also - try the Bistro across the road for dinner, really excellent fish based cooking.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mugshot42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
467 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
236 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
487 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelley's

Property: Shelley's
Address: 8 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelley's 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay where 19C English Romantic poet 'Percy Bysshe Shelley' honeymooned during the Summer of 1812. Shelley's in Exmoor National Park is an award winning hotel with commanding spectacular views across Lynmouth Bay. We have lovingly restored it to a very high standard throughout to create a warm, friendly and welcoming ambience. Under our personal supervision it has developed it's very own unique character, elegance and style that comes only from attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Shelley's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelley`s Hotel Lynmouth
Shelleys Hotel Lynmouth
Shelleys Lynmouth
Shelley's Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing